Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ are the real deal. Most denim comes pre-shrunk, but our Shrink-To-Fit™ jeans do just what it says. Made from raw denim, they form to your unique body and movements over time. For the old school technique, buy your true size in the waist and go two sizes up in length. Wear them in your bathtub and keep them on to dry.
Overall rating:
4.172 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(466 reviews) 449
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (466 reviews)
5 *
291
4 *
81
3 *
22
2 *
27
1 *
45
Recommended by:392 out of 46684% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not durable

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
notolevis
from:San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I thought that Levis were supposed to last almost forever. I took care of them as directed, washed only as needed, and followed the shrink to fit regimen. After 1.5 years of wearing them in a rotation with my other clothes, the inseam ripped out. They had just started to "age" the way that I wanted them to. Definitely an inferior product. I have dress slacks that last(ed) much longer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a variation on a theme

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
PunaDave
from:Houston, TX, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
as others have stated...take your normal size and add 1 inch to the waist and 2 inches to the length. Grab a belt and roll up the cuffs then wear them UNWASHED for a day or so (maybe on a weekend when you're at home). Let them soak in the hottest water you can obtain for at least 30 min. then let them hang dry until damp. Then wear them until completely dry (this helps the shrink-to-fit process).
The product...the quality of denim isn't as robust as I remember from my youth. The hem is MUCH smaller too.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Might just b my last pair of Levi shrink to fit 501

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Patsarge
from:Fallon, NV
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Started wearing Levis in the early 50s. Have worn them all my life with no exceptions they were 501'shrink to fits. The quality of the jeans has pretty much sunk to a level that no longer compares to what I grew up wearing. The material is not nearly what I was accustomed to over the years. No one carries them locally that will fit anyone over 6' tall so they have to be ordered and they are no heavier than anything else made at 1/2 the price...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 are the boss !

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer avatar
BSHAW
from:Mckinney, Texas
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Been wearing 501 since 1965! I switch back and forth from shrink to fit, and regular 501.
The trucker jacket is my 5th. Lost some and got fatter. Lol.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Inferior materials

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer avatar
zevb
from:Rockville MD
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have been purchasing these jeans for years and they always held up after multiple washes. The prior pairs I had lasted for close to 4 years. Suddenly this pair wore out almost immediately and the knees became paper thin. Inferior denim, more expensive and rear pocket was moved lower.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flashbacks

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer avatar
MilesA
from:Maine, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I recently decided to get a pair of the shrink to fit 501's Rigid and see how they are being made now. I wore these all through high school back in the early 70's and loved the heck out of 'em. After ordering them the recommended size allowing for shrinkage and receiving them I did the routine I use to do. I washed them in cold water then hung them to dry for a couple of hours and then while still a little wet I wore them around for a couple of hours. This worked exactly like it did all those years ago. So the pants worked out great, excellent color and are extremely comfortable and I want to order another pair but paying for shipping now is just wrong!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Classic Jeans!

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Waxxer
from:Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've been a Levi wearer all my life. I've heard several different Shrink-to-fit 501 rituals through the years. I got my first pair when I was 13 and used a method my sister told me to use. I still do the same today. I buy mine 1" bigger at the waist, and 2" longer in length. Currently I wear 33x30 (34x32 stf size). To size my 501s I place them in the washer on hot and let them go through the was cycle and the first spin. Then I take them out and wear them wet until they cool. If I don't feel they've shrunk enough I sit with them on in a hot bathtub. This has always given me a perfect fit. I generally, only spot clean my shrink to fit jeans. On the rare occasion that they go into the washer, I use only cold water and I line dry as heat will tend to make the fibers constrict thus making the jeans shrink.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shrink to fit are what they do !!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Dago
from:Clearwater Florida
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I love to buy the shrink to fir 301s as they will conform to the fit I LOVE every time. They come a little larger than your size so you may want to get a larger waist size to feel comfortable!
Love MY 301s
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The shrink to fit legend

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Skidsolo
from:Rochester NY
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Not as rigid as I recall from back in the day. I had a girlfriend buy a pair in the 70's and they could be stood up on their own after drip drying!
These are not as deep blue as I expected but I think the indigo will bleed more as they are washed.
I should have sized up more on the waist and less on the leg. I did three inches extra on the leg and none on the waist.
I have never bought any other brand, the sight of those 501's in the store window at sixteen will never leave me, even though I could not afford them at the time.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
tom007
from:Hollywood Fl
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
First wash, waist shrunk 2 inches, same with length, had to give them away.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Stiche
Posted March 4, 2015
They're supposed to shrink that much!
They are shrink-to-fit jeans.
+26points
26of 26voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring back the double-stitched inseam and the original hem

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
AdamInChicago
from:Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
I've worn Levi's all my life. They are still great jeans, and I will continue to buy and wear them. However, they call these jeans "the real deal" in the product description, yet they are no longer built with the "real deal" design.
I am giving the new model of shrink to fits one star because Levi's has changed the design to include only a single stitched inseam and a correspondingly small hem. Given that the shrink to fits are all about capturing the classic Levi's style, they should be styled like the originals.
I have two pairs of shrink to fits, one which I purchased in 2013 and one which I purchased last week. Both are made in Egypt and are of a good and sturdy quality. However, my 2013 Levi's feature the original double stitched inseam and the original style hem while my new pair has only a single stitched inseam and a much smaller hem. This takes away from the classic look of the jeans.
If this was a review for my 2013 Levi's only, then I would give at least 4 stars out of 5. Please bring back the double stitched inseam and original hem!
Of course I would also like to see a return to an American-made product, but I realize that it is cost-prohibitive in today's market, and most of the company's offerings will consist of a foreign-made product. The high-quality American-made Levi's raw jeans are still available, but at a very premium price from Levi's Vintage Collection. I have noticed a market trend towards purchasing smaller volumes of higher quality items rather than a higher volumes of cheaper items, especially in men's wear. Hopefully Levi's will recognize this trend and expand its U.S. production so they may offer a less expensive American-Made pair of jeans in the future. I won't hold my breath, and I don't blame Levi's at all for this issue, but it would be a great change to see.
I recommend this product!
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in my latest 501s

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Philbert
from:Wiesbaden, Germany
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Looks like the first of a new batch. Lighter fabric, single leg seam. Most of all completely weird dye. Seems to be wearing in a spiderweb pattern (see attached photo). I religiously turn jeans inside out prior to washing....but maybe the new low water washer/dryer is to blame? After fifty years of wearing 501 shrink to fits the latest pair is very poor. Saddens me to have to write such a negative review! Seems like Levi should care more about this classic product. I'll try another couple times before searching for an alternate jean....what a drag!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ordered a bit too big

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
jwrezz
from:07054
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
My measured waist is 41.5. The pants I normally wear are 36-38 depending. I figured I'd order my actual waist, and 2" longer. 42x36. They were big! I wore them with a belt for a week. In stead of all the various instructions for raw denim, I washed them on the "sanitary" (super hot) cycle on my washer and dryed most of the way in the dryer. Wore till dry. They fit loosely, but nicely! I haven't had 501's for so long, and boy is it great to have them on again!
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lane53
Posted January 28, 2015
They will continue to shrink in length as you wash and dry them in the dryer. But, if you bought the extra length to start, they should end up the correct length and enjoyable to wear.
+6points
6of 6voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long way from home

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
surfnut
from:Venice, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I remember the days of a leather label on my Levis 501 STFs, when the red tag had a capital E and the outside seam was selvedge-edged. Those jeans would take forever to wear out... even with repeated washings.
Sadly the quality keeps going down. I would pay more, a lot more to be able to buy those jeans again. I found a dealer who carries your reproductions, but they are cost ridiculous, not just prohibitive. Wish Levis would live ip to their old standards and make in the USA again.
I recommend this product!
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait so long ???

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Rangedog
from:Central California
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I lived in 501’s during my high school years. Fast forward 40 years. I just purchased a pair of 501’s a month ago and I couldn’t be happier. These are by far the most comfortable jeans I own. I will be buying another pair soon!
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Less "rigid" unfortunately

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Drew2
from:Austin, TX
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Very sad to write this review as have been a big fan of the 501 shrink to fits for I don't know, 20 years. The quality on a pair from 3 years ago seemed to have gone down slightly, but the poor quality of this most recent pair I purchased last month is more noticeable. The denim is thinner. Much thinner. My belt now rides up over the the label on the waist line. Never happened before. So will see how these ultimately work out, but suspect I will be spending more money for custom jeans elsewhere in the future.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loyal to Levi 501 Shrink to Fit Jeans

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
weluvrkritters
from:Pocatello, ID, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
We have always bought the Levi 501 shrink to fit jeans. My Dad used to buy them too. I am a bit disappointed in the fact they seem not to be as heavy as they used to but they still hold up well. The price is too high but I got them during a Christmas special so worked out well. Good tuff rugged button fly and a name you can trust! Loyal to Levi 501 shrink to fit jeans.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love my 501's Shrink to fit .

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
JBonds
from:Oklahoma, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Ive been wearing 501 shrink to fit since the early sixties , my dad who just died at 100 yrs of age had been wearing them since the twentys , or earlier . the new style are weak in the crotches and knees , but i work in them , live in them , and would not wear any thing else . I have black ones , white ones , for nights out and , funerals and so on , I just wish the ridge cut 501's would go back to the original cuts and toughness , but for me , i will always wear my 501's shrink to fit regardless . love my 501'S
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Standard

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
JoshuaTreeNights
from:Joshua Tree, CA 92252, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
Levi's should remember that in a sea of wannabes the 501 Shrink-to-Fit Rigid and the people who wear them are what gives Authenticity to the Brand and they should remember it well!
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go Buckeyes

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
V20144102
from:OH - IO
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I wear a 29W30L in the 514 and 505. In the non stf 501s I wear a 30x30 so I went ahead and ordered a 30x32 in the stf. As expected, there's a little more room in the waist that I would like, but will be a perfect fit after the soak and shrinkage. High quality jeans and can't wait to see what they look like by summer.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>