Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ is the real deal. Before 1984, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Not washing them for 6 months and dragging them behind cars was all part of the breaking-in process. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, paint splatter, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (6 reviews)
5 *
2
4 *
2
3 *
0
2 *
1
1 *
1
Recommended by:5 out of 683% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't shrink much at all.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Unrustled
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
The quality of these is the same as the regular 501 jeans. My issue with them is that, though soaked in hot water, they barely shrank at all. I've just noticed that this color (Eggplant) has a different description than the other STF colors, in that it says Rinsed instead of Raw. Perhaps this is why they didn't shrink. Whatever the reason, I am stuck with a pair a pants that are too big for me, that I also cannot return.
The color is nice, but be aware that it changes under different lighting. The pictures are as it will look in bright daylight. At night, it will look much darker; closer to a brown than purple. Perhaps it will look nicer at night after fading some.
I like the color enough that I am going to try to hunt down a pair in my size. I suggest that unless the 501s you already have are skin-tight or you prefer very baggy pants, that you order the same size that you normally wear.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super tough jeans in an unusual color

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
ishepperd
from:Dallas, tx
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are probably the toughest jeans I've bought in some time. Really thick fabric which should break in well and last for years. And the color is unique. Another review described them as being like cardboard. If you are used to 514's or jeans like that which are pretty sheer, these might seem dense. But this is what Levis used to feel like. Love 'em.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LEVIS = QUALITY

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
unxpektd
from:CALIFORNIA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
i love the color and everything about Levis 501 shrink to fit jeans. keep 'em cranking
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the color

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
papermoon
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I love the color, wish you have more length choices for smaller waist sizes but overall they fit pretty good. Very rigid and hard, could be a bit softer. Gonna take some time to break them in. Hopefully they don't shrink too much when I wash them.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fit

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
TheBlackAbstract
from:Buffalo, NY, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Arrived promptly, and fit as desired. Always great to do business with Levi.com!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Eggplant Black Fill
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cardboard jeans

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
cntower
from:New York, NY, USA
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
just about the worst pair of jeans
i have ever purchased.
crunchy like cardboard.
feel like the cheapest pair
of pants ever made.
tried to wash them and they
softened up a tiny bit.
terrible and far below the usual
high quality that i expect from
Levi's......
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
shaun
Posted December 26, 2012
501 and 501 shrink-to-fit are 2 different kind of pants. 501s will be soft and kinda thin. On the other hand 501 shrink-to-fit are made to be hardand tough its heavy weight denim. If you had read the sites description you might not have bought them. If the pants didnt have that cardboard toughness then the pants arnt high quality.
+9points
9of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
ishepperd
Posted December 22, 2012
I've bought 514's and thought they felt like tissue paper. I guess it depends on what you expect in a pair of jeans. For 501 Shrink to fits I want heavy, stiff fabric which will break in and soften over time. These are the best for that. If you want jeans that are soft and thin out of the box, I'd go with a 514 or something of that ilk.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Damien
Posted December 18, 2012
These 501's are Shrink-to-Fit, non-stretch, heavyweight denim (12.5 oz.) So of course they are stiff and rigid before washing.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)