Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women

501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women

Designed in raw selvedge denim, properly and authentically made on vintage looms, for clean edges, fine detail and enduring design that ages with perfection—we like to cuff them to show off those self-finished edges—cut in a universal fit that's straight through the hip and thigh.
Overall rating:
3.56 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (25 reviews)
5 *
7
4 *
6
3 *
8
2 *
2
1 *
2
Recommended by:18 out of 2572% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Review 1 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

501 selvedge jeans

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
PonyLady
from:Boston, MA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I found the fabric of these jeans to be stiff, rough and attracted lint. The fit is snug with no stretch at all. Am wondering if "selvedge" is a certain kind of denim.. it seems very tightly woven. Thought washing and hanging dry might soften them.. didn't. I can wear them until late afternoon but when I want to lounge and be comfortable after supper, they are just too tight. Would have ordered the next size up but the sizing stops at 32W. I would not recommend this color because of the stiff fabric and definitely feel that larger sizes should be offered.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality, Nice Fit

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Thalia14
from:South Carolina, USA
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The quality of the jean is great, I liked the fact the fabric is light weight. The fit was also great , Although I would of liked that the pant came in the 30 inch length for shorter people, and a little bit more tapered maybe?...
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Susanelaine
from:Sacramento, CA, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Looked and looked for good old cotton jeans as I am tired of the ones with spandex that are always tight in all the wrong places. Hunting for new jeans is a nightmare! I ordered two pairs in different sizes as I was unsure which to order. Kept the pair that fit and returned the other. (Returning was easy!) I am short so they are long but rolling up your jeans is in style so I am set to go. Love them... love them. Definitely worth the price!
I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

button fly is the way to go

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Teky
from:Naples, Florida
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Repeat: Why only up to 32 W for ladies 501 jeans? Why not to 38W, or at least, 36W. Have always worn 501s and always had to purchase mens sizes. What is up with that?
I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute Jeans but Too "Skinny"

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
LuLu46
from:Idaho
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I found these jeans true to size, not too big at all like the other reviews mentioned. I think it's important to order your actual waist size not the new "low-rise" waist that we have become accustomed too. I am 5'5" and weigh 127. I'm wearing the size 29 which is about an 8, and I expected them to be roomy. They are not. I think these jeans would be great for someone looking for a skinny fit, but I would not call them a true roomy boyfriend cut. I was looking for a pair of jeans that would be like the old-school 501 shrink to fit jeans that I really used to steal from my boyfriend. These are a sort of adaptation. Also, the denim was a thinner quality than I remember the old 501's to be. I was disappointed, although I think women looking for a more modern fit would like these.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sizing all wrong

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
AZSnowbird
from:MA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
Great jeans (quality, look and feel), but sizing is way off. Ordered two pairs of 28W x 32L and although it was labeled correctly, the actual waist measured 32 inches. No confidence that a reorder will have correct sizing. These are going back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HUGE

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Ellamae
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
I'm close to spending more on shipping than on the jeans! They run huge. I'm waiting for the next pair to arrive and hopefully they will fit. I'm not a 26.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

An Icon Smashed

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
bootycut
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
The denim on this jeans is beautiful and soft, but to call these jeans 501 is a travesty. Probably the sizing is meant to be an ego boost --wow, my waist has gone down 2 inches since I was 19 and weighted 105 lbs! But really what I need are jeans that fit like real 501s. My butt is one of the few things in my life that doesn't need to relax. Boo!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, classic jean; runs large

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
AlliM
from:Asheville
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I love the classic lines of the 501 and was excited that these were available in a dark rinse (the light wash is too '80s for me). These are *not* as high-waisted as the 501s of the 80s. On me, they hit just below the belly button. Still, after years of super-low waists, it took a little getting used to.
Other reviewers mentioned they ran big and stretched with wear. I ordered a size down. They were tight at first but have since conformed and have quickly become my go-to jeans. The red thread on the seam, that shows when you cuff them, is a great detail.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
hipster
Posted July 30, 2014
my question to you is this: they were tight and then loosened up? just asking because they fit perfect except for the top button which is tight - thinking of sending them back unless they will loosen up with wear.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501® Jeans for Women - Dark

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
kleenr
from:NH
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Had to return this size. Just a little too snug. But absolutely am going to love the next size up....which is on order! Thank you for bringing back " real jeans"! No spandex or stretch! Not too low either to help with the muffin top...we are not all twenty somethings but still want to look good in our jeans!
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfy and good fit

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
akbreezo
from:Alaska
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are a good jean for me because I have a small waist but larger thighs. The straight cut works well for this. They are not the same jeans they were a few years ago, but they are still the best thing going.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501's Jeans for Women-Dark

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Okiegirl
from:New Mexico, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought a pair of 501's 24w in cut-offs and love them. Also have the curve jeans. I'm now hoping that the 24w-32l will work in the dark for women. I hope that they will fit. I've been wanting a pair of 501's for so long. I had a pair years ago during my college days and worn them out. I loved them so much. But up until now had been unable to get a 501 size that would fit. I have my fingers crossed that these will fit the bill.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fits just right

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
60thundergirl
from:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love the fact that the jeans have a higher rise, the length and fit is perfect too. I am a little disappointed in the quality of the denim considering how much they cost, I sadly remember when Levis used to use better quality denim. But overall I am pleased with the fit and they look great on.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wearing them Raw!

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Basylica
from:Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I currently wear a pair of slight curve fitID jeans in a size 27 (4) and they fit snug but after a day or two wear they are hanging off me. I have been wanting a pair of denim to wear "raw" and I wanted buttonfly and had fingers crossed these would fit the bill. the 28s fit SUPER snug (i'm rocking some muffin top with pants fully buttoned) but I can easily wear the top button undone and they are quite comfy. I plan on wearing them for 6-12 months without washing, so I wanted them to fit small so they would stretch and stay on me. I think these are the perfect size. However if I was washing and wearing these like normal jeans i'd probably have had to buy 29 or 30s. So either my slight curves fit HUGE or these fit really small.
The dark denim is a nice heavy weight, non stretch, buttonfly which is exactally what I wanted. Only complaint I have is wishing they made them in a 34 inseam. the 32s run a bit long I think (normally 32s are too short) and I think as the denim stretches I'll gain the extra inch or so I desire. If a 34" inseam was available I'd probably buy 4 pairs to hang onto incase I couldn't find them again :)
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

i just love them

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Pinklove
from:Wellston, OK 74881, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
they only jeans that fit me right, but some times the sizes are a bit off
the first pair size 24/32 were perfect the second same size were way too small, the next two i got are size 25/32 they fit just a bit big tho
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

these don't fit!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
nubianqueen
from:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
This is the 3rd attempt I've made to get a pair of Levi's buttonfly jeans... w/o any success again. These jeans- 31W x 32L- were big @ the waist with a lot of extra material in the front- not a good look; so I tried to order 1 size down but only the 29W x 32L was available & those were too small! I give up! I have good memories of wearing Levi's buttonfly jeans but that seems to be all in the past... it is what it is, I guess!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable pair of jean.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Jif48
from:Michigan
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
Runs big in the seat and thighs. Rise seems higher than on 501 have had in past. Material also not as heavy.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Women with Small Waists and Long Legs

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer avatar
clotheshorse3000
from:Connecticut/Massachusetts
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Jeans are a very personal thing and all women look different in them. However, if you're on the taller side (I'm 5' 8") and have a high waist that is nipped in (mine is 30") and fuller hips (39 1/2") and an average bottom, then these jeans will more than likely flatter you, especially if your legs are thicker in the thighs and taper toward the ankles. I get compliments on how these jeans look because they fit close to my body and I wear them rolled at the ankles to really play up the slim fit. Rolling them is very preppy and these jeans in this wash are very classic. Also, these fit well in the waist, though I do wear a belt and they don't slide so low that my butt shows when I sit. Because of my high waist, they come to just below my navel and are by no means "mom jeans." I'm in my 40s and they look very hip, but classic.
I recommend this product!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HauteBOhemianChick
Posted March 25, 2014
what size did you get? I have very similar measurements...thanks!
+7points
7of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

White not really white...more a cream color.

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
lovetheseventies
from:San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I like the fit although it is higher than I expected. I am very disappointed in the color. I thought I was ordering white but they are more a cream color. As they are already here, I may end up keeping them. I haven't really decided yet.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 501® Original Selvedge Jeans for Women
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 100% Cotton Jean

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
SomeSunshine
from:Connecticut, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I'm a young (26 year old) woman with a spandex allergy - finding true 100% cotton jeans is next to impossible...Aside from these Levi's 501s, the only other 100% cotton jeans out there either have "stylish" rips or are baggy and look like Mom Jeans! These are great fitting - they are straight leg and look good with flats, heals, and work with boots too. The dark denim rinse goes with everything and is polished enough to pull off at work or as a dressier look. They do have a slightly higher waist and button fly - neither would be my first choice - but the pockets are placed well and the higher waist keeps the look clean and prevents any gapping in the back.
I honestly would have bought these even if I didn't need to because of the allergy - they are a great quality jean with a classic look. Needless to say, I now have a bunch of pairs and I'm not sure what I would do without these jeans!
About myself: I am on the petite/slim side, 120 lbs, 5'3" and I order a size 26. On the model the jeans look more baggy like boyfriend jeans, but on me they look fitted (but not tight) ...I could size up if I was looking for more of a boyfriend jean look.
I recommend this product!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cspear5
Posted August 9, 2014
Thank you for your post. I have just developed an allergy to disperse blue dye and these are the only jeans I have found that don't use this dye. I am going to order a pair and see how they fit but I'm so glad you like them. I hope they work for me. I can't imagine a world with no blue jeans!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>