Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor

An icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the 501® Original Fit jean. A fit that's straight through the hip with our signature button-fly. Tested by generations, they continue to define the modern dress code. Great for all builds.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (8 reviews)
5 *
1
4 *
1
3 *
0
2 *
1
1 *
5
Recommended by:2 out of 825% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waist initially runs small, then you wash them...

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Rene513
from:Toronto, Ont
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I bought these last summer, July 2013, because I loved the look of them. I tired them on at one of the Toronto stores and initially thought the fit was a little more snug in the waist, lower rise and tighter thigh than my other 501s (I wear a 36/34). Brought them home and tried them on again, and still felt like they were sewn up smaller than they should be, but also figured they may take some time to "break in" like other levi's I've owned. I made the mistake of removing the tags and wearing them around. I gave them a few wears here and there but they were always so uncomfortable. They never stretched out at all like the other pairs of Levis I currently own.
I ended up washing these and wow, I didn't think this pair could get any worse, but my maybe 36" waist suddenly shrank to a 34. After seeing other reviews, this appears to be a consistent issue. These are like Shrink to Fit jeans without being labeled so. I've tried everything to stretch them back to their original uncomfortable state, but I can't even achieve that. Wish I had returned them initially, as I think I missed the window of opportunity there. It's a shame because they're nice looking jeans, sturdy material, but they don't fit like my other 501s. If you plan on buying them, size up or try on first.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

shrink

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Jissy
from:France
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
bought a 34W/34L which fit perfectly when I first tried it.
It doesn' fit anymore after the first wash, it's now a 32W at best.
First time it ever happens with a pair of Levi's.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Should be labelled Shrink to fit

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Fahad1980
from:Karachi, Pakistan
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I am the biggest fan of 501 jeans but for the first time I was totally disappointed after washing the janitor 501. It shrunk too much and I am unable to wear it now. I think it should be placed at Shrink to fit section.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once again, all expectations exceeded.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
DocGK
from:Lake Forest, IL, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Have been wearing 501s for more than 50 years. In the last year, I have lost some weight and had to get some smaller sizes. Just as they always have done, they shrank to a perfect fit (hint: put them on damp after the first washing and be prepared for an initial tight fit that will mold to you and they stretch and dry). Nice to see some things don't change.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits as expected

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer avatar
BloodiestLiam
from:Virginia
Age: 14 - 17
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I like how these jeans fit and recommend to others.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

shrinks a lot

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
BruceK
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
On first wash 31W became something like 29W. Returned the jeans.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Janitor Style 501's

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Blake13
from:Mill Valley, CA, USA
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
I love the color of these, but they run WAY too big. I ordered a 38 waist and they fit like a 40 or a 42. Would definitely not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Janitor
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Incorrectly labeled is the only way to describe these jeans.

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Joe631
from:St. Louis, MO, USA
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I ordered the "Janitor" jeans in 36W x 36L and the jeans that arrived were labeled as such. After first washing them, then attempting to put them on I discovered that there is NO WAY these jeans were correctly labeled. At best, they are maybe 34W x 34L, but I can't wear them and am sending them back. It's too bad too, because they're great looking jeans.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.