Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo

The ultimate icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the original 501® jean. They're tried and true, pure and simple, the one and only.
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (21 reviews)
5 *
10
4 *
1
3 *
2
2 *
6
1 *
2
Recommended by:16 out of 2176% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

jeans ran small

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
nubianqueen
from:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
my jeans ran small &then i learned that i couldn't exchange- i had to return & re-purchase jeans but they were sold out so i'm trying a different jean... we'll see
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, Love, Love!!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
LiciaP
from:Tupelo, MS, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
So glad these jeans have made a comeback! The first pair I ordered were so awesome, I ordered another pair in the darker denim. Couldn't be more pleased. They are the only jeans I wear now. Absolutely no stretch! Thank goodness!!!!!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jeans.

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Arabella
from:Australia
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have been buying 501s since the 80s. This pair looks great with the leg rolled up and ballet flats. Great jeans,perfect fit.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not consistent sizing

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
peri
from:Texas
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I have been wearing a pair of 501's that I bought several years ago that are 27X32's. Ordered same size and they are way too big! So tried to return and get smaller size.........all out of stock in every color :( don't know when they will get more. But can't figure out why the 27's don't fit like my other 27's!?
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fit

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Brazil, IN 47834, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Love the fact they are 100% cotton, do not like any other jeans on the market that have the spandex in them. To me that is not a true jean, 100% demin are real jeans. Just wish they were a little thicker /heavier weight demin. They are a little thin, but I still would buy more of them.
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best jeans ever!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
NoPartyAffiliate
from:southeastern US
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love the 501 jeans with button fly. No spandex, which is a very good thing as far as I am concerned. The fit is perfect, the look is classic, and these are the best jeans ever in the history of jeans! Two thumbs way up! Cuff them to wear with mocassins or heels depending on the look you want. The dark wash is on the dressy side, great with heels and a blazer.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

These are HORRIBLE

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Lori62
from:Arizona
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I was so excited to see Women's 501's were back. I still have 2 pairs of the " Original Womens 501"!! Thank Goodness they still fit. What a difference these new ones are. The fabric is aweful they feel like they have stretch in them. The fit is at least 2 inches bigger in the waist and the butt and legs are baggy!!!
My husband loves the way "My Butt" looks in my original 501's. I am sending them back immediately!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, classic jean.

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
meach61
from:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
This jean looks wonderful cuffed or not. My only wish is for the 501 to be stocked in 33L or 34L for those of us with longer inseams.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

100%cotton!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Jonsie
from:Tampa, FL, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Was excited to find a pair of100% cotton jeans. They do not fit like the original 501's. more of a boyfriend fit than straight fit. Hope you will bring back true original 501's.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has poor quality

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
nevergoingtoshophereagain
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought these jeans thinking that they would be the same as the other five pairs I own, and I was wrong. The material that is used now is very thin and I prefer my jeans to be of thick denim. I returned them immediately and I awaiting my refund.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

thickness

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
dixie
from:Whiteland, IN
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I am glad the original 501's are back with no spandex. But it would be better to have the thickness back. For working, winter. Otherwise you have to buy the Lee's for the thickness!
I recommend this product!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ahhhh, 501s!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
IndianaDogWalker
from:Indiana, USA
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love everything about them -- they are (imo) what a jean should be in every way. The fit is perfect -- just like the size chart says. The waist is good - not too low/not too high, the leg opening is perfect - can weaar fitted boots or shoes. I do not roll up as boyfriend but as they 'grow", as nonstretch do, I will cuff them. I bought the lighter colored, more faded pairs (2) but didnt realize they were "distressed" which is OK, I guess, as long as they hold up well enough. WISH there were a color and fabric >>between<< the dark, dark, stiff blue and the soft like velvet distressed ones. These are my favorite women's jeans -- I usually buy mens -- but these are perfect.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Jeans

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
RhondaB
from:Atlanta, GA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I don't know why these jeans are hidden under 'Other Styles' - they should have their own link. I bought 5 additional pairs of 501's for fear that they, too, will go to stretch.
These are the best jeans on the market, and the only ones left without that horrible uncomfortable stretch material. I don't know why women want their jeans to feel like bicycle pants...thank goodness 501's are still here.
I recommend this product!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY QUEST IS FINALLY OVER!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Dizaru
from:The Plains, VA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
After searching for the perfect non-stretch jean for so many years since Levi stopped making them, THIS IS IT! These 501's are perfect! NO elastane, Lycra, or spandex! The length is perfect, as well as the fit. They do not look as boyish on as they do in the picture. I will definitely purchase another pair. I agree with a previous reviewer that the material is not as thick as it once was, but maybe someday...
I recommend this product!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NCCALinda
Posted January 1, 2013
I can only say I think some confusion about the thickness of the pants is because they might have gotten the Original 501's that were MEN'S jeans not women's. Love my Levi's and yes I am old enough to remember we wore only mens. Most women's pants did not come in leg lengths, so buy mens Levi's no problem...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fit, maybe a little thin

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
KKaren
from:Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I'm so happy to have this style and fit available (again). Not skimpy, not baggy; just right. The fabric is thinner, softer, than I recall from years ago, but not sure if memory serves me correctly. These jeans are great for wearing, but don't seem to have that indestructible character that would stand up to heavy work.
I recommend this product!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Runs WAAAAY small

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
die2pie
from:California
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I love these but they run sooo small I have to exchange them for two sizes up. And I wear a size 29 in every cut of levi's I have in my closet.. including three other pairs of 501 boyfriends.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ends my search for cool 100% cotton jeans

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Hearst
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
For the past several years, it has been very hard to find women's jeans without stretch. Finally, 501's cut for a women's body, with a boyfriend fit, in 100% cotton! Love them!
I recommend this product!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Acceptable

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Cuneja67
from:Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought this jean in 26W x 32L and was suprised that the inseam was somewhat short even though I am only 5'4" and approx 120 lb. I can wear them with flats but not heels. The back pockets hang low which is not so flattering. Still, I kept the jeans because it is harder and harder to find button-fly jeans, the glossed indigo is the perfect wash, and 501s are a great value for the price.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

inconsistent length

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
angie101
from:NJ
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I ordered two pairs of these in the exact same size, and the glossed indigo ones were a good two inches shorter than the other color--straight out of the package, before they were washed! Which is a problem since this length is just barely long enough for me anyway... So I'm thinking I may send that pair back and re-order the same thing again, just in case a pair from a different batch might be longer. (The longer pair fits great.)
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 501® Original Fit Jeans - Glossed Indigo
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thanks for trying

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
RM63
from:South Carolina
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
Sadly I am having to send these back. I Like the all cotton but the fit is not like the original 501s. I actually ordered a size up to allow for shrinkage but these fit very small in the inseam and around the legs. I dont remember my old 501s fitting like these. I recommmend ordering1 to 2 sizes up.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>