Printer
 

Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash

505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash

One of our most popular straight fit jeans, the 505™ Regular Fit Jeans are beloved for their classic straight-leg style. Cut to sit at the waist, comfortable throughout the seat and thigh—straight down to the ankle. Great for all body types.
Overall rating:
2.472 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (216 reviews)
5 *
52
4 *
14
3 *
21
2 *
26
1 *
103
Recommended by:80 out of 21637% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Review 1 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

50yrs...no more

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
47guy
from:Lehigh Valley, PA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Been buying Levi's for over 50yrs, no more. I thought it was me, they just didn't fit right lately. Usually buy 2 to 3 pairs a year. switched to another brand...seven loops to five.....deeper in the crotch....heavier denim...and cheaper
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The sizing is inconsistent.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
firsttenor
from:Wilmette, IL, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I bought three pairs in two separate orders. The first two, in a darker shade, were very tight. The third, in a lighter color, was true to size. In the past, when I have bought Levi's in a store, the waist has varied wildly, from very small to very big. I just gave away a pair that literally fell down to my knees if a didn't sinch it with a belt.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Grunt
from:PA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought three pairs of 505s recently. Two of the three fit fine. The one pair made in Egypt was way too tight. Need to send those back.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why change the fit of an existing number????

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
unhappytoo
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
505 should be 505 yesterday, today, and tomorrow. If you want to make a new style that rides up your but give it a new number. The whole Levis company is based on numbers and training the customer to find the number you like and then just go in the store and buy it forever. Then you change how that number fits?????? Nobody in the meeting at the big table had the nerve to put their hand up and say "Um ,I don't think we should do that."
What is most amazing is, All of the customers on here complaining would come right back and buy 505s if you change them back to the original fit. Most companies wouldn't get that second chance.
Off to e-bay to see if I can find some old ones in good shape.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pockets are too small for a phone

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
foobarbif
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The pockets are too small to fit a cell phone. With a normal sized smart-phone in your pocket, you will not be able to walk or sit down. I don't know why they changed them. I'm returning the whole set I just ordered.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mctesterson
Posted October 13, 2014
This complaint is true. I've been searching with decreasing success for old stock of the deeper pocket 505's in stores.
The last pair I successfully found was one of three pairs I ordered from a department store, back on May 9, 2014. The other two pair were shallow pockets, and I returned them.
Since then, I've literally tested dozens of pairs of 505s in different department stores in Washington state, Oregon, and California, and all of them have had shallow pockets.
Unless I get lucky and find a pair of 505s in a store that were made in 2013 or earlier, I guess I'm going to have to try and find a different brand of jeans to wear.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Markthebarber
Posted April 2, 2014
THE 505 ORIGINALS ARE BACK,FULL SIZE POCKETS!!ORIGINAL RISE! THEY LISTENED!
+49points
49of 49voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shallow, small pockets: Levi's "Regular Fit" 505 Jeans - A comprehensive review.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
AverageJoe
from:California, USA
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
To begin: I am tall and thin. I wear the size 29 x 34. This review would be beneficial to anyone who has the desire to be a more informed consumer, and to find the right jeans to purchase. Please skip to the very bottom if you would like to read the main point of my review about shallow pockets.
I have four pairs of what used to be called Levi's "Straight Fit" 505 jeans. I purchased them all back in about 2009 and 2010. Two of my 505s are made in Lesotho and fit much more baggy and loose than my two 505s made in Egypt. As other well informed and studied reviewers note, Levi sizing is now totally inconsistent. The sizing inconsistencies seem to correlate with when the jeans were made, where they were made and in what country, and most importantly, what color you choose for your choice style. My Egyptian 505s are "Dark Stonewash", whereas my "Medium Stonewash" 505s are made in Lesotho. The color and style you choose will most likely affect the sizing of your jeans and country of manufacture.
Another detail to note is that different colors correspond to different weights of fabric in Levi jeans(in this case, the 505). I will let you, the reader, come to your own judgement as to why this might be.
My two pairs of dark stonewash jeans that were made in Egypt are lighter and (slightly) thinner and more flexible in fabric weight. They also fit more trim and fit me better personally.
My two pairs of medium stonewash jeans that were made in Lesotho are a bit less flexible and have a bit more heavy fabric. They didn't shrink as much for some reason. They fit a bit more loose on my frame and I still need a belt to wear them properly.
Each of these pairs have lasted four years and have aged well and faded with use. I use them harder than most people and do work in them on occasion outside. The bottom of the hems are beginning to fray, and the back pockets are starting to wear at the stress points of attachment. The knees show wear. No holes yet!
Background information aside, I finally decided to purchase a new pair of Levi's 505 jeans. I bought a 29 x 34 pair in the color "Rinse" and fully expected some problems as nothing seems to be made properly anymore. Here are the results:
Fit: These Levi 505 "Regular Fit" jeans are more trim than loose. They still fit below the waist but for me I am able to wear a belt. The legs are not as loose, and the leg opening at the bottom is actually smaller than my older pairs by about 1/2 an inch. These jeans seem more about style than function.
Finish: Levi's seem to press the issue of quality. This is strange, considering quality seems to be going downhill into the deep end of the pool. These 505s are lighter in weight, like my old circa 2009 dark stonewash 505s. The color is dark, deep blue. The stitching seems fine. It is hard to mess up. Rivets are the same and still exist. 5th pocket is still the same. 5 belt loops are present, and I hope they stay attached. The button above the zipper hasn't changed either. The metal zipper is still made by YKK, but only locks in position when the tab faces down. My 4 year old jeans' zipper would lock facing both up and down.
I leave the best for last in regards to the "finish" of these jeans. I use these jeans as working pants. They are a tool, an asset in my day to day activities. In any working man's wardrobe, one expects to find utilitarian clothing that has practical uses. Pockets are essential for work and play as we do not use bags or purses to carry around coins, our cell phones, our wallets, tools, pens, pencils, a pocketknife, handkerchief or other items, especially when working. As pants intended for working, Levi's always had deep pockets to put one's possessions and hands into.
That seems to have changed, at least with the "New" "Regular Fit" 505 jeans. After measurement and comparison, the front pockets of my new 505s are at least 2 to 3 inches shallower than my previous pairs. As a result, I cannot put my average sized hands in the pockets fully or comfortably, and cannot place items in them like I once could. The usability of my new jeans has been limited, and I am a very disappointed customer. It is sad to realize that I will have to look for a new manufacturer due to such a cheap maneuver for something that is so simple and conventional on men's pants/jeans.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pockets are way to shallow

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
getsdown
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
im not sure why levi's decided to shorten the front pockets on the 505s but they are an inch and a half or more shorter than they used to be. my phone feels like it might fall out of my front pocket when i sit down. i have worn 505s for years and am very unimpressed. i am now looking for a new brand. thanks alot!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why change the cut and rise?

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
disappointedinmd
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
Have worn these for 30+ years (same size too). Most recent pair has a one inch shorter rise than previous jeans of the same size and style. The result is a very uncomfortable jean. Don't understand the chage in the rise
No, I do not recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Low level of quality control.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Cupko
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Right size, but low level of quality control. Jeans were sent without red tab at right back pocket.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New 505 fit changed

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
RichE
from:West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I have been wearing 505 regular fit jeans for many years.
Recently purchased (2) new pair in same size as previously purchased. Waist is to low.
New 505 fit has changed. Why not give these different fitting jeans a
different number? Changing the fit of these classic jeans is unforgivable. Bring back my classic 505 fit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+42points
42of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Wbuffalo
Posted September 27, 2014
I couldn't agree more with these comments, why do you fix something that's not broken. If you want to retain the customer base that's carried you for the last hundred years, bring back the original 505 fit !!!!
+7points
7of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OK But not the Same

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
comgraph
from:Ny
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have found out it was time to replace my Levis I have worn out my last pairs that I bought back in 1974. that was not quite 40 years ago.
I cane here to the Levis.com site and ordered a new pair but the are made in mexico and they fit ok but they feel diferent some how. I guess I'll have to weight a few years to see how they hold up. a few of my 1970 Levis are still in good shape.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'm very disappointed with Levi's

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve11
from:California
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I've been wearing 505's for over 40 yrs. and loved how they fit. But now they have been changed in both their sizing and cut which has made it difficult to find a pair that fits. The cut of the material on the front side of the pants is smaller now which make the pants look baggier in the back and the side seam comes down on the front of the leg. They had it so perfect before why did they change?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Blue32
Posted January 16, 2014
I have worn Levi's 505's for the last 32 years, since middle school I have worn nothing else, they were worn to proms, school, church, work, fishing......you get the point, they were also required to be worn by the groomsmen by me in our wedding! Sorry but the last 5 pair I purchased hang off of my rear, and the left leg seam comes around to front and center of my leg, the rear belt loops have also pulled loose for no apparent reason. I hate it because I loved my Levi's but someone else will be getting my money from now on. Hasta la vista old friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
ceebs1
Posted December 7, 2013
I agree, I hate my new jeans, go back to the old cut please...
+9points
9of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

New 505's are a disappointment.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
josh71
from:West Virginia
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I bought a new pair of 505's around a month ago from Kohl's. I read on this site that the 505's "sit below waist". I didn't think that the rise of the cut could have changed that much but I was wrong. The rise is to short now on the 505's and the jeans are uncomfortable.
However, I see on the site now, under the description of the 505's, that the jeans now "sit at waist". Did Levis go back to the older cut of the 505's or did they just change the description to sell more jeans?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, consistant fit!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
chiguy010
from:Chicago
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Have had issues with Levi's bought online from other retailers. Have bought 3pair at a time in the same size and the length differed by over a half inch on each pair. Bought from this time from this site and they all were the same size and fit perfectly! Very pleased. Bought the 5 thinking I would have to return 2 or 3 of them. Was so happy, kept them all and shouldn't have to buy any more for the next year or two. Something was corrected in the manufacturing process and am pleased it was!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

could be better

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
drewper
from:Detroit, MI, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
the rise doesn't seem as high as I remember. i don't know if they've lowered the rise on these, but it feels different. wish i didn't throw away my old pairs...could use those about now.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No longer the real deal.

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Mikesowhat
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
The classic 505 is no more. These now fit below the waist where the originals fit AT the waist. I noted that these run "very small" to size. The rise in these jeans is way tooooo short. In other words it's now essentially a hip hugger. I spent one day wearing these and I probably tried "pulling my pants" up about 50 times. After wearing Levi's 505s for as long as I can remember, probably 100 pairs over the years, I'll have to bid adieu. We had a good run you and I.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DavidS
Posted November 3, 2013
I couldn't agree more about the rise. Why Levis would tinker with a product that has had a huge following over decades is beyond me. One of the first things taught in Marketing 101 is that you don't change a successful product unless it's clearly an improvement. Button flies may lie flatter, but who cares? Zippers are far more convenient.
It's not that they don't have a large number of different styles. Why couldn't they keep ONE with a zipper fly and comfortable rise (for someone who is not 18).
+36points
36of 36voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love Levis

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Sandollar89
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love Levis quality and their customer service is outstanding.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good-looking and comfortable jeans

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Elkhorn, NE, USA
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Despite reading some negative reviews, I purchased the new 505's in medium stonewash and black. Contrary to what some claim, mine fit identically, even though they were made on opposite sides of the planet. The fit is true to size, and they are very comfortable. I noticed some people complained about the pockets being too short and the rise being lower than they like. However, I found both the pockets and the rise to be exactly what I expected--about 8-9" deep pockets and the same rise I have always been wearing.
If you are a younger man like me, you should have nothing to complain about with these jeans. If some people read the description, they would have noticed a change in the product and bought something that fit their personal preferences.
Basically, good colors, good fit, comfortable, and stylish. And affordable.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not enough belt loops!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
JoeyB
from:Florida, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The BIGGEST problem with Levi is the lack of belt loops. I know its cheaper to put 5 instead of 7, but I buy other brands for the number of loops more often.
I recommend this product!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Medium Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST JEANS

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
mick73
from:Honesdale, PA 18431, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Levis is , was and always will be the best jeans ever made! I wore them as a teen and I just bought them for my son. I love the fit and the style of the 505's. I just wish the would make them here in America!!!!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>