Printer
 

Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford

Our most popular zip-fly, regular-fit jean is beloved for its comfortable style. A modern regular fit, it sits low on your waist and is comfortably straight through the seat, thigh and leg. Woven and dyed at White Oak Cone Mills in North Carolina, this pair of jeans is handmade with exceptional quality.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (10 reviews)
5 *
6
4 *
2
3 *
1
2 *
0
1 *
1
Recommended by:8 out of 1080% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Review 1 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Jtpt
from:Claremore, OK
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Great quality and color. Love all the usa selvedge denim. Nice leather tag on rear.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect jeans for winter! 33x34

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
MIloc
from:New York, NY
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
I was a little afraid of ordering size 33. Last year I ordered the 505® Straight Trousers - Black size 33x32 but, they are a bit small on the waist. Fortunately my new jeans made in the US fit like a glove. I also bought a pair of 527 33x32, they are also true size.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

USA, Cone Mills, at this price ???

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
todot62
from:West, TX 76691, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Where I'm coming from:
If you are a denimhead and have not purchased these, what are you waiting for? I'm not one of those denimheads that has six pairs of selvedge jeans. I have one pair of 1955 Levi LVCs. (For those that don't know, these are considered to be, give or take, the quintessential 501, and about as close in fit to modern 501s as the LVC line gets.) My LVCs were STF (Rigid), and are marked 32x34. They fit perfectly and I'm probably a 31 waist.
FIT
Back to these 505s. I bought 32X34, soaked them in HOT water for about an hour (mainly to see if I could lose a little length), wore them around a bit and hung them to dry overnight. I did lose about 1" in length, and just a bit in the waist. They were a bit tight, but they also sit a little lower than my 501s. They are also tighter in the thigh, but not too tight. The fit was somewhat uncomfortable at first, but after a couple of days, these are starting to feel very good. I think after a week or so, they will be perfect. So maybe size up one for most people??
Quality and finish
These are selvedge Cone Denim USA made 505 jeans. The quality is amazing. They have the two layer front, which is virtually unnoticeable to just about anyone while wearing them (right now, anyway, more on that later). As is the normal case, Levi does an awful job of describing exactly what they are. When I soaked my jeans, I turned them inside out and discovered that the front layer is a different denim than the rest of the jeans and had a different selvedge edge (green instead of red). After soaking the differences became more noticeable, because the front layer, which is also thicker, probably 13oz, had a much more slubby appearance than the rest of the jeans (google slubby denim). I think after a while and some washings, the front layer will become more distinct, giving these jeans a very nice vintage look.
What am I getting at?? There was much more thought, purpose and design that went into these jeans than Levi is letting us know. With the 12oz denim and the 13oz front layer, these things are almost bullet proof and will last literally years. They seem to be designed to look way cool in a year or so, and I'm eager to see what they will look like.
Downside
The ONLY downside that I can think of is that, for me, these will only be cool weather or winter jeans. They are thick and warm; I think it would be difficult to be comfortable with them in the summer.
Overall, I think if you size right, treat them anyway you want, they will treat you well and look better and better every year, and at this price, I can't believe you're still reading this and not adding them to your cart! I would buy two pair, but I think I will be using a walker before I wear these out.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of surprises, both good and bad.

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
SilverHalide
from:central Iowa
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'll mention all the cool things about these jeans up front: 1) They are made in the USA which is why I bought them. 2) They are made of selvedge denim from the Cone Mills in North Carolina. This is not mentioned in the description and they don't show the selvedge in the product photos. 3) The denim material has a cool weave to it that looks different than most jeans. 4) I like having the double thickness on the tops of my legs and down over my knees. These are great motorcycle jeans. OK That's the good stuff. Here's the annoying part: 1) They are 'finished' in some sort of process that must shrink them. My 33" jeans fit like 31.5" jeans and so I can barely breathe right now. 2) This finishing process pre-ages the jeans with sanding or grinding. WHY? I buy jeans to wear for a long time. I love raw indigo jeans and hate pre-stressed jeans. These jeans are pre-stressed. In fact it looks like they took a belt sander to them to the point you can see the selvedge lines on the exterior of the lower legs. 3) They are skinnier than my other 505 jeans and fit more like 501 with a lower rise. My gut is hanging out over them. I think this is probably due to the shrinking that happens when they rinse or wash them. Overall these could have been such a cool pair of jeans if they would have just left them as raw denim. Cone Mills selvedge made in the USA. WHY mess with them? It's like coming home to find out your wife threw your favorite pair of jeans through the wash and then dried them on hot. So I'm disappointed. If you buy 1" above your normal waist size I bet they'd be great. I got these on clearance, so 34 was not available.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jeans in the USA

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
luckyjim
from:Minnesota
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great Jeans made in the USA... I'm a carpenter and my jeans take a beating... The double fronts are great... Fit is like Levi's of old.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fitting American made jeans...

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
NashvilleBoy
from:Nashville, TN
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I had considered these at their original price, and thought, 'eh, I'm not sure about the color, (maybe a little too 'modern', and the extra material at the knee...) - let's see if they go on sale.' And...they did (and...at a great price at that), so I pulled the trigger. I gotta tell ya, they're one of the best fitting jeans I own; haven't washed them yet, but as I understand, there is minimal shrinkage with these (vs. the raw selvedge 501's)...so that'll be a plus. Still not ecstatic about the color, but nice (nicer than the pics online). And the knee thing doesn't bother me in the least. These are not your 'purist' 501's, so...take a chance (esp.at the sale price) and embrace a little variety; they may turn out to be your 'go to' jeans.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not like it is

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Jayh
from:NY, NY
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
These jeans have a double panel of fabric. There is an overlay of denim from the waist to just below the knee. It is uncomfortable and looks "dumb!" Like one big patch
Whoever this designed this or thought this up should be fired
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jean. that's Levi's

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
noahhahn
from:Arizona.
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I love this jean. I have many jeans, but they aren't like Levi's. Levi's always good. And the history tell you that true jean. That is Levi's. So that's way I always buy other Levi's jean. Look at my photo. These are my collections. I love Levi's.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality jeans.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Cornerstone
from:Forest Park, IL
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I agree with the previous reviewer, and the lack of attention might be due to the fact that these are not listed as selvedge in the description, although they definitely are! Consistent sizing on these, unlike on some of the import models.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 505™ Regular Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Bluford
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice cut ,great quality.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Chicago, il
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Great jeans, amazing quality, great details. I am surprised no one is digging these. I especially like the double-layered front and thighs. you get an extra layer of Cone Mills selvedge for free! you can actually see where the redline and green line meet. looking forward to wearing them down at work. Looks amazing with work boots. I am a 34 and bought them as a 36 since I knew I'd have to wash these work pants more often than I'd like. I am glad I did. Perfect fit after regular wash and dry.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.