Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black

501® Original Fit Jeans - Black

An icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the 501® Original Fit jean. A fit that's straight through the hip with our signature button-fly. Tested by generations, they continue to define the modern dress code. Great for all builds.
Overall rating:
4.402 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (179 reviews)
5 *
122
4 *
31
3 *
11
2 *
6
1 *
9
Recommended by:160 out of 17989% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect casual jean.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
HighRise
from:San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
First I tried the 510s because I like slim fitting jeans, but I can't STAND low-rise. I tried the 511s but the fabric wasn't tough enough. Next I tried the 501s. They fit nice and slim, but the rise is actually close to the waist!! I usually wear a 29, but they run a size big so I bought a 28 and they broke in great. Fabric feels thick and durable. Black is rich and dark. Great jean.
My only critique is I wish the cuff would be a little thinner, but from the knee to the waist they're perfect. I also wish it was a zipper, but at least the fly will never come down.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My demi curve did not fit in these jeans.

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
dMoniqueRenee
from:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I purchased these jeans for my fem-fatal frame and they did not fit.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ongoing great value

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
RandyInDC
from:Washington, DC
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've bought these jeans for years. Lately I have been buying them 40 x 34, so I can only get them online. Interestingly stores carry 40 inch waist with 30 inseam.
In any case, these pants are a little dressier than blue jeans, and I like them. The black fades with age nicely as well.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Black pants with the classic red tag

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
NeonRedTag32x34
from:Stratford, CT, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are great when you're in High School and don't work for a living, but with as many year in the market I expected more. I need a comfortable pair that's designed to last for manly activities! I have countless numbers that wear out over the wallet back pocket and in the crotch. Am I the only person this happens to? Don't even get me started with super skinny jeans. Bring back the complete button fly, toughen up on the obvious wear zones, and while I have your attention, a little flattery in the seat to keep up with women in leggings wouldn't hurt either. Go with black labels so people don't read my size from 50' away.
I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit and classic look

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer avatar
geoffsbox
from:Peoria, AZ, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Jeans look great and provide a classic fit with a new color.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the perfect pair of jeans

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Pete19
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My old black 501's having served me for many years were in need of some back up to prevent them wearing out completely, so what choice did I have, well no option really but a new pair of 501's. I could not be happier they fit great and since I'm the same waist size I was ten years ago they make you feel great to say I'm delighted would be an understatement. The Levi website was easy to use and delivery was all on time, altogether a great service for a great product.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My grandson likes the button fly.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Brit1
from:Colorado
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Bought these 501 jeans for my (16 yr old) grandson to go back to school. He loves them.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Levi's are getting worse year by year

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
G2013
from:Oakland, CA, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I have worn nothing but black Levi's 501 for many, many years and I can say that each time I purchase a new pair, the quality gets worse each time. The denim/fabric is thinner and 'softer' than it used to be. The 'weave' of the fabric seems to be thicker and looser, if that makes sense, and the black dye fades much quicker than it used to. The only reason that I gave these a passing rating is because these jeans are still better than most brands, which says something about the quality of most products available these days. Cheap materials and cheap labor results in cheap products, period. Levi: Why can't you make jeans that are comparable to those you used to make? I'm not even talking about vintage jeans from the 40's thru the 70's...even the ones from the 80's and 90's were a hundred times better than what you are making now. If these get any worse, I'll probably stop buying Levi's altogether.
I recommend this product!
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
RandyInDC
Posted January 6, 2014
I agree the quality has gone down. The pair I bought recently had the dye leech from it WAY too quickly. I am buying another pair, hoping it was a fluke, but if these do the same thing I may be done with them.
I don't understand why they couldn't have a premium line of the 501s and charge more, especially on the black where leeching of dye makes a difference in a way it doesn't on blue jeans. they should try it on the black, and consider other colors based on if it succeeds.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
NeonRedTag32x34
Posted October 28, 2013
I absolutely agree with you. Years ago you could trust the Levis' name for producing a high quality pair of jeans. You could wear them, and the more beat up they got the better you felt in them.
Button fly meant five buttons, not just one. They didn't have zippers
Blaming the economic times is no excuse for poor quality.
There are other makers of longer lasting, plumber-butt solving, winter enduring, and less expensive jeans; I just have an issue with their name on my back. You know the brand. It's hard to kill their jeans and rip their shirts.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
GamingTheEconomy
Posted September 6, 2013
Probably because the material costs increase or stay the same, meanwhile wages are eroded by inflation. A $50 dollar pair of pants from 1990 would cost $89.36 judging by an inflation calculator. Somethings have to give to keep prices down :(
Bread gets less dense (same loaf, less net weight), soups get thinner, meat gets produced at a larger, less quality scale and prices for all materials just climb.
On the other hand if you're wealthy enough I'm sure you can get some pretty awesome stuff.
I'm sure inflation doesn't explain it 100% but it's another factor to consider. I'm sure profits have increased as well.. but it seems like most basic clothing has gone to wayyy to far on the 'value' scale, but again.. eroding wages lead to eroding buying power leads to cheaper products being the bullseye for the mass market.
+10points
10of 10voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 9 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the black 501 original fit jeans.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
bigdude52
from:Anderson, In.
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love these jeans. They fit perfectly. I have had several ladies tell me the love these jeans. I got three pairs of them when I had the money. Where them as much as I wear the blue jeans. They also work when I'm going somewhere special. They look great and feel great. I just can't get enough of this jeans. Love them is all I want to say.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Size was what I needed, 35 waist hard to find.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
carl45
from:Salinas, CA, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
All levi purchases have been great and will be ordering more.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
gabbas
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
perfect fit, true black. size was excellent. I will sure come back for more
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must own pair

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
SoFly
from:California, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I'm writing this from the perspective of a normal person. These are very nice jeans that all men should own. For myself however, I'm somewhat skinny and lanky, but I'm completely bottom heavy and have enormous thighs. They're about 25-26" in circumference so I have trouble fitting into jeans that are my waist and inseam size, but aren't made extra baggy (e.g. the 569's).
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit & comfortable

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
BBJr
from:Troy, MI, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I'm in the process of losing weight and all my jeans were too big. So I ordered these with the thought that they would fit later. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they fit now. They have become my favorite jeans instantly.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic fit looks great.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Bunny707
from:St. Petersburg Fl
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought these for my companion because I can order his exact inseam and waist combination from Levis.com. They fit and look great. Can't beat classic black and he loves the button fly look.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They're awesome

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
amic
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Bought them for my boyfriend and he was absolutely in love!!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is definitely a desired product

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Sharon8
from:San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My entire family (6) wears original Levis jeans. My husband works in them. I lime and hang out in them and so does my children and sons in law. Not forgetting my 7 year old grand son. It is durable, long lasting, wears in any event,stands the test of any detergent in washing, and most of all , turns heads where ever you goes. It gives a comfortable fit , soft on the body and most of all, you can get any type of cut to fit that special occasion. (boots cut, straight cut, tapered cut,etc
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 is the best

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Etroszie
from:Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Are we need a review? This is 501 original jeans. I saw my father wearing it when I was Child. Now I have 3 pairs of 501 moreover I have other from 511, 514, 505. Levi is the best.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality, versatility

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Macko
from:Chicago
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These pants fit me perfectly and look great. Can wear them at work with a sport coat, or more casual.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice color.

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Cowboy43
from:Westchester, NY usa
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have bigger thighs that the average male. It comes from doing squats, lungs and other leg exercises at the gym. 501,s aren't made for guys like me but they eventually stretch and will fit after wearing them a few times.
I love everything about Levis 501's. It's great to see that levis has stayed true to their roots. I believe the 501 has been named the best cut jeans.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Cowboy43
Posted March 30, 2013
It's lunges....not lungs. Pardon the spelling error.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True Black... old favorite.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Mextex66
from:Carrollton, TX, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I left Levis in 2007 and went to Wrangles. Glad to be back!!! Nice fit old school never fails
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>