Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold

Ride, live, and work in the same pair of shorts. Designed for the urban cyclist, our 511™ Slim Commuter Shorts provide greater convenience, safety, mobility, and protection no matter how you roll. View our new Commuter collection.
Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (11 reviews)
5 *
6
4 *
1
3 *
0
2 *
2
1 *
2
Recommended by:7 out of 1164% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Review 1 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
SlickE
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Love the style. The model in the shot makes it look like there's a bit of room in the thigh. That's not the case. I don't have big legs and they are pretty form fitting.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Read the reviews and you'll walk away with something great.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
AndyA
from:Portland, ME
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
The commuter line is really great and I've sworn off buying normal pants and shorts from now on. Already pleased with previous purchases I bought these and the blue shorts and I couldn't be more pleased. The material is really soft and doesn't chafe which is handy because you cycling in them. They are extremely flexible its crazy, they behave like spandex. They look and feel great. Now, if you've read this review, no doubt you've read others and you'll know that these run too small. With this is in mind I went TWO sizes up and it was perfect. I couldn't imagine buying my normal size and actually fitting. I'm a size 31 normally and got a 33 and it's perfect this way, with adequate leg room and no pressure on the waist but still doesn't sag. Also a lot of people have complained that it isn't waterproof, well they're right. I was reading the features tag on the actual shorts, not the site, and they mention nothing of the water repellent technology. Also they didn't have all the extra tags that my other purchases had when they were water resistant. I think its safe to say there is a mistake on the website and these shorts don't actually have this feature. Why am I not mad? Because after buying so many Commuter line products you'll know that this feature is slightly temporary and that resistant coat will wash away with time, and not a lot of time at that. So you dont have the water resistance but they still dry faster then normal cotton so I'm pleased. And if these shorts don't do that it still doesn't detract from the product as a whole and I highly recommend getting them.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Waterproof :[

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
thyumfundisi
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
My first pair of the 511 commuter shorts were not waterproof so I was given a second pair in the mail, and they still ended up not being waterproof. Perhaps it was just a whole batch of cloth not getting coated, but very disappointing. My other commuter jeans [indigo, grey, and green] have been great though, I dont wear anything else anymore.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Felt 2-3 sizes too small!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Copenhagener
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I am disappointed to write this is the first commuter product I've had to return! I have the green commuter jacket and 6 different pairs of the commuter jeans/pants from different years (a pair of the skinny and reg, dark jeans, 2 different color tan pants, the skinny black pants and the reg. grey ones) and they've all fit true to size and been great. Was hoping to keep rocking my commuter gear through the summer but these shorts felt painted on!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small to be functional

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
DiZzmonster
from:Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I'm 5' 9" and weigh 145lbs. I'm not sure who on earth these shorts are designed to fit. Like other reviews, when I put these shorts on they looked like spandex shorts. There is absolutely no room for movement. Never mind the fact a regular cyclist may have slightly larger legs than the average fit person. I think Levi needs to make these shorts into a standard fit and they'll be ok.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts.

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Dan87
from:Texas, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
This is my first pair of commuter shorts. I have 4 pairs of the pants, and I loved those, so I thought I would try the shorts. They are rather tight in the legs, so if you have more muscular/larger legs, you might want to go a size up. They don't have the leg room like they show in the pictures.
BUT despite them being a little tight, which I am A-OK with, they are great shorts that are built well and very comfortable. Well-engineered, with great materials. I would buy another pair in another color.... and probably will. They are very light and breathe well for the hot and humid Texas summer riding. I would absolutely recommend.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Commuter Line

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
levisfan123
from:Tempe, AZ, USA
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
This is one more great addition to the commuter line. As a university student, the entire idea of the commuters is brilliant. It is nice to have a short added to the line. The only drawback is the size. I wear a 30 in every single Levi's 511 that I own and a 31 in 510 or some 100% cotton Levi's. Since these have stretch, I thought I would be more than fine with a 30. Wrong idea. The crotch area was extremely tight. So be sure to order up a size. Ordered my 31 and am anxiously awaiting it's arrival.
By the way, happy birthday Levi's blue jeans!
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
4.2 out of 5(85)
 
 
 
511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indian Laurel
5 out of 5
(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loves the Commuter Line

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
jackQlyn
from:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: 14 - 17
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
My son loves the Commuter line ....definitely order a size up from your regular size like the other reviewers posted. Wish they came in other colors and carried them at the local Levi's store.....other than that love the Commuters.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Legs too tight!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
4seasoncyclist
from:Portland, OR, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
This is the one misstep I've found in the Commuter series, which is unfortunate because I really like the cut on these and was looking forward to wearing them. Unfortunately, when I ordered a pair with the same size waist as the Commuter 511's I wear (32), I could barely pull them on, they were so tight in the leg, and the result was VERY unflattering—my legs looked like weird sausages (well, OK, more like weird sausages than usual).
PRO TIP: cyclists have massive thighs. If you're going to make a clothing line for cyclists, make the thighs roomy compared with normal shorts. I'm bummed out about having to return these.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice shorts but a bit slim

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer avatar
pete335
from:Rochester, NY, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I really like the styling and details of these shorts. Its hard to tell fromt he photos but there are some really cool little details that set these apart. The fit is really good too, however I ordered a 31, which is the size waist I wear in all of the Levi's jeans I own, and it was a bit too slim and tight in the crotch. Also, the material is a bit strange if you haven't had experience with it yet. Not bad material but very different from other shorts the I own. It seems really durable and has a nice look to it though.
Currently waiting on an exchange order in a size larger and excited for it.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 511™ Slim Fit Commuter Shorts - Coastal Gold
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
leo12
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
this is what I expected
good shorts.
and comfort good length
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.