Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Mens Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash

505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash

One of our most popular straight fit jeans, the 505™ Regular Fit Jeans are beloved for their classic straight–leg style. Cut to sit at the waist, comfortable throughout the seat and thigh—straight down to the ankle. Great for all body types.
Overall rating:
2.533 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(225 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (225 reviews)
5 *
58
4 *
15
3 *
21
2 *
26
1 *
105
Recommended by:87 out of 22539% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Review 1 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good around the house and neighborhood jean

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I wear these kicking around the house, food shopping etc good classic clean look and with a button down shirt or polo you can wear them to a family restaurant. They are not get attention style they are just you being you jeans
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what expected

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer avatar
from:Maryville, TN
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The jeans are exactly as expected, fit right, and were a great value.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not so bad as compared to previous reviews

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer avatar
from:Karachi, Pakistan
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Come on guys, Levi 505 when invented in 1960's was totally a different fit, a high rise, easy fit tapered leg jeans. The 505 we are used to was already a modified version of the oldest 505. The fact is, Levi always makes changes in its products after every 10 to 20 yrs. How many of you remember the baggier 511 which was available 6, 7 yrs back. The new 511 is totally opposite to that. So, the new 505 is not that bad because these days the low rise jeans is a standard rise. If you want a better fit, go for 550 or if button fly doesn't bother you, 501 is still great.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

505 regular fit medium stone was - just that

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
from:For Worth, TX
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
They fit the same way every time, wear well, look OK
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Syracuse, NY, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My husband had lost some weight and needed a smaller sized pair of jeans. Says these fit fine in all the right places. Very satisfied!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit 505

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Las Vegas
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I had a hard time finding 29 x 32 in the stores, I ordered from website and the jeans are perfect. I will order more very soon. Thank you Levi's
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Misleading - Not the real 505 - Shorter Rise, Smaller Pockets

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The product is not as described. I have a long experience with 505s and now find that:
They no longer have the same rise (they are now closer to hip-huggers)
They have smaller pockets
The material is not as durable
The quality of production is lacking
The fit may run to size for some new model but the incorrect rise (NOT to the waist) is misleading for the 505.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pockets Not deep enough

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Round Rock, TX, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Bought 3 pairs of 505's-not necessarily stone washed. Front pockets are not as deep as they used to be by about 1 1/2". I carry my wallet, keys, and cell phone in my front pockets. Totally unexceptable and will not be buying Levis brand anymore unless this changes....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WLK0SG
Posted April 2, 2015
Sizing is a joke. A waist size 30 can easily fit a person of waist size 32 - 33. The cutting of this jeans is suppose to be sitting on waist with a straight cut but the rise of the jeans is so low it can only sits on your hip or lower. What straight cut, is more like tight fit. I do not have big thigh but I feel like i am wearing socks. This jeans is just entirely not the same as it was before. Until it is true to it's original fitting, many of us are not buyimg henceforth.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fitting pair of jeans

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Bridgeport, TX
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Bought as a gift for my father-in-law. He loves them. He is on fixed income and could not afford to buy for himself. His problem with buying in stores is that they only carry inseams of even sizes and he is a 29. They were either too short or too long, so I went to your website as they offer odd sizes.
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

50yrs...no more

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Lehigh Valley, PA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Been buying Levi's for over 50yrs, no more. I thought it was me, they just didn't fit right lately. Usually buy 2 to 3 pairs a year. switched to another brand...seven loops to five.....deeper in the crotch....heavier denim...and cheaper
No, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The sizing is inconsistent.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Wilmette, IL, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I bought three pairs in two separate orders. The first two, in a darker shade, were very tight. The third, in a lighter color, was true to size. In the past, when I have bought Levi's in a store, the waist has varied wildly, from very small to very big. I just gave away a pair that literally fell down to my knees if a didn't sinch it with a belt.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from:PA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought three pairs of 505s recently. Two of the three fit fine. The one pair made in Egypt was way too tight. Need to send those back.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why change the fit of an existing number????

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
505 should be 505 yesterday, today, and tomorrow. If you want to make a new style that rides up your but give it a new number. The whole Levis company is based on numbers and training the customer to find the number you like and then just go in the store and buy it forever. Then you change how that number fits?????? Nobody in the meeting at the big table had the nerve to put their hand up and say "Um ,I don't think we should do that."
What is most amazing is, All of the customers on here complaining would come right back and buy 505s if you change them back to the original fit. Most companies wouldn't get that second chance.
Off to e-bay to see if I can find some old ones in good shape.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+43points
43of 43voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JAYEsom
Posted March 2, 2015
I must agree with most or all of the 1 and 2 star ratings. I have not seen a consistent pair of Levi's in years. When young and skinny it was 501 or nada, As age took place the 505's did well, Then the ever popular 550's were great. Even the 560's But that's when the jeans lost my interest. (I am 70 now). I recently bought a pair of the 550's size 42x29 at the famous .com website (A). Yep, fell off my body like jelly. I want the more expensive and usually consistent 540's back. That is where I spent most $$'s in years Past. BUT WHY CAN I NOT FIND 40X29 OR 42X29 ON THE "OFFICIAL LEVI'S SITE? AMAZING.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pockets are too small for a phone

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The pockets are too small to fit a cell phone. With a normal sized smart-phone in your pocket, you will not be able to walk or sit down. I don't know why they changed them. I'm returning the whole set I just ordered.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mctesterson
Posted October 13, 2014
This complaint is true. I've been searching with decreasing success for old stock of the deeper pocket 505's in stores.
The last pair I successfully found was one of three pairs I ordered from a department store, back on May 9, 2014. The other two pair were shallow pockets, and I returned them.
Since then, I've literally tested dozens of pairs of 505s in different department stores in Washington state, Oregon, and California, and all of them have had shallow pockets.
Unless I get lucky and find a pair of 505s in a store that were made in 2013 or earlier, I guess I'm going to have to try and find a different brand of jeans to wear.
+11points
11of 11voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Markthebarber
Posted April 2, 2014
THE 505 ORIGINALS ARE BACK,FULL SIZE POCKETS!!ORIGINAL RISE! THEY LISTENED!
+50points
50of 50voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shallow, small pockets: Levi's "Regular Fit" 505 Jeans - A comprehensive review.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
from:California, USA
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
To begin: I am tall and thin. I wear the size 29 x 34. This review would be beneficial to anyone who has the desire to be a more informed consumer, and to find the right jeans to purchase. Please skip to the very bottom if you would like to read the main point of my review about shallow pockets.
I have four pairs of what used to be called Levi's "Straight Fit" 505 jeans. I purchased them all back in about 2009 and 2010. Two of my 505s are made in Lesotho and fit much more baggy and loose than my two 505s made in Egypt. As other well informed and studied reviewers note, Levi sizing is now totally inconsistent. The sizing inconsistencies seem to correlate with when the jeans were made, where they were made and in what country, and most importantly, what color you choose for your choice style. My Egyptian 505s are "Dark Stonewash", whereas my "Medium Stonewash" 505s are made in Lesotho. The color and style you choose will most likely affect the sizing of your jeans and country of manufacture.
Another detail to note is that different colors correspond to different weights of fabric in Levi jeans(in this case, the 505). I will let you, the reader, come to your own judgement as to why this might be.
My two pairs of dark stonewash jeans that were made in Egypt are lighter and (slightly) thinner and more flexible in fabric weight. They also fit more trim and fit me better personally.
My two pairs of medium stonewash jeans that were made in Lesotho are a bit less flexible and have a bit more heavy fabric. They didn't shrink as much for some reason. They fit a bit more loose on my frame and I still need a belt to wear them properly.
Each of these pairs have lasted four years and have aged well and faded with use. I use them harder than most people and do work in them on occasion outside. The bottom of the hems are beginning to fray, and the back pockets are starting to wear at the stress points of attachment. The knees show wear. No holes yet!
Background information aside, I finally decided to purchase a new pair of Levi's 505 jeans. I bought a 29 x 34 pair in the color "Rinse" and fully expected some problems as nothing seems to be made properly anymore. Here are the results:
Fit: These Levi 505 "Regular Fit" jeans are more trim than loose. They still fit below the waist but for me I am able to wear a belt. The legs are not as loose, and the leg opening at the bottom is actually smaller than my older pairs by about 1/2 an inch. These jeans seem more about style than function.
Finish: Levi's seem to press the issue of quality. This is strange, considering quality seems to be going downhill into the deep end of the pool. These 505s are lighter in weight, like my old circa 2009 dark stonewash 505s. The color is dark, deep blue. The stitching seems fine. It is hard to mess up. Rivets are the same and still exist. 5th pocket is still the same. 5 belt loops are present, and I hope they stay attached. The button above the zipper hasn't changed either. The metal zipper is still made by YKK, but only locks in position when the tab faces down. My 4 year old jeans' zipper would lock facing both up and down.
I leave the best for last in regards to the "finish" of these jeans. I use these jeans as working pants. They are a tool, an asset in my day to day activities. In any working man's wardrobe, one expects to find utilitarian clothing that has practical uses. Pockets are essential for work and play as we do not use bags or purses to carry around coins, our cell phones, our wallets, tools, pens, pencils, a pocketknife, handkerchief or other items, especially when working. As pants intended for working, Levi's always had deep pockets to put one's possessions and hands into.
That seems to have changed, at least with the "New" "Regular Fit" 505 jeans. After measurement and comparison, the front pockets of my new 505s are at least 2 to 3 inches shallower than my previous pairs. As a result, I cannot put my average sized hands in the pockets fully or comfortably, and cannot place items in them like I once could. The usability of my new jeans has been limited, and I am a very disappointed customer. It is sad to realize that I will have to look for a new manufacturer due to such a cheap maneuver for something that is so simple and conventional on men's pants/jeans.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+46points
46of 46voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pockets are way to shallow

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
im not sure why levi's decided to shorten the front pockets on the 505s but they are an inch and a half or more shorter than they used to be. my phone feels like it might fall out of my front pocket when i sit down. i have worn 505s for years and am very unimpressed. i am now looking for a new brand. thanks alot!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why change the cut and rise?

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
Have worn these for 30+ years (same size too). Most recent pair has a one inch shorter rise than previous jeans of the same size and style. The result is a very uncomfortable jean. Don't understand the chage in the rise
No, I do not recommend this product.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Low level of quality control.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Right size, but low level of quality control. Jeans were sent without red tab at right back pocket.
I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New 505 fit changed

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
from:West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I have been wearing 505 regular fit jeans for many years.
Recently purchased (2) new pair in same size as previously purchased. Waist is to low.
New 505 fit has changed. Why not give these different fitting jeans a
different number? Changing the fit of these classic jeans is unforgivable. Bring back my classic 505 fit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+49points
49of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Wbuffalo
Posted September 27, 2014
I couldn't agree more with these comments, why do you fix something that's not broken. If you want to retain the customer base that's carried you for the last hundred years, bring back the original 505 fit !!!!
+13points
13of 13voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OK But not the Same

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Ny
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have found out it was time to replace my Levis I have worn out my last pairs that I bought back in 1974. that was not quite 40 years ago.
I cane here to the Levis.com site and ordered a new pair but the are made in mexico and they fit ok but they feel diferent some how. I guess I'll have to weight a few years to see how they hold up. a few of my 1970 Levis are still in good shape.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>