Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black

One of our most popular straight fit jeans, the 505™ Regular Fit Jeans are beloved for their classic straight-leg style. Cut to sit at the waist, comfortable throughout the seat and thigh—straight down to the ankle. Great for all body types.
Overall rating:
3.766 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (124 reviews)
5 *
62
4 *
20
3 *
10
2 *
15
1 *
17
Recommended by:91 out of 12473% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Review 1 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What on earth happened to sizing?

PostedJune 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Arminator
from:San Diego
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I have had light blue 505's for about a year with perfect fit. Today I purchased a charcoal 505, exactly the same size 36x32. I can barely fit the new one. When held against each other, there's about 3/4 of an inch difference in waist circumference. I am so upset. Since I bought 2 pairs, I will return them both.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shallow Pockets?

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer avatar
MrMoreThanaMan
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've been wearing 505s for years. They used to be called straight fits, now they're just regular fits. They still fit the same, but the pockets in the latest pair I bought were at least an inch and a half shorter than in my older pairs of 505s. With the size of smartphones getting bigger and bigger, this is a major annoyance.
This pair, which I bought from the Levi's website, also has uneven legs. I expected first-quality jeans by ordering from the Levi's website, and I got seconds. I am extremely disappointed in Levi's products of late.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice looking

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Tessa3866
from:Rochester, MN, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
THESE JEANS ARE NICE LOOKING, MY HUSBAND SAID THEY ARE MUCH MORE SNUG THAN THE 550
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of pants

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
jsperalta
from:chicago,Il
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These pants are awesome in every way. They fit perfect not too small and not too baggy.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lesser quality

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Levis59
from:Arlington, Tx
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I have worn Levi's for 50+ years, specifically 505s for 10+ years.
The most recent order is disappointing. Fit is satisfactory, but the fabric is less dense and the pockets are not as deep.
Just to check, older 505s were retrieved to compare. Jeans from a year+ ago are a heavier fabric and pockets are thicker and deeper.
Levis, if you must raise prices, but do not skimp on quality.
I ordered 3 pair, 2 are still unopened but will be worn.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SIZES ARE WRONG...

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Brandon28
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
So I recently bought the 501 Timberwolf Original Fit Jeans in a size 40 and they fit perfectly so I really had confidence in buying the 505 in the same size, because they both have the same characteristics except the fact that these have the zipper. So I got these in a 40 and they were ridiculously tight in the waist and the thighs I guess adding a zipper makes pants tighter? Annoyed that I have to send these back because the site doesn't have true sizing..
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I Hoped For

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
wendolarules
from:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Purchasing clothing online is not something I normally do. I was delighted that my 505 jeans are everything I hoped for in making this kind of purchase. The craftsmanship and style are stellar. I am not normally a fan of wearing jeans, but this style is the perfect for my needs. Highly recommend.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product improvements

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
terryc70
from:pulaski,va
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I finally found the thicker levis jeans I fell in love with as a kid. would love to see a carpenter version of these jeans, and would love to see more room at the crotch seam so when you step up on something you don't sing soprano.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

i like them

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Victor40
from:Moscow, Russia
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
last of 4 pairs i bought the same time with discoun, made in Mexico, don't lose color when washing
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bring the old back,,

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
hopalong
from:ms.
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have worn Levi"s for years, but these will be the last ones I buy. Thread count (thin) has been lowered , results ;; thin jeans.. Already looking at other brands to buy and replace these thin jeans,,I am not telling you something you have not heard already,, Better take care of your old thick jeans,, NEVER AGAIN !!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not fit at waist

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
DWDW
from:Chicago
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
For years I bought 505. Then I thought I was loosing weight cause the new pairs slid down my rear. Now several pair later I find that Levis has changed this style from FITS AT WAIST to FITS BELOW WAIST (PLUMBERS BUTT STYLE). How could they make this change and keep the same number. I thought Levis was a company that respected tradition. I will no longer by Levis
No, I do not recommend this product.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would like to custom my length to a 35" inseam and a 34" waist.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
dogdriver
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I would like to custom my length to a 35" inseam and a 34" waist in the 505 black jeans.
Do you have a suggestion for type of dye to use to bring the black jeans back to black.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

size size size

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
jimmguitar
from:New York, NY
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
while I've worn levi's my entire life, I would PLEASE BEG levis to make a low cut (sits below the waist), straight leg, with the buttons found on 501's, available in BLACK, but in sizes those of us who are tall AND skinny can wear. I cannot seem to find a 30 X 36 anywhere, and THAT would be my perfect size. I like a tighter jean, and the 31's I've found fit just a wee bit loose. a lot of us are taller then 34 length, and could use something that will actually fit us.
still the best jeans in the world.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely fast shipping

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Soli
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Very fast shipping, excellent packaging, perfect by all means!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the Best

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Krank
from:NY
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Excellent color and quality. You can see and feel the workmanship. These are not thin or flimsy. They fit well, look great and are what I expect when I buy jeans.
Rarely do I buy anything but Levis, and usually if I do I remember why I stick by the brand.
I certainly hope they never change!!!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
mikep1130
from:Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I purchased the pants in a different wash and liked them so much I purchased another pair and this pair of black ones. They fit really well and are very comfortable. I hadn't worn levi's for several years and was pleased with the quality of the product. I would purchase them again in the future.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still Love Them

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FormerBankerMarc
from:Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have worn Levi's for almost 60 years (not the same pair, of course) and there are no better jeans regardless of cost.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these jeans soo much

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
John12
from:Carson city, NV
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have the same fit but in blue and the black 505 looks classic and has a awesome fit
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

505 Black Jeans

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
marthax2
from:Roanoke, VA, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Very please with this style and color of the jeans. Great fit for my son is thin and very tall. Levi's 505 are true to size. The color did not fade. Have wash them 3 times since we received them and they look the same as when we purchased them.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why change the beltloops???

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
John0498
from:Hartford, CT, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've worn Levis all of my life and thought they were great jeans; and they did NOT need any changes. Recently I purchased two new pair of 505's and found they had changed from the 7 beltloop design to a 5 beltloop design. This makes a difference! My belt doesn't fit right (compared to my older jeans) and I have to tighten my belt an extra notch to keep them from dooping. I may have to try another brand. Change is not always good.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>