Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid

517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid

Made in 1969 to fit over boots, the 517™ Boot Cut Jean has been tried and true for generations. Cut to sit below the waist, slim from hip to thigh with an authentic bootcut leg. They're durable, comfortable, and have always looked good.
Overall rating:
3.111 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (9 reviews)
5 *
4
4 *
0
3 *
1
2 *
1
1 *
3
Recommended by:5 out of 956% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Review 1 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dark heavy jeans

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Anissa
from:Leesburg, Va
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Jeans are as pictured but very heavy material. My husband didn't care for how dark they were and how the fabric felt. He said they weren't comfortable but a good jean for a cooler climate.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

517 Perfect for boots

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Dago
from:Clearwater Florida
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
I love my boot cut 517 jeans. They came in rigid as I like them. Washed them once and they fit much better then washed them again and now they fit me and my boots like I want them to! Great for work or going out on a date. The old style rigid always come a little large so they can shrink to fit tour body not just any . Joe that puts them on. They're YOUR LEVIS!!!!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only jeans that have the fit my son likes

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
BUCKY
from:Pennsylvania, USA
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Easy ordering, great selection, especially like fact I can get tweener sizes that stores don't carry. Fast delivery. Wouldn't order unless they were on sale.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What happened?

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
tidoanto
from:Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I bought 4 pairs of these about two years ago. I tried some new ones on in the store last week. Same size, same jean. I was actually wearing a two year old pair when I was in the store. The length was about 2-3 inches longer and the thighs were extremely tight and the material was so thin, I'd tear it in a heart beat. Where is the quality control and quality material that used to be there? I'm going to have to find another brand now.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good Jean

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Bootcutboy59
from:Manhattan KS
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have been wearing this jean for the past 50 years my mother would by me two pair a year at Christmas time and because we were Military and rather poor they would have to last me for up to two years. They did I continue to ware them today. I have had some of them for up to 10 years The older ones I had over in Okinawa JP and my wife sold them at a flea market, they all had motor cycle oil stains on them and some of them where torn, but the Japanese scarfed them up for double what I paid for them I could not
be-leave it GOOD Jeans!!!!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

QUALITY CONTROL

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
larry71
from:Mo
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I rec. my order for 2 pair 517 rigid jeans. Not to my surprise the waist measurement was a little off, but the inseam was way off. I ordered 44waist 32inseam, inseam measured on one pair 34 1/4 the other pair 34 1/2. I don't know if I will buy this product again. What happened to QUALITY CONTRAOL ??
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jjimmy
Posted February 3, 2015
TAKE NOTE:::::517 is similar almost to 567 live's boot cut loose fit but i would prefered blue jeans without any faded yet, unfortunately my favorite 567 boot cut is been discontinue i was sad, sad, sad, ! i wish upon the star they will bring it back my live's coz, my 567's are very old i need about 12 pair and if they bring it back it would be cool if they put covers at the back pocket with large plastics four holes bottoms and again make it blue jeans without faded yet and w/ loose fit,style in it...,SO PLS BRING IT 567 BOOT CUT LOSE FIT ON DARK BLUE JEANS WITHOUT FADED YET ,WITH COVER POCKETS BRING IT BACK THANKS STANDING BY JIMMY :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product runs huge

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
jamkel4
from:Pensacola, FL
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
I wear a size 33 / 32 in 501 jeans. They fit perfect.
I recently purchased a pair of 517 size 33 / 32 online and when I put them on they were huge! At least 2 inches longer than the 501 jeans and I pulled them off without even unbuttoning the jeans.
I love the look and feel of the rigid 517 but beware that they run very big.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mauiiiiii
Posted November 14, 2014
My husband has worn ONLY Levi 517 since I met him, 24 years ago. He used to buy "Rigid". These are meant to be washed (more than once) before you wear them; are expected to shrink (they are cotton!), and so are larger before washing. More recently, he has been buying "Rinse", more true sizing before washing. And as far as I know, they have always been boot-cut.
+13points
13of 13voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The cowboys 517 is now a skinny jean

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Colt73
from:California, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I fully agree with Cowboy2012, Levi Strauss has killed 517. They lowered the waist, dropped the back pockets down and they now resemble the skinny jean line. The ranchers go-to are now for kids only.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tumbleweed
Posted October 8, 2014
I bought two pair of 517 jeans about two years ago that were not "boot cut" and loved them. I would like to buy more but it sounds like the three back belt loops have disappeared and that the 517 is only available in "boot cut" which I don't want...
Bring em back! No book cut - Three back belt loops
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
BIKERB
Posted August 27, 2014
LEVI!!!! What has happened to the traditional LEVI quality and fit???????????? You started taking belt loops off 20 years ago and each loss of a loop made them hang worse!!!!!! Now that you have taken your manufaturing overseas it would probably cost Levi fifteen cents to put the three belt loops back on!!!! I would gladly pay fifteen cents more to have my Levis fit the way Levis SHOULD FIT!!!!! Real cowboys have knives and things hanging off their belts...WE NEED THOSE LOOPS BACK!!!!!!!!!!
+30points
30of 30voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always the best place to get Levis

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
MarksNurse
from:St Louis, Mo
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Wait for sales. (sorry). Husband wont wear anything else but Levis.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
USAF47
Posted August 17, 2014
I agree with Cowboy 2012. I'm about the same age and have been a Levi 517 for more years than I want to count. I have also found that the "RIGID" does not hold the color as well as the old "INDIGO" color did. With that being said I am considering trying Wrangler to see if there quality has slipped like Levi's have.
+10points
10of 10voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
cowboy2012
Posted June 22, 2014
I have worn Levi's for 60 years. I am now 70 years old. I recently purched 3 new pairs of 517 boot-cut jeans. 1 pair had a bad zipper which I took back to the store to be replaced. They didn't carry my size and style and are having them sent to me. All 3 pairs were made of a light weight dennim (lighter than my old jeans). Whats happening to your product. Why are you selling a cheaper made product.
+22points
22of 22voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Hutch87
Posted April 21, 2014
How do so many trolling reviews make it through the screening process? On top of that, how so when this partcular denim product has a lot less than a dozen to read? This has nothing to do with the 517 rigid bootcut jeans. FIX THIS, levi.com.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
HDforever
Posted April 21, 2014
Well made, fit great and durable...Just a great pair of jeans!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)