Printer
 

Customer reviews for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light

Designed in 1969 to fit over stiff leather boots, the 517™ Boot Cut Jean has been tried and true for generations. Cut to sit below the waist, relaxed through the seat, thigh and knee—with an authentic boot cut opening from knee to ankle. They're durable, comfortable, and covers today as well as they did yesterday.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (16 reviews)
5 *
7
4 *
5
3 *
1
2 *
3
1 *
0
Recommended by:13 out of 1681% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Review 1 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Hutch87
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
1st and foremost ill go ahead and add my own 2 cents to the reviews that were critical on the fit of these jeans. No they are NOT low rise. I wear 505s(30/32) 514s and 527s as well as 517s. If you want to order your 527/514 waist size, go ahead. You're just going to have to pull the waist line of a pair of 517s up higher. For reference I am a 162lb 5"11 lean medium built body type. My size is 32/30 and I found these to be a bit easier (relaxed) fitting in the leg with a little less flare than the 527s at the knee. Over all much more comfortable, actually. This specific wash (rancher light) seems not to match the description (photos). Not necessarily a bad thing. The pictures make them look like some over faded bright blue stone washed crosshatch. Boring but sturdy right? Bought these because I wanted a lighter shade for cooler weather. They didn't disappoint. In reality it seems these are actually a washed down and heavily dye bled dark denim with a process that gives them a much more sand blasted light blue look (just look inside the waistband cuffs and pockets). Seems they'll go well with a wider variety of colors than what I usually buy, referenced below.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

29 x 34's too slim through bootcut

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
tamasco1
from:Georgia
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
My 13 year old is 6' tall but only weighs about 125 lbs.,so finding jeans long enough and slim enough is tough. These fit very well through the waist and thighs, but he is unable them to wear them with his boots - which he practically lives in. Unfortunately they are too tight at the bottom - they won't go over his boots without a struggle. If he sits down, when he stands up he has to work to tug them back down again. We usually love Levis put these need some work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to size

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Moscow
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have read reviews saying these jeans are runs small and the ones saying they're runs large and finally I've ordered my usual Levi;s size. I am happy with the fit of these pants.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jeans

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Shiloh0504
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
They were great fit and they look good on my boyfriend!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love These!

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Hymie1964
from:Goshen, NY 10924, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I love the 517s, the 527s probably a little more, & when not wearing boots...501 only.
Needless to say I am a Levi's fiend & have been for the last 40 years, I'm 48 now.
I have all the 517s in a 34" waist as well as the 527s. This pair however, because they do 'ride' extra high. The waist seemed looser than other 517s in a 34" to me. So I went against the grain here & ordered a pair in a 32" waist. Washed & dried & wearing them now...perfect!
People seem to think these run small. No, they do not run small, they run LARGE. And trust me, I really know my Levi's. Order 2" or an inch smaller on your regular waist size & tell me these don't rock. I kept the larger 34" waist as they would be great for winter when tucking in thick flannel shirts, etc. & that extra waist room will come in handy. Also, these are a bona fide 14 oz. pair of quality denim. They happen to look great in the summertime due to their color...but these are heavyweights folks that will be great in the winter.
A little different yet somehow familiar.
Go down a size & go for it!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Older fashion fit, great durable denim color

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
jeanjunkie007
from:Minneapolis, MN
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
The denim is heavier and has a beautiful finish and color.
The waistband is definitely higher, but on the belly button. This is not a mom-waist band of old, but higher than the 501 is. I think the waist and thigh area is closer to the 505 fit, which you may or may not like. My fly on this pair is sort of weird and something doesn't seem quite right the way it sits or folds on my lap. I personally have to say I prefer a lower waist band and the 501 waist is a high as I can stand.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not that great

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:PA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
very different from what I see in the store
Fabric is not that great and so the color
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good quality

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
unni
from:Roanoke, VA, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I order 36*30 and the product was slightly longer than i expected it to be so i had to trim the length of it. But Waist size was perfect and I loved it. The only other concern i had was that the length from belt buckle to the zipper lower end was slightly long for me. So there was an obstruction while running and brisk walking. This could probably because I wear the pants slightly below my belly button. But the Jeans Material is of top quality and overall I am happy with the product. Wish there was an option to Alter the pant, atleast Trim the length of the pant.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The product could have improved features

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Jared91
from:Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
While the jeans had a comfortable feel and the wash was just right. The cut in the seat of the pants is about 1-1.5 inches smaller in the seat than the same cut I bought 2/3 years ago. As a powerlifting my legs are not of common size and it makes it very difficult to find pants that fit. I have a pair of levis that I love, an old 527 low boot cut. I wish that the focus was not on slim everything. I appreciate a relaxed cut that does have some shape to them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Elevis
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have always loved the 527, but then I gave the 517 a shot and those were lovely as well, they run true to size, give you a great look and above all, its a LEVI`S, the ultimate jeans
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These jeans are a little to tight

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
TC83
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
These jeans are tighter than what i normally get. (527) But if you know that before getting them than it wont be a surprise to you. 517 are the skinny-guy version of 527. They are good jeans though i would recommend them to a skinny friend.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Run small and not heavyweight material!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
pciasuli
from:Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
These just arrived and I was disappointed to say the least. My usual size, 32w x 34L and I could barely button the waist. Tight fit. Maybe a 33w will be okay. But my bigger issue is these are not heavy duty material. The description says 14 but these seem as thin of a material as any jeans I own. I have been a long time jean sufferer as I never seem to consistently get a pair I like. They either stop making them when I find one or the material grows thinner in future versions. All I want is a pair that fit comfortably and look good. Skinny jeans or even thin do not seem to work for me as there isn't any room for the boys or my butt. I feel like I'm getting a wedgie wearing some of these things, LOL. I also would prefer a medium weight at least. It seems all of current versions are thin weight material. Shopping for jeans is painful as the stores never seem to have what I'm looking for. I had hoped this would be it based on reviews.
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JackH
Posted April 13, 2013
I feel your pain, and have been fooled by Levi's repeatedly. Every handful of years I'll find a style/color combo that I like, and when it's time to replace, they don't make anymore or changed the style etc. Very disappointing for a company who used to be known for reliability and quality.
+8points
8of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice heavy jean

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Sara1960
from:Aurora, IN, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great pants, super fast shipping! Wanted to order more but
you were out of size i needed.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent jeans

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Larry3sticks
from:Northern Kentucky
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans, ordered online, arrived in half the time estimated, so bonus points already. I knew what size I needed, so that made ordering easier. Levi's jeans are comfortable, but not worn-out feeling already. I like to wear my own jeans in and have them last a while.
I'll definitely be ordering online from now on. It's hard to find the 517 in stores.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is ok

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
dooglas12
from:troy,ny
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
waist size was correct but length was off by at least one (1) inch longer which required hemming them
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 517™ Boot Cut Jeans - Rancher Light
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I want 517's fit in more colors/fades: Scrapped Neppy, River Shower, and Desert Wind.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
LoyalLeviCustomer
from:New Castle, IN 47362, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
This style has a great fit, good comfort, and is really durable. I just want more colors for the 517's. Levi's Skinny Jean selection has some colors and fades that I absolutely want in my 517 fit, such as: Scrapped Neppy, River Shower, and Desert Wind. I want a really dark, slightly faded, blue, but in my favorite Levi's jeans fit, 517.
I recommend this product!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Self
Posted January 29, 2014
Amen, more colors.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)