Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Plus or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black

Designed to create an all-over smooth shape, our 512™ jeans provide figure-flattering comfort and style.
Overall rating:
3.439 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (41 reviews)
5 *
14
4 *
9
3 *
7
2 *
3
1 *
8
Recommended by:30 out of 4173% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Review 1 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Should have ordered up 2 sizes...

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
AccordChic
from:North Carolina
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I ordered the black and they definitely run small. I actually ordered 1 size up, but it wouldn't have hurt to order 2 sizes up. They are still a good jean, but it's somewhat disheartening when you have to order up. The length (medium) is good length when wearing with heels, not with flats.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The best there is, but that's not necessarily a compliment

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Raina04
from:Northern California
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
After reading other reviews, I ordered both the dark blue and black in the next size up. Even though they are the same size, the blue is looser and longer. In retrospect, I wish I had purchased the blue two sizes up and wish I had purchased the black an additional size up from the blue. If you remember Levi's from the 80's (classic, straight), these jeans are the closest you are going to get in plus sizes. Unfortunately, they aren't the "classic" we remember, and they aren't the "straight" we remember. The waist dips down uncomfortably in the front, making it more of a mid-rise than classic, and the legs are wide at the hem - certainly not "straight".
My biggest complaint in all plus-size jeans is, why on earth, do manufacturers, including Levi's, believe it's a good idea to add elastic to the fabric, so that it hugs every bulge we have that we want to conceal?
Again, these are the best jeans available in plus sizes (IMHO), but Levi's could sell them faster than anything, if they made them as REAL jeans, like the other sizes, and not some stretchy, uncomfortable, embarrassing slab of material as they are now.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not like my other pair

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Teach531
from:Richmond, VA, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I bought the 512 Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans Plus in stone blue and loved them. I read all the reviews for the black jeans and decided to give them a try anyway. I ordered the next size up as suggested and ordered 2 pairs. First there was a difference of an inch and a half in length between the black jeans. Then I tried to put them on... I could do it, but it wasn't comfortable nor pretty. I checked the fabric and the black jeans only have 1% stretch material, very different from the stone blue pair. I also noticed that the blue pair were made in China and both black pairs were made in Pakistan. Needless to say I returned the black jeans. I really wanted black jeans.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Black fits snug

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
LeviLover77
from:Canton, MI
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I love the 512 jean. This was my first pair in black and they are much tighter in the waist and thigh than the blues that I own. I think going a size up would not solve the problem though so I kept them. I just dont eat when I wear them. They have a very sleek polished look and look great too!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT DO IT!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
happyface
from:San Diego, CA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I ordered these with the expectation that they would be straight leg. After all, it says that they are straight leg on the description and within the title. They flared hideously, and there was extra fabric at the back of the knee, making the legs look gross. I had to return them. I'm not sure whats going on with Levi's jeans. It seems that the quality has really deteriorated. Or maybe its that they don't apply their standards of quality to their plus size line. Either way, I was highly disappointed with my purchase.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

An etirely different fit

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Hodor
from:Oregon
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I bought the 512's in both black and dark blue. The dark blue ones are my new favourite jeans, but these black ones don't fit like the others at all. It's VERY tight in the waist and thighs, and the label on the inside is different from the other jean as well, despite both being 512's and the same size. Little disappointed with these.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost perfect!

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
oldcatlady
from:Tyler, TX
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
The fit was great- but I do wish you made them for petite peopke too! Most of us that are a tad overweight have shorter legs that your product. Had them shortened 6 inches, now they are exactly right.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure yet

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Fayblac
from:Los Angeles
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
The jeans were too small, so I sent them back and asked for an exchange for a larger size. However, I am still waiting for my exchange to arrive. At this time, I can't honestly rate the jeans yet.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jeans!

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer avatar
100baffrooms
from:Seattle, WA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I love these jeans! When I can find them in a size that fits, they look awesome, and flatter in all the right places. The stretch material is comfy and does not become baggy with wear throughout the day. The only reason I don't give these jeans 5 stars is that I have noticed that the size can differ among different washes/colors in this style. I have noticed that the "Milky Night" wash is very true to size. The darker washes with embellished pockets tend to run 1 to 2 sizes small.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST JEANS!!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Chee
from:New York.NY
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
They hug and snug the right places while slimming at the same time! I always get compliments..I always refer to the web site because I'm plus size! Only wish the stores sold plus sizes so I could buy more!!!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Size Chart Incorrect

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
asgsews
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I bought the size based on the size chart measurements. Way too small. Not even close. I have other brands in the size I ordered that are just fine.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Kept Secret

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
DarkStar
from:Portland, OR
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I held off on buying these jeans for a long time based on mixed reviews regarding fit. I longed to be back in Levi's and have my favorite pair of jeans hanging over the back of my chair again...well, here they are! The fabric isn't the same as my Levi's when I was younger but modern fabrics hug you and feel great, even the first time you put them on! No break-in needed! They fit perfectly, and now that I am back in Levi's, there isn't another pant I need. Hallelujah! Go for it girls! They fit great, feel good and are still the best deal out there.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
queenladi
from:Chicago
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My new favorite jeans. The jeans are a perfect fit. I purchased 4 different pairs of jeans and all of them fit differently. This pair is by far the most comfortable. I look sexy in heels, wedges, and gym shoes. It seems hard to find black jeans but I'm happy I found this pair. The black jeans are soft and slimming. My thighs appear much smaller. If you want to feel sexy....buy them now.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I think they sent the wrong size

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
QTDee
from:Raleigh, NC
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
When I received my package I was so excited. That is until I pulled the jeans out. I ordered a size 16W and the look like a size 6. :-( Not happy with them at all.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working in Black

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
katydid55
from:Atlanta, Geargia
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These Levi's are GRRR8T Ican't were jeans to work only black pants so this is the answer. The same great jeans fit in black. Love Love Love these jeans. Thanks. I orderd them online and 3 days later they are on my behiney Yee Haw!
I recommend this product!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inconsistent sizing...

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Monks
from:San Francisco, CA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I love the look of these jeans and even bought a size up from my usual size that I wear in the women's 505s. Unbelievably, I have another pair of 512s in my usual size that fit just fine! However, these jeans made me feel like I bought 1-2 sizes too small! I will keep them, as I am in the process of loosing a few pounds and hope they will fit better soon! Sizing is my biggest complaint about Levi's jeans. From style to style, sizes are so inconsistent. If a person wears a 10 in one style, they should also wear a 10 in every other style, not have to size up to a 14!
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DISAPPOINTED

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer avatar
60628
from:CHICAGO,IL
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
EVEN THOUGH I'M A SIZE 16 ...A SIZE 18 SHOULD FIT COMFORTABLE ...BUT THEY ARE NOT!! ACTUALLY A SIZE LARGER IS NEEDED.... THESE JEANS ARE SUPPOSE 2 BE PLUS SIZE PLUS STRETCH DENIM THEY SHOULD'VE FIT PERFECT.. I HAVE A 35 INCH WAIST AND A 47 1/2 INCH HIP I MUST BUY MY JEANS 2 FIT MY HIPS ....SO I WILL BE SENDING THEM BACK AND MAKE MY PURCHASES IN-STORE FOR NOW ON ...VERY DISAPPOINTED....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Fit

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer avatar
MsDee
from:Washington, DC
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Finding jeans that fit well has always been difficult until now. My 512 Plus jeans fit my full hips and small waist perfectly. They are comfortable and look great; I plan to order a few more!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs 2 sizes smaller... otherwise, PERFECT!

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Lorenda
from:Washington State
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I bought a pair of these at my local Macy's and absolutely loved them (once I pushed my pride aside and tried a pair 2 times larger than I usually wear). Oddly, the 3 other pairs of pants I bought that day were all a 16W (INC, Style & Co, and Claiborne). The Levi's were a 20W. They certainly run 2 sizes small - be aware of that when ordering! Other than that, they are probably the BEST pair of jeans I've ever worn! The denim is very light and stretchy - extremely comfortable! Normally, I struggle to find jeans that don't gap on my waist, not a problem with these. Also, they do run a bit longer than most brands. I don't know the exact inseam measurement, but I bought medium length and at 5'8" they are plenty long on me (any longer and I'd have to hem them). Finding jeans long enough for me is frequently a problem, but "tall" jeans are too long. So, if you're shorter than me, you might consider buying a shorter length, if available, or be prepared to wear with heels, or hem. Anyway, I like them enough that I'm on here buying them in blue since there weren't any in blue in my size at the store.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 512™ Perfectly Shaping Straight Jeans (Plus) - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Levis

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Customer avatar
mavricc
from:Sterling Heights, MI
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I do love my Levi's. Why did they change the pocket design on the jeans? I like the old style!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>