Printer
 

Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce

Ride, live, and work in the same pair of jeans. Designed for the urban cyclist, our 505™ Commuter jeans provide greater convenience, safety, mobility, and protection no matter how you roll.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (15 reviews)
5 *
11
4 *
3
3 *
0
2 *
1
1 *
0
Recommended by:13 out of 1587% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Review 1 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great material

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
manjeans3000
from:Venice CA
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
love these jeans got them on sale but now that I know how great they are id by them full price. most comfortable jeans for riding ive ever had
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

no size relief over 511 where it counts

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
DavidMLewis831
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I've been using the 511 commuter jeans since they came out, and like a lot of people was hoping the 505s were a bit roomier in the thighs. But it appears that the difference is all below the knee, where I don't need it. They also do not feel like they have the slightly stretchy fabric that the 511s have. Between those two things, I found them harder to bend my legs in than the 511s, so I sent them back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Evergreen Pants

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
lehn
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
They fit fine, I love the commuter line in general, but I feel like the pants I received do not match the color of the pants in the online picture. I tried on a pair at the Levi's store, that was an awesome bluish, green color, ordered these online based on their picture, and received christmas tree colored pants. I think the label "Darkest Spruce" is misleading and indicates a hint of spruce instead of straight out evergreen.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great overall, functions well, needs time resolved testing

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
falconnpunch
from:Gainesville, FL, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I have been commuting on my bicycle for the last 7 years. In the last year, I have decided to not brave the rain until I saw these. My current commute is ~20mins over 4 miles.
They worked the first time I wore them in medium to light rain (60-70°F). The spots where my bike lock (Kryptonite cable with ACE Hardware link worn like a messenger bag) touched soaked eventually. Also the spots where my rain jacket touched and was dripping to soaked through after about 10mins of riding. These spots dried up quickly when I got out of the rain. They were very breathable and beaded up water well. I will have to report again after some time on how they hold up. I do have to say that I have never been drier after a rainy commute. They fit well, (32-30 is what I usually wear for Levi's and what I got) However, they were quite green in color (brighter than in the images) and someone called me a frog. I had to resist sticking my tongue out at her.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PLEASE MAKE MORE COMMUTER 505's

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Talorc
from:Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I just bought a pair of these (luckily the sale happened to have my size). They are definitely slimmer than my usual 514's (I have about 25 pairs of 514 jeans), I have HUGE calves and they hug my legs. I just started biking to work (I can wear jeans most days) and these pants are GREAT! Please please please continue this line in other colors... I am sad to have just discovered them as it seems they are being discontinued. I once tried a regular pair of 511's on at the Levi's store and they didn't even make it past my horse thighs, I can only imagine the Commuter 511 wouldn't get up past my ankle....
Basically, the 505 Commuters are a WIN!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pants Rock!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Jack82
from:Austin TX
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love these pants. I've ridden in them a couple of times, but they feel so good I wear them all the time.
They are great.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants ever

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Jgrind
from:NC
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I have been trying to find the perfect fit and after reading all the reviews for these, I gave them a shot. Now, these are my favorite pants.
I'm 6'1", 165 lbs. and this fit is perfect for me (32x32). They are more tailored than the regular 505's and looser than the 511's. These jeans are the perfect middle ground. As an actual bike commuter, these are great. Look fitted, but without the constraint 511's seem to have.
Levi's.... Please don't discontinue these and make more colors again!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Are these being discontinued??

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
BenjaminR
from:Boston, MA, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought one pair of the commuter 505's to make sure they fit, and they do. I cycle a bunch, and I use these for my city biking (70 miles/week in city work commute). The 511's are just way too skinny on the thighs vs. waist if you do any type of real consistant riding. These are durable (no holes in the crotch) and somewhat water resistant (anything beyond a heavy mist and you'll still get wet).
Limited sizes in darkest spruce? no other remaining color options? booo! I should have purchased more when I had the chance.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect, but only Green

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Jero
from:Los Angeles
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great fit, sturdy denim, great for riding in during the fall.
511's aren't made for people with leg muscles, and if you're a bike commuter, you probably have some of them. I only wish the 505s came in a different color.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good if you can find a pair that fits..

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Max223
from:Chicago, IL
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
I have a couple pair of 505 jeans and have no problems with the fit. I ordered these two weeks ago, and finally got them (that's a whole other story) and they don't fit at all! These feel like the skinny jeans, 511's I believe. If you have "athletic legs" as most people have commented, I would suggest going a size up. I'll be returning these and hoping the next ones fit. They are also slightly darker than the picture.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Pants4me
from:Brooklyn
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Looks and feels great! For an ex-athlete with thick thighs the fit is much better than the 511s. I just wish there were more colors!
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
jgramajo4
from:Bay Area, CA, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These pants are just amazing. I usually wear shorts because I dont like jeans but these are just too good to pass up. Better for people who have strong muscular legs like ex athletes 511 commuter is a bit too tight. More Colors Please Levis!!!!!!
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
norb
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Tailor fitted 505, best pair so far...............
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than the 511 commuters

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
pants5
from:california
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I have some of the 511's but recently ordered the 505's, they fit much better, a nice straight leg, that is slim, but not skinny like the 511's these pants look and feel great, but allow for a bit more room, would love to see more colors in the 505. I still sized up, as I do in most all Levi's pants, I'm 6' 180 and typically wear a 33, I ordered these in 34 and they fit perfect.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 505™ Regular Commuter Trousers - Darkest Spruce
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Commuters for real cyclist

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
HunterD
from:ATL, GA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Finally! A pant in the commuter line that fits athletic legs. As a former soccer player and now competitive cyclist I have fairly developed calves/quads. I purchased the 511 commuters because its all they made and while they work, I feel like stuffed sausage in them. They were way to tight on the calves/quads. These are still very much a stylish/slim cut and less baggy than traditional 505's. Levi's please make these in more colors/denim washes I will buy them.
If anyone is curious as to measurements I ordered the 30 x 30's my thighs are 22", calves 15". Skinny jeans don't work for that, but these fit great.
I recommend this product!
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.