Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ is the real deal. Before 1984, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Not washing them for 6 months and dragging them behind cars was all part of the breaking-in process. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, paint splatter, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (6 reviews)
5 *
2
4 *
1
3 *
1
2 *
0
1 *
2
Recommended by:3 out of 650% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing fits like good old tried and true 501 Shrink to fit jeans

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
damien66vi
from:Palm Springs, Ca
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
It had been too long since the last time I bought a new pair of 501's ....love the natural color in person even better than I did in the pic on the site. The sizing guideline was right on the money. When they arrived I threw em in the wash and when they came out of the dryer...a perfect fit.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good, not great

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
RadioAvon
from:NC
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
My individual experience with the STF's came out pretty well but not exactly how I'd hoped.
I sized according to Levis's guide, which I think is fairly accurate, but I was looking for a slimmer fit, then what I got, so next time I'll probably buy true to size.
Also of note: The final color after soaking isn't the natural tanish color above but more of a light grey. Probably due to bleed from the black fill. Not a big deal to me but worth mentioning as others may be surprised.
Overall pretty solid.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not all natural color

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
missing550s
from:OR
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I expected both warp and weft to be "natural" but it turns out only half the threads used to make these jeans are "natural" color -- the other half are a deep denim blue. As for size, I made my best guess about fit by inches based on the dimensions given for sized jeans that fit me. I have not actually shrunk these to fit since I expect to return them, but it feels like the rise will be shorter than is comfortable if I do (which I suppose is not surprising as these are intended for men and I'm a woman. If Levis hadn't discontinued the 550s that fit me I wouldn't have to be experimenting like this).
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

shrink-alot

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Shrink2012
from:DC
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Bought this in 33/30. After first wash the length was only 27.5. All my other ones (also 33/30) keep the 30 after washing. Levi's explanations is that it is a "shrink to fit" and I should have bought a 34/33 instead. How am I supposed to know how much it'll shrink?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
ishepperd
Posted January 26, 2013
I've never had a STF keep the length but that's part of the deal, and the reason I buy them. They always shrink a couple of inches in the inseam. And Levi's recommends ordering bigger in the wait and inseam to allow for that. Perhaps you've bought regular 501's in the past. Those don't really shrink much.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
StarsndHype
Posted December 26, 2012
Do you still own them? I have been trying to purchase these jeans for months but they are always sold out in my size. Would you like to donate them to me?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
crazymilo
Posted October 1, 2012
The sizing guide is RIGHT NEXT to the description of the Shrink To Fit jeans. It amazes me how many times this chart is missed or ignored. It's been around for years! As an owner of about twelve different colors and multiple sizes of each color (for either a slim or more relaxed look based on my mood, the shirt, shoes, etc. to compliment them), I have found the guide quite accurate. They ALL shrink in length by two to three inches just like the chart shows.
Some colors work better when sized up an inch or two in the waist above what the chart says (like the sand color) so they don't fit too snuggly.
The biggest mistake is to not wear them A LOT before you get into a body of water WHILE wearing them. If you don't wear them to the point of really breaking them in on their own (read: stench) and then get into the tub, shower, an ocean or lake they will shrink according to the chart when machine washed, but won't be a custom fit. If you want to buy them true to size, have them DRY CLEANED and only spot clean.
The whole point of these jeans is to have custom wear patterns AND a custom fit. They are a good amount of work, but if you wear them this way, you're rewarded with as custom a fit as possible short of having them made for you by a personal tailor.
+16points
16of 16voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 SHRINK TO FIT NATURAL BLACK FILL JEANS

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
TURBO1
from:BERGEN COUNTY N.J.
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
WHEN I TRIED 501S FOR THE 1ST TIME IN 84 I THOUGHT THEY WERE THE BEST FITTING JEANS I EVER WORE AND I HAVE BEEN WEARING THEM ONLY SINCE! WHEN I SAW THE NATURAL BLACK FILL 501S, I THOUGHT WHAT A COOL COLOR AND I WAS RIGHT THEY DEFFINATELY LOOK GREAT AND I HAVE GOTTEN A LOT OF COMPLIMENTS ON THEM, SO THANX LEVIS I APPRECIATE IT!
JOHN J.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Natural
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shrunk too much

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
CPADude
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I'm not happy with these. They looked great when new.
One washing and they shrunk at least two (2)inches in length. They came out of the dryer terribly wrinkled.
i ownde shrink-to fit before. Shrinkage has always been in the right areas: seat, thighs, legs ;never saw shrinkagw in lenght before.
These are unweaarable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.