Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ are the real deal. Pre 1960's, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Breaking them in by wearing and not washing them is all part of the process. They truly improve with age, becoming a second skin, perfectly fitted to your body and how you move. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
4.193 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(455 reviews) 438
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (455 reviews)
5 *
287
4 *
79
3 *
21
2 *
26
1 *
42
Recommended by:385 out of 45585% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in my latest 501s

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Philbert
from:Wiesbaden, Germany
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Looks like the first of a new batch. Lighter fabric, single leg seam. Most of all completely weird dye. Seems to be wearing in a spiderweb pattern (see attached photo). I religiously turn jeans inside out prior to washing....but maybe the new low water washer/dryer is to blame? After fifty years of wearing 501 shrink to fits the latest pair is very poor. Saddens me to have to write such a negative review! Seems like Levi should care more about this classic product. I'll try another couple times before searching for an alternate jean....what a drag!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ordered a bit too big

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
jwrezz
from:07054
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
My measured waist is 41.5. The pants I normally wear are 36-38 depending. I figured I'd order my actual waist, and 2" longer. 42x36. They were big! I wore them with a belt for a week. In stead of all the various instructions for raw denim, I washed them on the "sanitary" (super hot) cycle on my washer and dryed most of the way in the dryer. Wore till dry. They fit loosely, but nicely! I haven't had 501's for so long, and boy is it great to have them on again!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lane53
Posted January 28, 2015
They will continue to shrink in length as you wash and dry them in the dryer. But, if you bought the extra length to start, they should end up the correct length and enjoyable to wear.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long way from home

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
surfnut
from:Venice, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I remember the days of a leather label on my Levis 501 STFs, when the red tag had a capital E and the outside seam was selvedge-edged. Those jeans would take forever to wear out... even with repeated washings.
Sadly the quality keeps going down. I would pay more, a lot more to be able to buy those jeans again. I found a dealer who carries your reproductions, but they are cost ridiculous, not just prohibitive. Wish Levis would live ip to their old standards and make in the USA again.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait so long ???

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Rangedog
from:Central California
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I lived in 501’s during my high school years. Fast forward 40 years. I just purchased a pair of 501’s a month ago and I couldn’t be happier. These are by far the most comfortable jeans I own. I will be buying another pair soon!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Less "rigid" unfortunately

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Drew2
from:Austin, TX
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Very sad to write this review as have been a big fan of the 501 shrink to fits for I don't know, 20 years. The quality on a pair from 3 years ago seemed to have gone down slightly, but the poor quality of this most recent pair I purchased last month is more noticeable. The denim is thinner. Much thinner. My belt now rides up over the the label on the waist line. Never happened before. So will see how these ultimately work out, but suspect I will be spending more money for custom jeans elsewhere in the future.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loyal to Levi 501 Shrink to Fit Jeans

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
weluvrkritters
from:Pocatello, ID, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
We have always bought the Levi 501 shrink to fit jeans. My Dad used to buy them too. I am a bit disappointed in the fact they seem not to be as heavy as they used to but they still hold up well. The price is too high but I got them during a Christmas special so worked out well. Good tuff rugged button fly and a name you can trust! Loyal to Levi 501 shrink to fit jeans.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love my 501's Shrink to fit .

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
JBonds
from:Oklahoma, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Ive been wearing 501 shrink to fit since the early sixties , my dad who just died at 100 yrs of age had been wearing them since the twentys , or earlier . the new style are weak in the crotches and knees , but i work in them , live in them , and would not wear any thing else . I have black ones , white ones , for nights out and , funerals and so on , I just wish the ridge cut 501's would go back to the original cuts and toughness , but for me , i will always wear my 501's shrink to fit regardless . love my 501'S
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Standard

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
JoshuaTreeNights
from:Joshua Tree, CA 92252, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
Levi's should remember that in a sea of wannabes the 501 Shrink-to-Fit Rigid and the people who wear them are what gives Authenticity to the Brand and they should remember it well!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go Buckeyes

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
V20144102
from:OH - IO
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I wear a 29W30L in the 514 and 505. In the non stf 501s I wear a 30x30 so I went ahead and ordered a 30x32 in the stf. As expected, there's a little more room in the waist that I would like, but will be a perfect fit after the soak and shrinkage. High quality jeans and can't wait to see what they look like by summer.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Fitting Pair of Levi's

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
dnomyar
from:PA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
As instructed on Levi's site, I bought STF jeans that were 3" longer in length and 1" longer in waist than usually worn. I was a little apprehensive. After trying them on to see that they were indeed too loose everwhere I soaked them inside-out in hot water in the washer for about 1 hour, let them spin dry in washer, and then tumbled them without heat in the dryer for 10-20 minutes. After wearing them damp for about one hour I hung them to dry.They were still a little loose so I repeated the above. They now fit perfect and remind me of the Levi's that I used to get many, many years ago before pre-shrinking (sanforization). After shrinking and wearing the for a week or two, they are now my go-to jeans.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rigid Jeans

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
olderjeanswearer2
from:Columbus, Mansfield, NJ, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
As always very pleased with my purchase. Still wish they were American made.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wimpier again

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Micajah
from:Plymouth, Mass
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Levi's had changed the 501 STF rigid jeans again. The hem is about half as wide as it has always been causing the bottoms to roll up. Also the rugged double stitch on the inside of leg is gone. These pants are no longer rugged work jeans like they used to be.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

So much for keeping it true to the "Original"

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
DCmoonshine
from:Inland Empire, Ca
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been buying and wearing Levi's 501 shrink to fit jeans since 1981. I usually buy them in batches of 4-6 pairs at a time, So I only have buy new jeans every 2-3 years. The last bunch I bought were great. I just bought a batch of 4 pairs and I am not sure that I will buy Levi's again. The quality seems to have gone down on the construction of the jeans. My guess is to make it cheaper for Levi's to manufacture them. They are already not made in the USA, but now cutting corners on the way they are made is disappointing to say the least. They do shrink the same but the way they come out of the wash is terrible. All wrinkled and creased that leave fade lines in the fabric that will never fade into the jeans. The double reinforced inseam is now a cheaper single seam that just doesn't even look good. The leg hem is smaller and isn't what it used to look like.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Robbot
Posted December 21, 2014
I compared these to my levis vintage clothing 1947 501 and the inside seam is the same, compared to a pair i bought 5 yrs ago, there is a difference, like u said there is a double seam. If you arent familiar with levis manufacturing techniques u truly cant judge on looks alone. Wear the jeans, beat them up torture them, let that be the deciding factor. I've never been let down by a pair of 501s and since I bought my pair of stfs i havent worn another pair, I love them.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
PSguy
Posted December 12, 2014
I bought a pair of shrink-to-fit 501 jeans, true size waist, 2"longer. I wore them without washing the first 2 months, then rinsed them with a garden hose and wore them until dry. PERFECT fit! Do not put them in a washer or dryer, they will come out wrinkled and color will be just a mess. If you have done that, you might be able to make them look better by wearing them wet, let them dry while wearing them ( Weather in Palm Springs is perfect for that ), the use sandpaper to even out the color.
I agree on the quality going down !
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these jeans!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
randi
from:Oregon, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
these jeans are not as heavy as the old 501 shrink to fit that I used to get for my husband, but they are heavier than anything else out there and the construction is still very solid. I am very pleased and so is my husband as nothing fits like Levi 501's!!!
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stripes? Really?

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Nitro
from:Atascadero, CA, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have purchased Levi 501's STF from several retailers over a period of 50+ years and lately have been disappointed each time. The price keeps going up, and the quality keeps going down. Every pair that I have bought have been cared for as directed. They have stripes and ridges going every which way. No amount of anything gets the stripes to go away and the ridges to be less visible.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
john64
Posted November 28, 2014
Now Im afraid to buy these, rather than find some in a store to check them first, the last few pairs I bought several years back were great, I got the my usual length but 1" larger waist, put them in a stream for a few hours put them on wet and wore them til they dried, no problem. But after hearing about the thinner material not to mention the price up quality down issue, Im not sure I want to bother replacing my old ones. I will look for a local retailer here in Rochester, NY before placing an order.
+16points
16of 16voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

material is thin and cheap

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
JennieG1
from:Auburn Indiana
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Washed jeans and followed instructions. Came out of washer so wrinkled that I hung one pair to line dry. The two that went into dryer(according to directions) came out horridly wrinkled. I have bought these jeans for my hubby for many many years and never been so disgusted! I do not iron jeans, but these need hours of ironing! The line dried jeans had fewer wrinkles but not what I have come to expect! Terrible product, thin flimsy! Described as rough rugged, more like thin and wrinkly!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jeans

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Trickycopter
from:Tulsa Ok
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
when buying shrink to fit I get 1 size bigger in the waist and 2 in the length works great for the way I like to wear my 501.s the most comfortable jean I have ever put on.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real blue jeans

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
WYRocks
from:Wyoming, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love the denim in these jeans. AND, actually got the correct size ordered for the perfect fit--went with 1" larger in waist & 4" longer in inseam. Washed in hot water once & hung to dry. Dampened waist & butt area & wore to dry. Perfect fit. A little sandpaper to help whiskers along.Been wearing ever since. EXCELLENT!!! Go for it!!!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

look good, feel great

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
William1967
from:Eagle Point, OR 97524, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I really enjoy getting the discounts on the sturdy Levis jeans.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

these are not jeans

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
ONI352
from:San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I wear levi's because they are bullet proof, they are sturdy, they feel sturdy.
these feel like a pair of paper thin pair of slacks, these are NOT jeans.
I washed them after getting them and they shrank way too much. Will be inquiring about getting my money back as soon as i submit this review.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>