Printer
 

Customer reviews for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid

Ride, live, and work in the same pair of jeans. Designed for the urban cyclist, our 511™ skinny Commuter™jeans provide greater convenience, safety, mobility, and protection no matter how you roll. View our latest collection.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (85 reviews)
5 *
51
4 *
17
3 *
6
2 *
4
1 *
7
Recommended by:75 out of 8588% of reviewers
Customer reviews for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Review 1 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can't be washed

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Runnerguydudeman
from:NYC
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love the way these jeans look and fit but found out after I purchased them that if you wash them it totally changes the fabric and hence the way they fit. So, if you never plan on washing your jeans, go ahead and buy them, otherwise, don't expect them to look the same after washing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality denim with an updated fit.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
pauloantonio
from:San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I would not classify the 511 as a skinny jean more than I would saying it is a good fitting jean.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Excellent idea but I hate the style. I'm not 18. Please offer other Blue-Jean Styles in Commuter..

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
DetroitCommuter37
from:Detroit, MI, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The commuter trucker jacket has served me very well for about a year now so I ordered the blue-jeans, which are only offered in 511s. The fabric and design are what I'm after (because I'm a bike commuter!). I am in excellent shape, and my physical profile is perfect for it, but 511's don't translate to a 37 year old face. It looks positively adolescent to be wearing thinly disguised skinny jeans at my age. I see the 505 pants are offered now, but not as a Jean. This is disappointing. It would have been my first choice.
I recommend this product!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Blaise71
Posted October 28, 2013
They look great w/ my 42 yo face. ;)
I'm very fit/slim, so they don't look tight on me though, just well fitted.
+6points
6of 6voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jeans I Own!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
MPDC
from:DC
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great jeans and incredibly comfortable. They fit great and the extra reinforcement areas with the little bit of stretch make a great overall jean....and then you add in the tech for odors and water repellant, and you've got a great jean that can be dressed up or down for any occassion.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fit

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Seabikes
from:seattle
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Comfortable, and great to ride in. The fit is spot on.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marketing Genius

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
MediumTall
from:San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
How do you take maternity pants (i.e. stretchy pants) and market them to hipster men? Call them biking pants. But seriously, these are awesome jeans. Nice slim fit without feeling too constricted in skinny pant legs. Not quite as lightweight as I'd like for biking pants, they're not so thin that you'd feel like you got a cheap pair of jeans. A lot of thought went into the jeans from the reflective tape on the seams when you roll up the pant legs to the hoop along the belt line to help keep your u-lock in place, to the stretch fabric to help keep you moving freely, to the special coating that helps keep you from stinking up the office after your ride. Quite possibly, the most technologically cool pair of jeans I have ever put on.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

jeans for bicycle riders

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
timeport4
from:Vermont, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
great for bicycle riding the only one the best
streching makes this jeans worthwhile
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit is Perfect!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer avatar
moudy3xs
from:Jackson, NJ, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Purchased these for my son who rides his bike on his college campus to class and had ripped his regular Levi's. I then bought another 3 pair of commuters for him, as the extra features and design are worth the investment. Just last week he had an accident on his bike, and while he got scrapped up pretty badly, his commuter jeans only suffered a small rip where he had his keys in his pocket. Thank you Levi's for having the forethought to take care of an entire group of consumers that other pant manufacturers seem to have ignored.
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
4.2 out of 5(85)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Braddlecat
from:Spokane, WA, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bike everywhere, year-round. Fixed gear, road, MTB, you name it. Sub-zero midnight blizzard ice rides... Nothing stops me. I LOVE that Levi's does this for us. Commuters are the only jeans I buy, for many reasons. My legs have changed in shape since I started riding, and that complicates how pants fit. Slim styles (that stay out of my bike chain) and fit my thighs don't fit my waste. The stretch fabric helps with this, to an extent. The stain resistance helps fend off the bike grease stains. My only complaint is that they could offer a cut that is more specific to the shape of cyclist's legs. As is, I have to order a waist size larger so the legs fit, and either wear a belt or have the jeans tailored. I understand fitting pants is a common issue for many cyclists.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but needs some design changes.

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I ride to work just about every day, year round, from Brooklyn to Midtown Manhattan and back, and use a WTB saddle on my commuting bike. I'm on my second pair of these in 2 years, since the first pair had 2 holes worn through the seat, right near the 'top inside' corners of the back pockets. This is the source of my complaint. The seat reinforcement is in the wrong place considering how the pants fit - it needs to be higher up the seat of the pants. I'm 6'3" and about 180 and the 34" waist was actually a bit loose, so for the second pair I went for 32-32, though 34 length would've been better, but the bike shop didn't have those. Other than this, the pants are great, and fit just tightly enough.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Watch out On White Saddles!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Matt26
from:Louisville, KY
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Lets me start by saying these are a great pair of jeans. They look great and they feel fantastic on and off of the bike. My one watch-out for guys and girls out there riding white saddles is that the dye in these jeans will rub off on your seat. Most of it will wipe off with a damp cloth, but not all of it so beware...
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Default Jean

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Woad
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've got cyclist legs. Muscular, even cut. I have trouble finding a decent pair of jeans. Nowadays if it doesn't stretch, it's out. I decided to try these out a size up due to the "slim" in the description and they're prefect. The slight taper is also fantastic. All of the bells and whistles really work out and they look great. They dry quickly, deflect mild rain, and require no regular washing. Extremely functional and stylish. No complaints.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They're so good, I'm writing a review.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
BikeCommuterPDX
from:Portland, OR
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are, without a doubt, the greatest jeans I've ever owned.
I bought two pairs last November (yes, 17 months ago) and have worn them virtually every single day since then. I've commuted by bike in them every possible day and the only part that's worn through is the fifth pocket where I keep my ChapStick.
No one makes better jeans than these.
...too bad they never go on sale.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are my new favourite jeans!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Worsley
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great fit, super comfy and great style! I just wish I had more
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good jean series

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
RobbieECTS
from:Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love the commuter jeans series!! I bought a pair of the tan trousers a few weeks ago and they are by far the most comfortable pants ive ever worn. Theyve got jus enough stretch to them where theyre not like spandex jeans, like other Skinnier jeans ive worn before. Bought a pair of the indigo commuter jeans and stoked for them to come in the mail. AND ive actually rode my bike with these alot. and they hold up to the riding, they dont chafe like other jeans do, and if you ride fixed youll kno what i mean if you wear skinnier jeans...
Definitely recommend anyone to pick up a pair, even if you dont ride, theyre comfortable jeans.
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
4.2 out of 5(85)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cool ideas, poorly made.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
bikeybikey
from:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought a few pairs of these after trying them on and really liking the features. The fabric is somewhat water repellent, but gets soaked in hard rain. The reflective strip is cool. That's the good.
Now the bad. every pair ripped along the reinforced area while riding less than 2 months after buying these pants. The reinforcements seem to be in the wrong place and cause stress along the crotch causing it to wear quickly and rip very easily.
Levi's should re-design the reinforcements, or just make these a little tougher. Also, making 501s or 505s of this pant would be great, especially since cyclists tend to have thicker legs and the repetitive motion of biking wears the tighter jeans out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great on & off bike

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Luthfi
from:Singapore
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
I've had both 511 commuter jeans when they first came out with the brown patch and the update black patch. While I misplaced my first 511 commuter, I decided to invest in the new one and I think Levi's had made better adjustment to the jeans in terms of sizing on their new 511 commuter jeans. I wear a size 29 and the new one fits me perfectly while the old ones are pretty tight.
Coming from Singapore with humid all round tropic weather, the nanosphere technology really works. I've worn mine daily for the past 3 months (few times on the bike) for work (in a bike shop), travel and caught in a monsoon thunderstorm couple of times and the jeans really holds up really well from the rain and odor. The stretch fabric really helps in both riding and unrestricted movement in my daily mechanical work in the bike shop.
Definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a good looking jeans with great feature for daily use, not necessarily just for the cyclists.
Looking forward to many good times with this jeans!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants OFALLTIME!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
JP121
from:Lexington, KY
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Not even kidding. Even if you're not a bike commuter, most comfortable jeans I've ever owned. SRSLY
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! worth every penny.

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Moko
from:São Paulo, Brazil
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Those pants are amazing. It really protects from water!
The design is awesome, it fits very well, is comfortable, really loved it.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Levis® Commuter™ 511™ Slim Fit Jeans - Indigo Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Jeans / Collection

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Mark1220
from:Sacramento, CA, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I'd like to start off with how amazed I was with the fitting/features. I bought 2 pairs of these jeans sizes 36 & 38 my height is 5'11 and my true waist size is a 36 just to give you an example on what my specs are.
I'd wear them nearly everyday for the past month straight. I'm literally in love... the way these jeans were built w/ much mobility and durability I couldn't ask for anything more. And on top of that w/ the technology that Levi's equip with every single one of their commuter pants is amazing! I've never seen of heard of any denim company that has the nano-tech and also Odor-resistant Sanitized.
My first pair of commuters were a size 38. At first I thought these jeans would shrink dramatically. That's why I went for a size up. As i'm wearing the same exact pair for almost 2 months without having to wash them, I begin to realize that they get pretty loose. So right then and there as knew that this was going to happen with every commuter pair that stretches I'm just going to buy it in my true size 36. After having my first pair for already 5 months and only having to wash them 1-2 times and between each wash as they're hang dry, the jeans felt like it shrunk back to its original state which was great, color wise still looked the same but the feeling of the denim felt soft as if they were broken in really well. After a month later I bought my 2nd pair of commuters, they were still denim same exact style of course this time I bought it in my true size a size 36. I wore the day I bought it and man it felt a bit snugged. But it was okay, later throughout that day I notice that my jeans were seating very nicely. And at the end of the day It came to a perfect fit.
Just general speaking that these jeans are the best of the best. I hope to soon see more different types of Commuters pants/jeans. And if we're to rate these jeans i'd give it a 10/10. And I would recommend for first time Levi buyers to invest in the Denim Commuters.
I recommend this product!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>