Printer
 

Customer reviews for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black

Ride, live, and work in the same pants. Designed for the urban cyclist, our 511™ Commuter cropped pants provide greater convenience, safety, mobility, and protection no matter how you roll.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (20 reviews)
5 *
12
4 *
4
3 *
1
2 *
2
1 *
1
Recommended by:17 out of 2085% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Review 1 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit and Levis quality

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Geo11
from:Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans are the same quality and fit as the other 511s and I am thrilled. Good price too. You can spend all the big dollars on other brands but they wont be any better fit or quality. These are great.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ride to work

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
hotcakes
from:north calif.
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
fit great,look great, work great. ride on.fast shipping.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shorts

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Somedude
from:Phila, PA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These shorts are great! If you are thinking about getting them, I'd recommend grabbing a pair. Make more colors please!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dust Magnet

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
SeattleBiker
from:Seattle, WA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These pants have a great fit and feel to them and are great for biking in, like they were built for. I have them in the green color as well and love them. HOWEVER, this black color is like a dust and lint magnet. Everything sticks to them and is very visible. Can't wear these at all due to this, you just look filthy all the time. Lint rollers do nothing. Really a pity.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
kevdigsbikes
from:San Francisco
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
just the write fit, fabric weight, and length for a bike pant - well done, kids!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Knickers

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Showen
from:NorCal
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I got these to replace a pair of Prana's that got too tight a while back (I was heavier) and I did not want to make my own version again (I cut some old pants but they flared too much) so these are pretty cool. Nice slim leg. Covers and keeps my knees warm when it drops to 60 degrees. Cool rear waist strap for my mini Kryptonite and nice leather patch. HOWEVER, due to the material texture and dark color, these pants trap and display light colored hair and dog fur like a magnetized vacuum. PLEASE MAKE KNICKERS IN LIGHTER COLORS.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jeans

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
JFP3
from:San Francisco CA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
These are fun--I thought they might run a little small being classified as the "Skinny" commuter jean and bought a size an inch larger than I'd normally get. To my surprise they seem to run a little big. I washed them in hot water to shrink them a bit and that does seem to have helped.
All in all they're great on the bike. Personally I'm not sure I'd wear them anywhere else as they do look very "Bike-y."
All in all I love the Levi's Commuter Series and hope that they'll add more colors (I think these would look cool in some other shades) and also some commuter items for women as well.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
tBag
from:Grand Rapids, Mi
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
The waist fit is spot on, but you'll find the thighs may be slightly looser than a normal 511. Exactly what you want if you're going to be moving around on a bike! The attention to detail on these jeans are great, except where's the famous fifth pocket to put the key to my bike lock?
I wish I could get these in rigid denim. The black finish is not my favorite, and EVERYTHING sticks to the surface. (Except for water, I suppose.) It's slightly annoying being covered in dust and hair, because a lint roller fails to interact with the finish.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love em but order up!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
XcruckX
from:Columbus, OH
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
So i ordered the same size that i have been getting for my 511 black stretch jeans and shorts because the material %s of these shorts is listed as the same. But probably because of the nanotech stuff they put on the pant it makes the pant less stretchy. Not to say a good fitting pair doesnt fit well. Im just saying the breaking in of these jeans is in no way the same thing as breaking in some stretch 511s of the same size. I had to order 2 sizes up to make them comfortable. Maybe im getting fat or maybe its the nanotech making the fibers less stretchy, either way try them on in your regular size first before making your decision.
Plus the material feel may be a turn off to some but i dont mind it especially when i know these are going to last and not going to feel that way forever.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Runs tight

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
RegularCyclist
from:Seattle, WA
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I loved the idea of having a pair of purpose-built knickers from a familiar brand. However, I ended up returning these as the "skinny" fit really runs tight.
The material also seem to not breath as well as other urban cycling apparel. Perhaps this is just my personal taste.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They might outlive you!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Bowerbird
from:Oakland, CA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've been wearing my Commuters to my job at a grocery store three to four days a week for almost a year...and they still look great! The stitching is really strong and they clean up really well. If Levi's would make these in a few more colors, I might just wear them every day!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
chimp
from:Seattle
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I love these. The waterproofing is kind of a sham, but the cut and fit is excellent, slim but not restricting. And because they're made out of a stretchier type of denim, they do feel comfortable on the saddle. I am 5'7", 130lbs with kinda muscular thighs. Rubberized front pocket is great for keeping your cellphone in and not worrying about sweat marring the screen. They also dry very quickly, which makes up for the so-called waterproofing. All in all, I dig these a lot.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Street ready/attention to detail

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
KnowingUnknown
from:New York, NY
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I've been wearing the 511 Skinny Crop Commuter jeans for a few weeks now, and they have held up to all kinds of abuse. Constant detaching of keys, 20 miles of biking per day, rain, sun, day, night. The fabric is very thick but not very heavy, an excellent combination. No seat wear yet, after a couple hundred miles of use on the streets of NYC. Love the reflective strips sewn into the seam, and the World Champion Stripes embroidered inside the waist.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wierd fabric

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Bingerphobe
from:Berkeley, CA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I was really looking forward to the commuter jeans coming out and brought them right away. But the fabric has a weird toxic feel, like some nano particles are in conflict with my skin. The fabric also holds all kind of dust and loose fibers and Hairs on it's surface like a magnet and is difficult to brush off. The fit is good, but they just feel creepy. I'd take them back if i could. I would buy another pair if they were made out of a decent fabric - really.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
TopherBrown
from:Honolulu, HI
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I am very happy with these jeans, but just keep in mind that the fit is very slim. I normally wear a 32W x 34L, but I bumped up to a 34W x 34L because the 32W was just not going to happen. I'm 6'3" and about 175#, and the 34 x 34 fits perfectly. They look great, especially when rolled up, and are quite comfortable. I think that if you are larger in the thighs or hips, though, you might feel a bit restricted as they are a snug fit.
Black is good, but I do wish that they made the cropped version in other colors, especially the khaki. That would look great!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ahead of the curve

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
SMGHR
from:NYC, NY
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Way to step it up Levis. These jeans prove that collaborations are the way to go. Thank you John Prolly!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Pants

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer avatar
LukeinAlexandria
from:Alexandria, VA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I really like the cropped jeans. One thing that I really like that is not mentioned is the right pocket in front is "rubberized" so that you can carry your iPod in it without it getting wet from sweat. Well, you could really carry anything in there to keep it from getting wet.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great biking jeans...especially for commuters

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
beepbopborp
from:Los Angeles, CA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I love these jeans.
I normally use my bike to commute to work (6mi one way), so these are perfect because I don't have to change once I get into work. It's a bit more casual than normal jeans, but I work in digital media so it's all kosher.
This isn't built for people with huge thighs, but the stretchy denim definitely helps. In the picture, these sit right below the knee, but on me (5'5") it sits a little further below, requiring me to roll up a bit more. Still looks great though and my fiancee loves them on me!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 511™ Skinny Commuter Cropped Pants - Black
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Fit:
Runs Very Small
4 / 7
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size