Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash

501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash

An icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the 501® Original Fit jean. A fit that's straight through the hip with our signature button-fly. Tested by generations, they continue to define the modern dress code. Great for all builds.
Overall rating:
4.17 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (241 reviews)
5 *
150
4 *
41
3 *
11
2 *
19
1 *
20
Recommended by:204 out of 24185% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed with Original Fit 501's

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Dave47
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Have worn 501's for 40+ years, but had not purchased a pair for a couple years. Bought my usual size and that's where the similarity ended. Inseam not true (short), rise is somewhat low-slung, material is lower quality, and hem at cuff is so skinny it turns up after washing. I am a very loyal consumer when I find something I like, unfortunately, Levi's has forced me to shop for something better.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What Happened?

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
jbikem
from:Tucson, AZ, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have purchased 501's for a very long time, over 40 years, and they have usually maintained the quality, until now. These 501's are of a lighter denim weight and the bottom hem is a joke. The old ones have a half inch hem on the legs, the new ones are barely an eighth of an inch, they continually roll up. Not what I expect from Levi's.
The fit is the same, at least, and that is all that is left of the good qualities I have come to expect from Levi's.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ride too low-not "at waist"

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Stevem
from:Idaho
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have had 501 Original Fit for 30 years and the have changed. They are not Original, but have changed.
They ride low at the waist even though they are promoted as being "at the waist". I am 5'10" and 170 pounds and these jeans with a belt put pressure on my iliac crest(hip bone). They cause pain after a few hours and I often switch back to my very old ones that are truly at the waist and feel great. My wife jokes with me about my "sore hips" when I wear them.
The silver lining is tthat they will last forever since I cant do yard work or wear them all day on Saturday.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Form fitting on thighs and butt

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Stan1855
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Button fly is old school nice, although seems to run bit small they are very form fitting if that's what you're going for (shows off shape of your bum) but if you have large thighs may have to get larger sizes.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501's Fit Great!

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
BandMateUSA
from:Texas
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love these original fit 501 jeans. They fit perfect just like the old made in the USA jeans. Still wish they were made in the USA but it is what it is. Great Levi's
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but not great

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
jim61
from:ca
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
These jeans are comfortable but seem different from ones I used to buy in the past,the jean quality ( i.e. cotton) seems thinner? They are a little more giving but all in all I like them.!!!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great quality as usual

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
kkkat
from:Bay City, MI, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
levi has the absolute best quality jeans out there...i have 3 sons and they all prefer them...plus the shipping was so fast i couldn't believe it....thank you levi, you make my holidays so much better
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Levi's are the only way to go!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Momoftoughboys
from:La Center, Wa
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
We only buy Levi's for our family because they last! Yes, they're expensive and yes, I cringe when I have to buy them but after years of trying other brands fory sons just to have them wear out in a month I won't buy any other! They always last and when you have boys that are both over 6 feet that are always working you want a dependable Jean! I grew up with Levi's and lone the look and cut of them on my husband!
So when chrisas rolls around and I can get them 40% off with no shipping I always buy them.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Inconsistent Quality

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
NeedSomeDecentJeans
from:Denver, CO
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Hadn't bought a pair of 501's in many, many years but went searching for jeans again after the brand I was wearing started making their jeans different (cheaper and no longer fit). Tried a pair of 501's a few months ago and they are not too bad - not the quality they used to be years ago but all brands seem to be that way anymore.
So I thought I would get a second pair and upon washing and drying this second pair, they are nothing like the first pair though they are identical. They are like cheap junk - the material is creased and crunchy and turns up on the cuffs and the pocket area and you can just tell the material is totally cheap. Very disappointed.
So I wonder what is different and I happen to check the label inside the jeans. The first pair, the good pair, is made in Egypt. The second, junk pair, is made in Haiti. Don't know what kind of cotton or whatever they are using in Haiti but it's sad that the quality can vary this much. I'm back to searching for another brand. Can't trust Levi anymore. Take your chances.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My husband loves them

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Katrina776
from:Ukraine
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I want to thank you for the great products you make.
The size chart is the best I`ve ever used.
These jeans are true to size and very good quality. I will buy only these in the future)
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stop the narrow pockets - bring back deeper pockets!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
mctesterson
from:Portland, OR, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Over the last year, I've been searching with decreasing success for old stock of the deeper pocket 505's in stores.
The last pair I successfully found was one of three pairs I ordered from a department store, back on May 9, 2014. The other two pair were shallow pockets, and I returned them.
I have included a photo of the results of that order from May 2014. I put four identical knives on top of the pockets so you can see exactly how much different the size of the pockets are. The two pairs on the left are the new shallow pockets. The third pair from the left is the only pair from my dept store order that had deep pockets, and the final pair on the far right is an older pair I had bought in 2013 that also had deeper pockets.
Since then, I've tested literally dozens of pairs of 505s in different department stores in Washington state, Oregon, and California, and all of them have had shallow pockets. I tested at least 20 pairs at a mall yesterday in the LA area, putting my hand in each pair's left pocket, and they all had shallow pockets.
I previously had a Galaxy S3 smartphone, and it barely fit in the new shallow pockets. Now I have the slightly larger Galaxy S5 smartphone and of course it doesn't fit either. Apple has just come out with new bigger iPhones; I'm sure they wouldn't fit in this shallow pockets. Yet Levi's has at the same time shortened their pockets' depth!
If I try to sit in these new jeans with a modern smartphone in the front pocket, the edge of the phone cuts into my midsection. Very uncomfortable. What does Levi's expect customers with smartphones to do? Stuff them in the back pocket and sit on them?!? Imagine the cracked screens that would result....
Unless I get lucky and find a pair of 505s in a store that were made in 2013 or earlier, I guess I'm going to have to try and find a different brand of jeans, with more practical/useful pockets, to wear.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not original fit.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Saggypockets
from:Kansas, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My husband and I are heartbroken. These were the only jeans my husband would wear. They were comfortable, durable, and no man's bum could look better than it looked in a pair of 501s. I bought two new pair a couple weeks ago and they are not the same jean. They have moved the pockets lower on the back so now my husband sits uncomfortably on his wallet and they make his bum look like he might as well be wearing those jeans most cowboys are so fond of! Very disappointed Levi's! They are not "original fit". If whatever designer wanted to design a new pair of jeans more power to them, but don't call them 501. These seem to be going over as well as new coke. Please fix them! I cannot attest to their durability as we've only had them a couple weeks. "An icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the 501® Original Fit jean" is not an accurate description of the jeans they are selling as 501s today.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+44points
44of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pants

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
asdfateayjjy9009490439034
Age: 18 - 19
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
They fit how you want them to and do all of the things you'd expect from a pair of jeans.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a durable product anymore

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeSollars44
from:Overland Park, KS, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've worn exclusively 501's since I was in my teens (over 30 years now). The 501's I have been buying lately are NOT durable anymore. Within 2 years, there are holes in the crotch, and they are no longer wearable. I have always loved these jeans, and wear they EVERY single day (even in summer). I usually buy in bulk, and still have 2 or 3 new pairs in the dresser. Unfortunately, these will be my last pairs of 501s. I am actually very sad about this, and do not yet know what I am going to switch to. I hope some day they bring back a quality product again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+62points
62of 62voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
DisappointedOldTimer
Posted July 22, 2014
I always bought Levi's since 1976, about ten years ago I stopped buying because I was at a point in my life where I could not afford them. I started buying again and to my surprise this pants are not the quality I used to wear. About a month ago I purchased a pair of 501's and within a week one of them tore in the crotch when I kneeled down to pick up a box; I could not believe it happened! I am very sad to think American quality is all but gone and maybe it is time to part and start buying work pants elsewhere...
+34points
34of 34voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
hilo
Posted June 9, 2014
I agree with you Totally, Levi's were better quality years ago, but now they do not last long at all. My husband has the same problem with this brand in the crotch. Holes in that area really fast & they they are yard jeans. Will also be looking for another brand other than Levi's!!
+29points
29of 29voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jeans

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
BBRGT
from:Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
These jeans are a must buy. Super comfortable and extremely durable.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Buzzboy
Posted July 8, 2014
I dont their are holes in my Jeans and i have not even worn them
+8points
8of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jeans. Been wearing them for Years.

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Aeolus
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are my go to jeans. Have been wearing them for years. Occasionally I will try others but always come back to the 501s.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is defective

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Zajcev
from:Russia
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I wear these jeans with August 1, 2013 and see (in the pictures from the March 8, 2014) in which they are a pitiful state. Ago 7 months.
If you put in the back pocket of jeans folded white paper, then do not be surprised then, that it will turn blue.
How did ripped seams in between the legs, I can not imagine.
The splits in jeans, I do not sit down.
And I wear it at work in the office.
For jeans, I'm gently.
But the way is not dismissive attitude to the quality of the manufacture of these jeans me very upset.
It is a pity that the money has not come back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same classic 501

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
VictorT
from:NYC
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Waist feels tight and the leg opening is much smaller compared to the previous 501. The fabric feels a lot thinner and cheaper as well.
I am not at all happy with the purchase. If I didn't pay such a cheap price for it, I'd be returning it. This will be my final pair of 501 I'm buying. Too bad you guys ruined a classic!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+39points
39of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Levis 501 only in name

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Travo
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans have deteriorated in quality to the point that they should not even retain the Levis 501 name. All this has changed in the last year or so...the material is much thinner and cheaper, the fit is not the same, the leg openings are noticeably smaller, and the bottom cuff is a joke. Very disappointing. If you are buying these expecting them to be what they always were, you will be in for a rude surprise.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
VictorT
Posted December 30, 2013
I felt exactly the same! I was very disappointed with the quality of the fabric and fit. This will be my last 501.
+23points
23of 23voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Dark Stonewash
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great jeans

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
laimsas
from:Lithuania
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I wear 501 for about 20 years now. still good jeans but as someone mentioned - not as long lasting as they used to be. Gave 4 stars just for that reason
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>