Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Mens Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse

517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse

Made in 1969 to fit over boots, the 517™ Boot Cut Jean has been tried and true for generations. Cut to sit below the waist, slim from hip to thigh with an authentic bootcut leg. They're durable, comfortable, and have always looked good.
Overall rating:
4.21 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(200 reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (200 reviews)
5 *
129
4 *
32
3 *
14
2 *
2
1 *
23
Recommended by:173 out of 20086% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Review 1 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as described

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
from:Indiana
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Great fit, quick shipping! Very satisfied. Will order again
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too tight in the thighs!

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer avatar
from:New York, NY
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I have a good number of jeans that are 34x36, so I figured I'd risk a mail order without trying them on first. Boy do I regret it. The length is fine, and the waist itself seems ok if just a tad snug. But the thighs! They are skin tight! I could possibly re-order a larger size, but since the proportions are way off, I couldn't imagine them being the right choice. They'd be more comfortable, but would need the waist to be cinched in most likely.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not What They Used To Be

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer avatar
from:Florida, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
I have been wearing 517's over 40 years. The new ones are a disgrace to Levi quality. Thinner material, five instead of seven belt loops, no longer available in Indigo, and no longer available in half sizes...everything a company needs to do to lose another customer.
Please bring the original 517 back...soon!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very nice looking comfortable Jean.

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
from:Alabama
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Like these jeans because of the fit and the appearance.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring em back

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
from:Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I fell in love with the older version of the 517 and the new ones are nothing like the older ones. I'm not concerned with the gauge of the denim. I'm talking strictly about the fit. After reviewing the reviews it's easy to see that a little over 10% of the customers (that have reviewed) agree with me. That's not a huge percentage but converted into market share overall, there is loss. Nothing wrong with new cuts but don't change the old ones and use the same numbers. Bring back the real 517. PLEASE!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
james2
Posted March 4, 2015
yes i agree, bring back old 517's. I think major difference was old ones had higher waist.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too baggy

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
from:kansas
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
My husband has a pair of 517's that we bought at a Levi outlet
a couple years ago - fit great. So we ordered the same , 517's, but they do not fit the same. The crotch is very long & full & the
bottoms are too flared. Hate to spend return postage, but they
just are not as represented.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
tommy48
Posted December 13, 2014
Purchased 2 pair of the 517 Boot cut jeans (rinse) online last year worse fitting jeans ever, i have been wearing Levi's for 30 years 32/30 feel and look like 36/30 the hips and crotch areas are too large. they don't fit the same as all the others 517's i have purchased over the years.
+9points
9of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Color

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Shelbyville, IN 46176, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Still a great pair of pants.Wish I could have baught them in my favorite color INDIGO.Most pairs of levis I have baught were always in INDIGO. Also prices are way to high.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Levis 517 Boot Cut

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Indiana, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I'm 36 yrs old, 5'10" 170 lb. I've been wearing Levis 517's, (size 32x36) for a couple of years. I really liked the fit of the first pairs of 517's I bought. Sizing seems to be an issue. The pair recently purchased seem to be a little looser fit in the seat and thigh. They are more of a regular fit. Also, the last two pair I purchased are a size 32x34, not 32x36 like my old pairs, and are a little on the long side. Overall they're not bad. I like the fact they sit at the waist and the boot cut, but I would like more of a Slim Fit like my older 517's.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
xavier
Posted September 20, 2014
I've been wearing levis all my adult life and was able to find half sizes but it's no longer an option.
I think you should offer the half sizes to keep people in your corner.
+8points
8of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit for tall and thin

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Chicago, IL
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love these jeans. I am 6' tall and 145 lbs and struggled with finding conservative, dark blue, no frills jeans that fit well (snug waist, room in the crotch, not baggy on the hips, and didn't make me look like I have chicken legs) and were versatile (look good with a t-shirt or sport coat). I spent A LOT of time trying all of the designer jeans and they either didn't fit well (everything seems to be skinny cut and slim fit) or had a ridiculous wash, whiskers, or back pockets. I'm surprised Levi's does not sell these in their store, but I am thankful I can get them online! The 29Wx34L fit me perfectly. My girlfriend loves them too.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like An Old Friend

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from:Buena Vista, CO 81211, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I wore Levi's Boot Cut Jeans for years, beginning when they were Saddleman Jeans in the 70s, and loved the weight of the denim, the fit and the feel of them. I was in the outdoor recreation (climbing, mountaineering, hiking, etc.) business for years where it was advantageous to wear outdoor industry brands. I left that business about a year ago and returned to Levi's as a wardrobe staple. I bought a pair of 517s in Rinse and couldn't be happier. The 14.5 oz. denim is heavy enough for long-lasting durability and to drape well over boots. I love the fit and, especially in the rich blue of the Rinse color, the way they look on me. The 517s are like restoring a friendship with a dear friend, gone too long.
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
Sawtooth Western Shirt - Blue
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChrisM517
Posted May 8, 2014
I have been wearing 517 boot cut for as long as they have been making them, in what is now called "Rinse." If I were not totally satisfied, I would not keep buying them. They are durable, heavy enough to wear well, and when new, I wear them for office casual, and when they start showing a bit of wear and fading, I wear them for yard and shop work. I like them because they go over the various kinds of boots that I wear (western, hiking and so on), as well as doing fine with shoes.
+9points
9of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Decline of quality

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Arkansas, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have worn levi jeans all my life. I ordered some from another online vendor and was not satisfied with the quality. Thinking it may be a cheap knock-off I decided to purchase them from the levi site, At a higher price mind you. The quality was the same, Poor stitching and the weight of the denim feels more like I was wearing a pair of slacks. For the price one pays for the name one should expect the original quality that we used to get.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Levi517fan
Posted January 6, 2015
I worn and will not buy any other jeans other then Levi's, however, it just seems that the quality has gone down hill. I HATE the SMALL zippers they get stuck in the fly overlap and the zipper head is WAYYYYYY to small more like a ladies zipper.
For the price the quality is a bit to be desired. May have to go with
another brand though I do like the jeans before they were sent to be made outside the USA. I plead for Levi to bring the product back to the USA wear quality meant something.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stretch Jeans

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Tucson, AZ, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I am really impressed with these jeans. I already had four pair, but I wore them completely out. They fit perfectly, wear well, and look great. It is so nice to find jeans that are long enough, that fit perfectly too. So I ordered them in two more colors. I highly recommend them to everyone.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jeans

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Ohio, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are the ONLY jeans my husband will wear (old school), getting harder to find in retail stores. love the jeans.
I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is a good value.

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from:FL
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
This product is true to Levi high standards - durable, comfortable, and a good value.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jeans!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Illinois, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans fit great! I am tall and on the lean side and have been wearing 517 Boot Cut jeans for many years.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Levis 517

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Texas
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Perfect fit for long extra slim men. Been wearing these same style jeans for 46 yrs.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic style, reasonable price.

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Idaho, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Classic cowboy style, durable wear, and a reasonable price. Also, Levi's offer a customizable fit, so my husband is comfortable while working.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and Classey

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Indianapolis, IN
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I LOVE the 517 jeans! I wouldn't wear any other brand. They fit great over boots and are comfortable and long wearing!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the fit I remember???

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Maryland, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I took my measurements and ordered accordingly. Jeans are a little too small. I'm not sure exactly why, just fits small...I was hoping for a more generous fit. I like the way these jeans used to fit. I would order a little bigger than I needed and then they would shrink a little and fit just right. I know "things" have changed!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rinse
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fit

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from:Sugar Land, Texas
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have worn Levi's for more than 40 years and always have a minimum of 8-10 pairs that I wear; however for the past five years I did not like the way Levi jeans fit and bought other brands. The stores in the Houston/Sugar Land Texas area did not carry much of a size selection. I bought these jeans without every trying a pair on at a local store in hopes they would fit and renew my faith in Levi. They fit great and will continue my dedicated support to the Levi product.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>