Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ are the real deal. Pre 1960's, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Breaking them in by wearing and not washing them is all part of the process. They truly improve with age, becoming a second skin, perfectly fitted to your body and how you move. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
4.217 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(438 reviews) 421
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (438 reviews)
5 *
278
4 *
77
3 *
21
2 *
24
1 *
38
Recommended by:374 out of 43885% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real blue jeans

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
WYRocks
from:Wyoming, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love the denim in these jeans. AND, actually got the correct size ordered for the perfect fit--went with 1" larger in waist & 4" longer in inseam. Washed in hot water once & hung to dry. Dampened waist & butt area & wore to dry. Perfect fit. A little sandpaper to help whiskers along.Been wearing ever since. EXCELLENT!!! Go for it!!!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

look good, feel great

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
William1967
from:Eagle Point, OR 97524, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I really enjoy getting the discounts on the sturdy Levis jeans.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

these are not jeans

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
ONI352
from:San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I wear levi's because they are bullet proof, they are sturdy, they feel sturdy.
these feel like a pair of paper thin pair of slacks, these are NOT jeans.
I washed them after getting them and they shrank way too much. Will be inquiring about getting my money back as soon as i submit this review.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 button flys speak for themselves

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Kimberly6869
from:Bullhead City, AZ, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My husband has wore these 501 shrink to fit button flys since the early 80's and he refuses to wear anything else I always thought he just never wanted to evolve but honestly they are just that comfortable ..
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the same jeans, lighter, softer, less stiching.

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Tomh7977
from:Colorado
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Have been wearing original 501 shrink to fit levis since the 1960s, this current version is not the same jeans, should not be called original 501 levis. They are lighter and softer with less stitching and completely over priced, very disappointed. Levis has traded function and quality for fashion and looks. From now on I will be buying solid well made work pants and everyday wear pants from one of your top competitors, that I'm not supposed to mention here.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DD46
Posted October 7, 2014
I HAVE BEEN WEARING LEVI 501'S SINCE 1957 ,JUST CAN'T GET THAT FIT WITH ANY THING ELSE. LOVE THE WAY THEY FIT AFTER WASHING.
+13points
13of 13voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than 50 years!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Johnsmith
from:Galveston, TX, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love the fit and the buttons.can't say more but they want more.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DD46
Posted October 9, 2014
i should have added I bought my first pair with paper route money and I was hooked , have worn other 501's but prefer shrink to fit when working.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality jeans.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Jade11
from:Mountain Home, AR, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The quality and fit of these jeans is as good as they have always been. The value of lasting durability ,great fit and great price should make these jeans best sellers for years to come!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

original fit

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer avatar
jeansman1219
from:Bethel Park, PA, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Great pair of jeans. Color works with everything. Buy a waist size up. And when you do wash after many wears wash in cold water low spin.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought my first pair of 501 in 1969 Scottsbluff Ne.

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Nebraska69
from:Lucas, Texas
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
You asked for it so here it is... I have about 28 pair of 501 jeans in my closet right now. I only buy shrink to fit and I like rigid... true rigid. I have all the hard to find colors because blue has been my color for years. At 64 years old I feel like I can wear any color I want.... even the sea colored green I found. I wear 34w and 36l they always shrink just as expected but I have had 45 years of getting to know your product. Different dyes can effect the denim and that's why I like "rigid". I like them tuff for as long as possible. Since I have started to freeze clean my jeans I have set up quite a system of maintaining each of my 28 pairs perfect color, fade, and softness. Do I like your jeans...... better than my last wife!!
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nope

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Diggidy
from:SD
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I bought 3 pairs one at a time trying to get the right size after washing . First pair 30 waist hoping it would shrink to my 29 waist like tag says . They shrunk to 28 ... legs did exactly as said they would . So bought another pair this time 31 at the waist - they shrunk also to 28 . So bought another pair this time 32 - they shrunk down to 30 so they are a bit loose which i could live with - but the legs are sloppy and the side seam twists around on one leg clear to the inside of the foot . So no - i will stick to the preshrunk ones and did like the tag said ... i donated them because im finished these .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jimmy123
Posted October 5, 2014
It is unfortunate that levi has changed over the years. i depended on levi for my work jeans the 514 regular fit. Thay are lose fiting, the seems don't line up and they fit like a relax fit. i am hoping that some one in corpret will bring back the original levies that made them famis for the WORKING CLASS.
Plaese dont e mail me with adds. this customer is moving on.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Confused

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
damon216
from:Cleveland Ohio
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Bought a pair of Rigid 501's at a local retailer and JUST noticed that seams are single stitched on the inside of the leg... not double as in the images.
Also the right leg has a twist so that the outer seam turns toward the front.
Is anyone else experiencing this?
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JWildman
Posted October 2, 2014
I am also seeing a right leg twist. I've worn mine for two months now without washing/soaking and the twist started after the first month. Twist is caused by the way the denim is woven. There is an article about it at RawrDenim if you want the details. I also have some nice looking honey combs behind the knee and some minor knee pockets. I also bought the black model and have not observed any fading whatsoever. I'm planning on waiting 6 months until soaking. If there isn't any fading in the next two months, I'll buy the rigid.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

501s -- Wouldn't wear any other jean but...

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
PDJR
from:SOuth Bend, IN
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've worn shrink-to-fit 501s for over 30 years. I stopped buying them around 2003 when the yoke design on the back pocket changed dramatically and looked ridiculous to me. But, and this is the good news, within the past couple of years Levis has returned to the more traditional design on the back pocket and I'm again buying 501s. I used to be able to find 34 or 35 waist and 40 length jeans (to wear with boots), but, for some reason I can't figure out, Levis hasn't made available 40 length shrink-to-fit in either 34 or 35 wait sizes. 40 length is available with 36 waist, but that's too big for me. What's the deal? Previously, if I couldn't find 40 length or the store was out of them, I'd by 501 pre-shrunk jeans in 36 length which worked just as well, but now Levis doesn't make 36 length available for 35 waist. Again, what's the deal?
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
AnneMar
Posted October 15, 2014
My boyfriend regularly wears 34W x 38L....what size do you think I should buy him if I'm trying to get the shrink to fit??
If you can suggest another place to buy jeans this long I would appreciate it.
I have tried big and tall stores but when the length goes up so does the waist..
Thanks!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Missmy501s
Posted September 18, 2014
33x40 shrink to fit just fits better than 32x36 preshrunk by far. I still have a couple pair left from 15 years ago. I try not to wear them too often so they'll last, maybe till Levi's starts producing them again…
When I put them on, to feels like I'm putting on MY pants, the ones that just fit right, you know?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
dogcatcher
Posted September 15, 2014
Bring back the 38" and 40" lengths in the smaller waist sizes! I see that I am not the only one asking for this, your jeans are too short now.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Iffling57
Posted September 11, 2014
i've been wearing shrink to fit since the 7th grade. (took that long to fit into them) we use to break 'em in, wearing 'em into a super hot bathtub..let 'em dry ON YOU! actually, i'm 57 and still bream 'em in that way.. i graduated from HS in '75 and still wear 32 38...here's the rub folks...ya use to be able to get 32 40...who wants high waters? plus the denum isn't as thick...doesn't matter though...
i'll wear 501's til i die...
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 13 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thin material

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Duffy
from:Oregon
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I used to wear 501's all the time. Years passed and just bought a new pair. Surprised at how thin the denim is. I can see light through them. LEVIS- Please return to heavy duty hard working pants and make them in USA not over seas. I'm now looking to buy American made sturdy pants.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
puffie
Posted September 14, 2014
12.5 ounces had been typical of Levi's 501's for a long time. During the 60's and 70's they used 12 ounce denim.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
adornments
Posted September 6, 2014
what happened to the signature series blue jeans?? I really hate those stretchy light weight thin skinny jeans. U guys used to have quality jeans. I guess you think going with the trend is good. But what about us old school people whom got us used to the best we are still out there and hate these skinny strechy things u call blue jeans. theyre merely just another pair of pants not jeans!! We want our blue jeans back. all who agree write in. until then I'll be looking at another brand.
+11points
11of 11voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality has gone down...down...down...so...soooooo sad!!!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
SAD501owner
from:Minnesota
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Oh Levi's!!! I've worn Levi's my whole life and really don't want to find a new brand! I can't afford to replace poorly manufactured jeans for myself and family every six months!! Please bring back your quality denim from the 50's-80's!! STF jeans are the best jeans ever when the quality is strong! SHORT strand cotton= thin denim. Please go back to your 14oz fabric! I've been completely loyal for 40+ years...heck, my dad even sold Levi's as a sales rep in the 70's!! My fingers are crossed, but my brain is not hopeful that anything will be done. Brand loyalty should still mean something to manufacturers!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
adornments
Posted September 8, 2014
Sad 501 Owner - Amen, We want our heavy 99% cotton blue jeans back!! All who agree. SAY SO AND LET THEM KNOW !!!!!!
+27points
27of 27voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't buy anything else

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Losman
from:California, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I, like most people grew up wearing Levi's jeans. I have never had a pair of jeans that did not like or was dissatifiedwith. I wore them when I did laborer work and my jeans out lasted eveyone else's. Even now I will go years between jeans because the hold up and live up to the name and quality. That may be the only draw back I have ever had with Levi's Jeans is that they do last and I don't need to buy new pair very often. Stay with 501 shrink to fit and you may never have to buy another pair of jeans. I have four pair in three colors and they still look like new. God knows I live in them.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

new 501's

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
DonaldHSmith
from:Capitan, NM 88316, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
My biggest complaint about my new 501's is how much they shrink. I've washed them in cold water and hung dried them but they shrank like they were washed in hot water and dried. My second complaint is lack of sizes for us skinny long legged folks. I've worn various waste sizes over the years ranging from a 32 waist to a 35 waist but I've bought a the same 40 length since I was 16(I've worn 501's even longer). I'm now 56 and can only get a 38 length which are 2 inches to short. By the time the jean has faded to a nice light blue they will be 4 inches to short. Not good. The last pair I bought in a 34 inch waist was to big so I bought a 33 which are a bit to tight. Go figure. Overall the pants fit and feel good. Please bring back the 40 inch length. Especially since yall have gone to the less or no water deal. It will be impossible to wear them with boots. I hate pants that are to short. It's ridiculous to expect us to wear our jeans without washing them so the size stays true. Some people work for a living and have to wash their clothes regularly. 501's use to be a working man's jean not a fashion statement. Return to those days.
I recommend this product!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
clevenger
Posted November 6, 2014
It is very frustrating that there is no longer a 40 length available! This is sad. Because of this, Levi's is missing out on a great market directed toward working men. I am a cattle rancher and I need the extra length! You just cannot ride without your pants rising up when they are so short! Please bring back longer jeans! Please agree with me so something will change. My grandad wore 501 jeans. I want to as well!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
AnneMar
Posted October 15, 2014
Hi,
My bf is really tall and skinny and I can't find anywhere that carries jeans long enough to fit him and this shrink to fit jeans sounds like it would never be big enough for him and he likes to wash his jeans like you said. If there is any place you can recommend Please let me know!
Thanks =)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Chloe501
Posted July 30, 2014
I've been wearing Levi's 501's for 60 years. I used to wear them exclusively. For some years now they are not suitable for work as they no longer wear well. Perhaps you'd consider returning to the quality product you once produced. As we share a common name I'd appreciate a higher quality product.
My surname is Levi.
+17points
17of 17voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
screamer
Posted July 27, 2014
I agree totally with needing 40 " inseam for smaller waist sizes (down to 28 " waist at a minimum).
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 17 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Mac206
from:Seattle
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I guess my first post was too honest and was pulled. Poor quality and construction. Should have read the reviews before I bought new 501's and would have chosen another Brand. Thinner material with less stitching and hems than the pairs from a few years ago. You want to stay in business??? You may want to read some of these reviews and take them to heart. I will not be purchasing another pair for me or my family.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iconic

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Lexxccc
from:North Carolina
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Absolutely the most American jeans you can purchase. The way all jeans should be.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The classic.The best.

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Dany61
from:Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
If I need a great jean,I buy a 501.It´s an excellent product that is possible to get all over the world.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

slipping quality

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
joeshmo77
Age: 35 - 39
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
these jeans are getting bad. material is thinner/lighter than a year ago. they took away the double stitch inseam. cheap. wont buy again. done with levis. bye.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+61points
61of 61voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Levilandlord
Posted June 25, 2014
If Levis want to start to sell jeans again.I suggest they go back to making the original shrink to fit with the heavy weight core mill denim.
I brought my first pair in UK back in late 60,s 502.0117 zip fly.
then by 70,s into 501.0117 button fly. Never really liked the pre washed Levis that came next never fitted as well as STF,s.
When I saw they were making SFT,s again I brought a pair.
Biggest disappointment ever. The denim is thin and don't shrink like the original Denim.
LEVIS IF YOU WANT TO TAKE THE JEANS MARKET BACK GO BACK TO BASICS. MAKE LEVIS THAT ARE WANTED.Forget fashion statements.
Produce your Quality Originals and you will take back your market place As Number one in jeans world.
+49points
49of 49voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Dan501
Posted April 25, 2014
This is why I came here...to find out if what I just found in a new pair of 501 Levis is the ' norm' . Evidently, it is. No double-stiched inseam...not good. Material is thinner AND a few loose ends here and there. Shoddy workmanship that was not a trademark of Levi's previously.
I may be shopping for sturdier jeans elsewhere. Sad. I've worn Levi's for 40 years or more.
+90points
90of 90voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>