Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black

501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black

An icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the 501® Original Fit jean. A fit that's straight through the hip with our signature button-fly. Tested by generations, they continue to define the modern dress code. Great for all builds.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (27 reviews)
5 *
12
4 *
6
3 *
4
2 *
1
1 *
4
Recommended by:21 out of 2778% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They work for me...

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Prisonworker
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
First time mail order...36W 38L fit good, look good and I can wear them to work..I will be back to order more....
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 Original Jeans black in color This product has the button fly and 5 pockets

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
jbug
from:Portsmouth, OH, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans were the perfect fit. I bought them for my Boyfriends Birthday and he loved them. He said they were comfortable and fit the way they did 20 years ago. I would recommend these jeans to everyone. They were also priced reasonably. Levi s has the same quality now as they did over 20 years ago. I will be buying Levi s again and again.
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It isn't Black

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Pimsims
from:New York, NY, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Black trousers should be very black and not a dusty grey black. 501 shrink to fit are not really black, black.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pair

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
taosmeister
from:Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great pair of Jeans, wash well and hold up to use and abuse. I have been wearing 501's for decades and believe they should be part of every man's wardrobe. Forget all the hip, trendy, strange named jeans. Levis is the Grand Daddy of them all, and the 501 is the leader of the gang. I have the 505 and 559's and could not be happier. The sizing is consistent throughout the range.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

There's a reason Levi's is synonymous with jeans!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Woof2012
from:New York, NY, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
501s are classic for a reason. Great jeans and (with the available discount) great price. My one star off is that the denim does feel a little thin. But I'm just too old and remember when Levi's denim was thick and durable.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

501 for TALL people???

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
ToTall
from:SALEM< OR
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
For the past 20 years or so i have been told by many differnt stores that they were unable to get may size 501's anymore or any Levi's my size, until i came across Levi's i a big & tall shop in Springfield, Or (now there out of bussiness). I thought i was out of luck even getting Levi's in my size. ?? internet Levi's.com what do you know Levi's my size (L & W) 38W36L and 501's at that. 20+ year that must be a record for someone who had grown up in 501's not to have a pair in the closet! Now i have three.
thx form all the tail guy like me with a waist that is comparable
thanks for this I now feel normal again
IVAN Salem, OR
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My order of black jeans...

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
GarthCT
from:Shelton, CT
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
No where in your item description did it point out that the fly was buttons and not a zipper.
I have Parkinson's and it is difficult to manipulate buttons...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ACherif
Posted December 18, 2014
Excuse me but all 501s ever since I remember over 38 years they've always came with Button's fly.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
501BOY
Posted December 21, 2012
Look again. Right there under product description, the 3rd or 4th bullet point down, it clearly states: Button-fly. I'm sorry you missed it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's Levi's

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Dewayne
from:Bowling Green, KY
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
They were way too pricey, but Levi's are great jeans. I recommend ordering from Macy's. More sizes and colors.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501s. For the big bloke.

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Awesomeness2
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great fit, took some time to get accustomed to a button fly again. Fit is better then the 505s, recommend if you have slightly wider hips then actual waistline.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Levi is Number One with me

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
SilentRunner
from:Atwater, CA
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought these Jeans in black on cyber Monday. I was looking for Original Shrink to Fit 501's in 34W x 40L. (My husband is 6ft 4in with long legs!) When I couldn't get the Shrink to Fit 501, I decided to try these in size 34W x 38L. My husband lives in Levis and he loves these -they fit him PERFECTLY! The jeans have been washed at least three times without shrinking They keep their color well--no fading! We just wish you still made the Original Shrink to Fit 501s in his size.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These were easy

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
ProudMom
from:Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My son absolutely love levi jeans. It was so easy to choose a few pair as a good Christmas gift. He will love them!!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
MaxPowers
from:Katy, Texas
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
there still nice jeans just wish yall had shrink to fit in big and tall
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

kinda disappointed

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Shoq
from:Omaha NE
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
heavier, more durable feel and quality absent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wrong type of fly

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Justice4All
from:Columbia, SC - State of Confusion
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I thought the fly bottom pants were trashed into history in the 80s. Nephew was not happy with these pants. Returning to local store.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
godzilla
from:suffolk,va
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
jeans fit comfortable at waist
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Is everyone a "sagger"?

PostedMay 29, 2011
Customer avatar
HoodSaint
from:Sandy, OR
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Have been wearing 505's for several years. The last pair I purchased felt different and I finally figured out that they had lowered the rise. Felt uncomfortable to me, so after some inquiry at the Levi's store and online investigation, decided to try the 501's. Not sure these are the answer either. I am surprised that a company with the history and tradition of Levis wouldn't keep a model for the traditionalists among their customer base. May have to look elsewhere, as in another manufacturer. What a shame.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Black is back

PostedApril 30, 2011
Customer avatar
JSeeker
from:Hiroshima, Japan
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
As I wrote in my review of my dark stonewash 501s, it has been a long time. I wore buttondown 501s since junior high school. Stopped, for no particular reason, after college. The color is great. The pockets on these jeans don't seem to be as deep as I remember. Wish they were a little deeper. I bought a 50 waist, and they seem a little baggy. I'm sure they'll fit better after a couple of washes.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lovin dem Levis

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Shy04
from:Charlotte, NC
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
User submitted photo
When ordering big & tall I would order one size up for a nicer fit; my husband was pleased :)
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic cut of 501s; love that button fly

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
timsales
from:Pasadena, CA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Been a long time since I had button flys, and even longer since I had a pair of brand new black 501s. Wow, they are super black, which I love. 501s seem a bit baggy after my recent 514s purchase, but they are great anyway!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 501® Original Fit Jeans (Big & Tall) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed feelings...

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
SmartAceW0LF
from:Cajun Country, LA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I would have to agree with the individual who claims these are made of thin material. I wear 501's exclusively and have for over 20 years now. Have been wearing Black 501s since the first time I saw them. And yes the material is thin. Seems to be getting thinner with time. I used to be able to get by with 3 to 4 pair per year. That number has almost tripled the last few years.
Unfortunately, I haven't many other options in jeans due to a physical condition. I suppose I could buy the originals but I really don't like the look on me. So, these will just have to do.
On the plus side, and this is important to me, the size and fit of these jeans has remained rock solid since day one. I don't have to try on different pairs of jeans when purchasing. This is paramount for a person in a wheelchair.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>