Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ are the real deal. Pre 1960's, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Breaking them in by wearing and not washing them is all part of the process. They truly improve with age, becoming a second skin, perfectly fitted to your body and how you move. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (80 reviews)
5 *
43
4 *
21
3 *
5
2 *
3
1 *
8
Recommended by:66 out of 8082% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabric weight?

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
DownhillLevi
from:Little Rock, AR
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I was really happy to see the Levi's website finally have black 501 STF's in my common size, because it's been months, if not years. I was also happy to see the fabric weight at 12.5 ounces, just like the rigid color, because I believe it was showing a smaller weight on the website. After receiving them, however, I'm skeptical that this is accurate, because they do feel lighter then the rigid and other heavier colors. Obviously, I prefer higher fabric weights, but other then that, I'm very pleased with what I received. They look great and I'm happy to finally add them to my collection.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Posted January 21, 2014
I should also add that I'm not sure the fabric weight is wrong, because they do seem about the same. I've seen black 501 STF's in the past that were very thin, but after wearing them for a while, I think these are about the same as my rigid's.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Posted January 21, 2014
Mexico
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
boytanggo
Posted January 21, 2014
your 501 pants made from,what country?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love em

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Hank1
from:Corona, CA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I've been wearing 501 original shrink-to-fit since high school and I'm now 74. Can't imagine wearing anything else. Actually, I won't wear anything else. Love em.
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a very nice fit

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
pursuitofexcellance
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I am pleased with my purchase and plan on buying more soon
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Careful with Levi's sizing chart

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
ewenir
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I wear a 36x30 in Levi's. So when I purchased my shrink to fits it said to expect the waist shrinking an inch (purchased a 38 because there is no 37) and that my inseam would shrink three inches (bought a 33 inseam). After shrinking these jeans to fit they are still way too long. Levis should perhaps revamp their sizing chart. I do not recommend this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501's - a timeless classic jean

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Limoman3467
from:Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have bought 501's from the 1980's and they have always been outstanding in quality, workmanship and durability. The delivery was quick as promised and cheap, if not free, shipping costs. I would recommend 501's to everyone and they now come in such a wide array of colors, too!!
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love levi's overall best jeans on market long lasting

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
SuzyQ05
from:Poland, ME, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
i really am very happy to be reunite with the best jeans ever. they are constructed with longevity in mind. after all they were originally made for miners out of tent canvas. i feel good when i ware them. i do wish you would expand your sizes. keep making 501 shrink-to-fit. hopefully people will remember they must be washer and dried to shrink-to-fit properly. and enjoy many years even when down graded to cut offs. great jog levi. thank you
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what was described

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Diappointed
from:New York, NY
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I was very disappointed in the 501 original shrink-to-fit. The description said the length will reduce 3". I've washed mine multiple times after purchase and it jeans are too long to wear. What a waste. I will not buy these again nor recommend them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little small

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
rapidian
from:Grand Rapids MI
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I followed the instructions to shrink to fit and I ordered the size in the product description extra inch if you are looking for a jean thats going to be a little loose I would add a little extra on top for me I find levis run small
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Levis Product as always

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Madison
from:Tennessee, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Careful as these really can shink when washed & dried ... line dry if too tight!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dick28540
Posted January 14, 2014
after washing you can stretch the waste by pulling the waist band between your hands and make them fit without making other parts larger too.(legs/rear).shrinkage seem to be in the waist not the leangth.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 STF are my new favorites

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
winterm0te
from:New Jersey
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I am 5'7" and 140lbs so I went with my actual waist size, 30 inches, and 32 inches length. I turned them inside-out and soaked them in my tub in cold water for 15 minutes then hung them to dry. Before they were completely dry I wore them around until dry. They are fantastic.
Levi's recommends waist + 1 inch but I think for me they would be too loose so that is why I went with my true waist size.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
monkeyfootball
Posted July 2, 2013
I washed mine in the tub with laundry detergent, then rinsed.
I kept the waist out of the water as they were snug from day one.
Line dried outside in the sun and I'm happy with the out come. The waist on both pairs of STF seem too small so I'll have to be careful to tub wash these once or twice a year, unless I lose 10-15#, which I should really do.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite pair of jeans!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Shaun3
from:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
501's have easily been my favorite every day pair jeans for the past 5 years. They're great to wear to work or out with friends for an evening as well! Highly recommended!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous !

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Lisalu
from:Texas, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I am very satisfied with this purchase. I followed the directions for washing and shrinking and they are perfect. My husband will hardly take them off.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible quality

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
cntower
from:New York, NY, USA
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Seriously cheap, cardboard quality.
i washed them to soften
up, and they shrunk
to an unwearable size.
And stayed crunchy like granola.
far far below the usual
high quality of Levi's products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Jeans

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
amusing
from:Venture, CA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
One more washing and they will fit fine. I'm always about 1/2 size inbetween so I'm happy and I Love Levi's and have for 63 years now. No substitutes!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUST BUY

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
shaun
from:Indianapolis, IN
Age: 14 - 17
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
you should get these they are a nice pair of casual jeans cuffing them would make them look even better
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

adjust for size

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
overalls199
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
very nice pair of pants, sturdy and spacious in all the right areas. the one thing you do need to look out for on the shrink to fit is the sizing. I'm a 30-30 in most pants but for this i ordered a 32-32 and because they really do shrink when washed, after the first wash they went form 32-32 to a 30-30.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Cammy
from:Allen, TX
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Ordered these jeans online and received them fairly quickly. Jeans were like the picture portrayed them and were good quality. The one day 40% off coupon was a great help also.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have been made for me

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Jacknife
from:Chicago
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
It seemed risky but I upsized according to recommendation and after washing in hot water and drying in dryer these fit me perfectly. I can never buy off the rack and always required additional expense of shortening as I'm particular about length and not fond of excess bunching around ankles. Now I wash in cold water and air dry to keep the perfect fit as jeans start to fade with broken in look.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
MegaMelloD
from:Nashville
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I'm very impressed with the quality of these jeans. The color is beautiful, although it's not a true black which is stated in the description but a blue-black rinse, so know that when buying them. But the stitching is also a great color, almost a copper color with a gold contrasting stitch and the same brass/copper-like buttons. They look great if you're trying to dress it up a little or just go casual. They will go with anything. I sized up two inches in the waist though because the last time I bought shrink-to-fits they shrank just a little too much in the waist. But great jeans!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic Black's

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
HunterintheWild
from:Alva, Ok.
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These 'shrink to fit' 501 jean's are very handsome pants. They feel a little loose at first wash, but end up fitting you just the way the ladies like to see. I have notieced the ladies turning their heads to take a second look at these Black, 'shrink to fit', 501's.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>