Printer
 

Customer reviews for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy

Our 508™ Regular Taper Jeans combine the best of both worlds. The fit is cut to sit looser at the waist and thigh with a gradual taper down through the leg opening. The result is a fit that keeps an overall tailored silhouette that doesn't compromise comfort. Also, recommended for an athletic build.
Overall rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (21 reviews)
5 *
10
4 *
7
3 *
3
2 *
0
1 *
1
Recommended by:18 out of 2186% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Review 1 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Greaat Jeans

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
wade3566rf
from:Ohio, USA
Age: 14 - 17
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've had my 508s for a few months, and I don't think you really need an athletic build to pull them off. I'm what you would definitely call skinny, and they are still not too slim and not too loose. I've worn other taper jeans and they are my favorite fit, and these are the best of the best. I just wish they had more washes and colors.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PLEASE BRING BACK THE 520 EXTREME TAPER!!!!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
NickDub
from:Overland Park, KS
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I LOVE LOVE LOVED Levi's 520 extreme taper fit, but since those have been discontinued, I thought I'd try the 508's. These don't have the roominess in the thighs the 520 had which means they are tight on mine. The tightness on my thighs and the wider leg opening take away from the tapered look I like. If you have smaller thighs, these would probably work really well. The 508's just don't fit my legs very well. I would love a return of the 520's!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these jeans!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
DownhillLevi
from:Little Rock, AR
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I've always worn Levi 501's and tapered/altered them the old school way. I've done this for several decades, because newer styles never fit me well. 501's were never a great fit for me, either, and so I've long wished for a Levi jean that fit thin men, like myself.
I own 3 pairs of this model, all in the same size and all 100% cotton. While they all fit a little different, they still all fit great.
The first were actually 521's -- the predecessor to the 508. They fit surprisingly large in the waist and they slouch. Then I purchased a pair of 508 pants, which just fit great, but didn't slouch and were not that slim. Finally I purchased a pair of 508 jeans and they're considerably tighter then the others, and they don't slouch, either.
I'll also mention that none seem to fit that low on the waist, which I love, because I hate jeans that do (note to Levi's: please don't take that to mean I want you to bring back ultra-high waist jeans, because I hate them just as much.) I just hope Levi's continues making them forever, because I'll always buy them.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted May 28, 2014
My only gripe with these jeans is that the waist is too large. That's a common problem with Levi's, but it's particularly ironic with this model, since they recommend it for athletic builds. The hips, butt and thighs are all fine and it's just the waist. I guess Levi's idea of an athlete is a skinny bowler with a beer belly.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good jeans, fit is way big.

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
dseitzinger87
Age: 25 - 29
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
The quality of the seams is good, as is the fabric and dying quality. It seems to fit a full size bigger than it should, though. If I'd known, I'd have ordered a size smaller.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted May 28, 2014
This is true, but only for the waist.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jeans I have ever owned

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Phil55677
from:Minneapolis, MN
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Truly, these jeans are amazing. If I had to wear one pair of pants for the rest of my life, this would be them. I have waited 23 years for jeans that manage to have a stylish taper and that actually fit men who don't have twigs for legs; PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE THIS PRODUCT. My only complaint is that they couldn't endure me wearing them every hour of the day for long enough.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted May 5, 2014
I have twig legs and can barely get them into these jeans, because they have one of the smaller leg openings that Levi's offers. Your legs can't be that big if they also fit.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Skinny in Disguise

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Jefff
from:Michigan
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
I was looking to try my first real pair of styled jeans, but didn't want a legitimate skinny fit, simply something fitted. So, I just recently received my pair of 521 Slim Taper Rigid Envy (30x32). Now, I'm about as skinny as they come (5'11", 140 lbs, 28.5" waist, 36.5" hips), but I must have some strange proportions around the thigh for a guy my size (22"), because while these are generally true to size around the waist and seat, I could barely get anything into the front pockets!
I was under the impression that this style would be more functional than it was. To be fair, I'm not sure if its my proportions, or this particular color (Rigid Envy), or the sizing (maybe should get a size up to get more room in the thigh?). I would suggest for slim/skinny guys, but ones with larger thighs, you should probably try a regular 520 Taper, but I hear those have even smaller leg openings than the Slim Taper, which seems strange.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My man's jeans

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
LadyJane91
from:New York, NY
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My man has small butt - cute but small - his thighs are also slim. Problem with fit is: if it fits the waist and butt it gets baggy in the thigh area to the knee. These are the best fitting jeans so far - but I would like to see a slimmer cut in the thighs. We were able to get this fit many - many years ago. What happened?
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need to work for the right fit

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
stonedillinger
from:Newark, NJ
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Jeans fit nice, but of course they are rigid. It will just take some work wearing them everyday and eventually, they will probably be my favorite jeans in no time. There is nothing like that personal fit that you only get from rigid jeans. The wash is pretty cool too.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Teekz
from:San Francisco, Ca
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Sits great, love the taper. Perfect choice, better than 511's and 514's!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

slim is closer to skinny

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
frogstir
from:los angeles
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
i normally wear the 521 which is a true slim taper. size i buy is 36x30. i purchased the 513 in the same size and could not get them on. fits tight in the thigh and sized closer to a 34. not the jean for me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted May 5, 2014
What does all that have to do with the 508 jean? How do 508's fit you?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't try you'll never know

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
DT501
from:Sarasota, FL
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I'm pretty conservative in my cloting style, I recently branched out from 501's to 514 and 569, liked them both very much. I saw the Slim Taper jeans on the website and thought they looked cool but wondered if they would be too trendy for me. I decided to try them and found they fit great and I got a compliment the first time I wore them. Nice jeans!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice wash, size is a little big.

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
JustinS
from:Raleigh/Durham, NC
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
The wash is 5/5, the fit is 3/5. So my overall impression is they are slightly better than the average jean 4 out of 5. I have a pair of 7s in a similar style that are skinnier at the lower leg, which I like, these are slightly baggier. But they also cost about $100 less so I can live with it.
I would buy them again, just one size smaller than my other levis (they run about 1 size too big).
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice and all, but sizing is too inconsistent

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Giraffeonspeed
from:Boston
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I bought these jeans in black at a store with a 30 in waist, which fit pretty well in part because they are slightly stretchy. The Rigid jeans I ordered in the same size are slightly too small. I can wear them, but they are a bit too snug. Either sizing should be more consistent or the lack of stretchiness of this color should be more explicit. If a 30 fits you in the black, then order a 31 or 32 in any other color. Otherwise the fit is near perfect. I don't have legs skinny enough for 510 or 511s, but I wanted a slight taper at the bottom, so these are great.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
AndyMan
from:Los Angeles
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great cut for somebody who wants a slim classic fit without going jeggings with the 511's. Only wish the weight of the denim was a little heavier.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
MrWestern
from:los angeles
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
picked these up at a store last week. i like these jeans, color is similar to the ridged dragon, but slightly different. I bought them mainly because of the color of the stitching, really nice rusty brown color.
I'm not used to slouching my jeans. but it's different and this jean actually looks better when it's a bit low on the waist.
sizing is interesting. since this was made to wear slouchy and i think the waist is made a bit wider so you can sag it a bit. I had to size down 1 from 33 to 32 waist in order for the jean to fit properly below my waist. Keep the same length as you would 511's, you'll need it.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Mr504
from:West Virginia
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Fit is perfect. If you think the 511's are a little tight in the thighs but you really like how they fit at your ankles and how they show off your shoes this is the pair of jeans for you!
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the shape...

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer avatar
levisonlyplease
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
The 521 is just the right proportion of slimness to taper. The fit isn't too tight on the thigh but you still get that nice, even V down the leg. However, there is still an unacceptable amount of vanity sizing here: the waist measured a full 30 inches, even though all the tags clearly said 28.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Jeans

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
JimmyV
from:New York
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Absolutely fantastic jeans. The fit is perfect. Best pair of jeans I have bought in years. If you like a slim fitting jean with a little extra room in the thigh area these are perfect.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Fit for now

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
BuiltOnStrength
from:Chicago, IL
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I'm of average proportions and I've tried for many years to find the perfect pair of Levis jeans, only Levis. There's no need for any other brands when it comes to jeans. I've always loved the iconic 501s but unfortunately they have an unflattering fit on me, why? I'm not quite sure. I think it's due in part to the combination of the boxiness of the waist and the relaxed legs, though they have somewhat of a charm that I do love. These meet the criteria that I love in a good solid pair of pants. Somewhat of a classic rise with plenty of room at the thighs to avoid the skinny jean phenomenon yet slim enough at the legs to make that handsome pair of shoes or boots stand out. A sophisticated classic fitting jean. It's a nice 1960s type fit. The only way you could perfect these jeans even better is by ditching the zipper and adding a button fly to completely top it off. Buttons are just more elegant, rugged, and aesthetically pleasing.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 508™ Regular Taper Jeans - Rigid Envy
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent jeans

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
HuskyPride
from:Storrs, CT
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
love the rigid feel
feel a bit tight sitting down.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>