Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid

505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid

One of our most popular straight fit jeans, the 505™ Regular Fit Jeans are beloved for their classic straight-leg style. Cut to sit at the waist, comfortable throughout the seat and thigh—straight down to the ankle. Great for all body types.
Overall rating:
3.24 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (75 reviews)
5 *
29
4 *
10
3 *
7
2 *
8
1 *
21
Recommended by:44 out of 7559% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Review 1 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice color, very sturdy, shrink *some* but not a *lot*

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Lukas
from:Minneapolis, MN
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Some of the reviews for 505 Rigid were a bit contrary to my experience so I've decided to chime in. First, the good stuff: this is a very heavyweight denim, and it is literally "rigid." The color of a new pair is nice and dark, even darker than it appears on the screen. One of the reasons I wanted this pair is that I like durable products and since these have not been chemically treated, they should last much longer than the typical broken-in-from-new types. They certainly feel like they should. As much as I like the color, I'm hopeful that it doesn't fade too rapidly. It seems many people buy "raw" denim jeans because they like the way it fades and develops lines over time, but I'd rather these just stay nice and dark. One of the miracles of dark denim is that it hides dirt and stains better than just about any other material, so I want them to stay this way. Time will tell, but I have doubts.
Now for the fit. Some reviewers claim these are "huge" for the tagged size so you should buy a size smaller than usual. Others claim that these are "raw" or "shrink-to-fit," you should buy your usual size, soak them to shrink them, wear them wet, etc., etc. According to Levi, these are "sanforized" (pre-shrunk) but otherwise untreated, but they also state on the tag that home laundering may cause some shrinkage. I decided to buy my usual size (31W 34L). I ordered four different jeans in the same size: these (505 in Rigid), 505's in Tumbled Rigid, 504's in Earnest, and 501's in Rinse. I measured inseam length on all of them. The 501's measured at a 33" inseam and fit like they were tailored for me, both length and waist, absolutely perfect. The 504's fit well in the waist but stretched a bit after a couple wears (they do have some elastic in them) to where I need a belt to keep them where I want them, and have a 33.75" inseam. A bit long but liveable. Besides, with the stretch, these are hands down the most comfortable jeans I've ever worn. The 505's in Tumbled Rigid have a 33.5" inseam, also a touch long, and are snug but not tight in the waist. I suspect these will loosen a bit in time. That brings us to 505 Rigid. As new, these were quite loose in the waist (but stayed up because they're so rigid), and had a whopping 35" inseam. WAY mucho long. Some reviewers had me convinced they'd shrink right up if I gave them a 30 min. warm water soak, so I gave it a go. They did loose some significant length and now measure 33.625", but are only marginally less loose in the waist and through the leg. Maybe a proper machine wash and a trip through the dryer would have them even closer to the tagged size. I'm afraid they'll fade to much to try it, though. At any rate, my assessment is that these most certainly are *not* shrink-to-fit as some have claimed, although they do shrink some and wind up running a little large in the end, but not as much as some folks make it sound. If you like yours to fit a little snug then you could consider sizing down and avoiding hot water and dryers. If you don't mind them a bit more loose then buy your regular size and wash away. In the end, I'm pleased with the fit, finish, and material. If the color holds up they're a home run. If they fade quickly but prove durable, I'll still purchase again in the same size for work (woods work, not office work).
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Regular Fit Is Back!!!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Old505Man
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I am very pleased that LS&Co. has gone back to the old Regular Fit 505. The low rise Straight Fit version with larger leg opening is horrible in my opinion. Thank you, LS&Co., for listening to your customers and going back to the old Regular Fit 505!
My 505 rigid observations...
SIZE: 34X30
Measurements Before Washing
Waist fit exactly as expected, just a tad lose. Front Rise-12.5"; Inseam-32"; Leg Opening-17"; Fit-plenty of room in seat and thighs.
After taking the above measurements, I turned the garment inside out and soaked in hot water for an hour, then into the dryer on high. Repeated this process at least twice, then washed in cold water on regular cycle and dried on low heat. Be careful, wash water will turn dark blue with dye, so wash separately the first few times. Garment still maintains nice rich dark color after first wash though.
Measurements After Above Process
Waist fit perfectly after very slight shrinkage of maybe one half inch. Front Rise-12.5"; Inseam-30.3"; Leg Opening-16.5"; Fit-slimmed down just a touch, but still plenty of room in seat and thighs without being baggy... exactly as I expected!
The cut of the new Regular Fit 505 is virtually indistinguishable from an old pair I have that is over 10 years old (made in USA). My perception of the denim however is that it is not quite as thick and tight as the old pair, and that is the only reason for my 4 star rating instead of 5. If I could, I would have rated 4.5 stars.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

He liked it...but wanted it to be fitter

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
jackson2014
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
My jeans fit perfect however the male fit jean was a little too big.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
elrebeco
Posted May 18, 2014
I am and will always be a Levi's man but I wish that Levi's could make a higher grade of jeans, my dad recalls when he was in his teens, it fascinated him at just how well Levi's were constructed, to the point that he was able to make his pair of jeans stand on their own, anyone who has ever owned a pair of 501 jeans understands the craftsmanship that goes into putting each and everyone of these masterpieces. I trust Levi's will not disappoint those of us who are passionate about denim. Thank you Levi's for your time
P.S. Stay Gold
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Ekozlovich
Posted March 27, 2014
Levis, please make a 31" inseam...PLEASE!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these jeans!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
AliasRick
from:Lakeland, FL, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
From "the box", these jeans are unwashed, too big and too long. After reading other reviews on how to treat "unsanforized" jeans, I soaked these in luke warm water for 2 hours, changing the water once. I then washed them inside-out in warm water & tumble dried on high heat. I have since washed them 3 more times and they fit great, true to size.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is just what I wanted.

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Peter21
from:Hammond, IN, USA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
My jeans were cut in a professional manner.
I enjoy the design of 505 jeans.
They were sized right and made of great quality denim.
I am pleased with my purchase.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jeans

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
pmurphy
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I ordered my regular size. I washed and dried the jeans before wearing and they fit perfectly. I expect these jeans to continue to wear for a long time and to acquire mellow character as they age. One caveat. I am going to wash separately for the first 4 or 5 washes, as I expect the dye to run. I highly recommend.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
evgeniyk
Posted October 22, 2013
So it should be. Just do not wash before all wearable and look at the label. And the size of the patch on - size after washing, in fact a little more on the size of 0.5-1.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jeans, but with a few shortcomings

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
GoatOfDeparture
from:Cincinnati, OH
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
pros:
* Very heavy denim, which means they will likely last long
* Great indigo color, which will give classic fading if you avoid machine washing.
* Comfortable feel, especially after wearing for a while
cons:
* Indigo dye can bleed through to other materials if moist, though not as much as expected. They can't be machine washed, since doing so would cause major dye loss.
* Small amount of pilling throughout, especially with the white cotton under-weave.
* White cotton gives the fabric a shiny look since it is mostly visible when looking directly at the fabric, which can be a bit tacky looking. This will probably go away as the indigo dye slowly migrates throughout the fabric.
* Biggest issue is that the pants are oversized. This is expected since they haven't been washed due to their minimal processing. I soaked them in lukewarm water for ~20 min. This had done a fair job in shrinking the jeans, but they are still a size too big in length and waste.
That should just about cover everything. If you are interested in a timeless pair of jeans for a very reasonable cost, these are perfect. They are likely to last a good amount of time, and will have that personal touch as they conform and fade to the wearer.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PeteB
Posted May 24, 2014
I don't believe the 505 Rigid will shrink down to the size on the label if washed only as described above, because the fabric and process is different from the other 505's.
Dye loss can be kept to a minimum if they are cared for according to directions for "raw denim", even though these are not raw by the true definition of the word. (washed inside out, in cold water, etc...)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
evgeniyk
from:Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk Oblast, Russia
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
These jeans are larger than specified on the label.
But examining this issue has come to the conclusion that the need to take one size in the waist and subtract 2 sizes in length from its normal fit 501.
For example: 501 32x34 = 505 31x32.
I can say that I was not mistaken and jeans sat perfectly with the fact that they are like regular jeans will shrink slightly after the first wash. But do not confuse them with the STF, they do not give a shrink ever.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not for beginners

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
DirtyDenim76
from:Valley Stream, NY, USA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I have been reading some of the reviews from people. The people that say these are way to big compared to their other 505's they have purchased need to understand that these are unwashed and untreated denim. What that means is they will shrink down to the tagged size once they are soaked or washed. They are similar to the 501 shrink to fits. If you are looking to buy these please research what to do with unsanforized denim. You will understand why these come much bigger than the tagged size. If you dont have the time or the patience for what these jeans require dont buy them because they require some work. If you make the choice to do what I suggest, U will never go back to pre treated jeans again.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
PeteB
Posted May 24, 2014
I believe the 505 Rigid is made from a heavier/denser grade of denim than the new 501 STF's (13.75 oz/yd compared to 12.5 oz for the STF), so they may seem more rigid and heavy. Although I do not have two new pairs to compare side-by-side, I think that comment is correct. Fabric may also be a tighter weave on a better loom.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
DirtyDenim76
Posted July 29, 2013
The strange thing is about these is they are by far much more rigid and heavy then the 501 rigid shrink to fits. These jeans just like the stf are not wearable unless u soak them before wearing. They are unflattering to say the least until u 1) shrink em and 2 break them in. Rigid all though not raw is still stiff. Once u have held these in ur hand for the first time u will def think they have never touched water. I am surprised Levis says they are pre shrunk. That said please do not expect these 505 rigids to fit nicely until u put some love into them..Once u get a bit of a soak (15-30 Min) in cold or warm water depending on how much shrinking u need (cold less and warm to hot more shrinking) and a few months of hard wearing, U will think these jeans were made for ur exact body proportions
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
eddiep
Posted July 29, 2013
Rather, it says they are "pre-shrunk." All this gets a bit confusing...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
eddiep
Posted July 29, 2013
It says they are washed in the "Product Description."
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 10 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the jeans I remember jeans should be

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Levi102497
from:Manila, Philippines
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I just got this pair today & as I expected, the jeans are a bit big out of the box. But these are raw jeans, so they should shrink a bit after the 1st wash. I bought my exact size 34x32 & they should fit me well after I wear them as long as I can before washing.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

RIGID RULES

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
LosVarmits
from:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Awesome jeans...love the Rigid/ Raw look....especially once the "whisking" starts.....the waist was a bit big...I've been wearing 36 for years and these fit like a 38.....I had these tailored to fit more like a 511 slim fit....most cost effective way to get rigid Levis w/ fit I prefer....I'll likely buy 3-4 more pairs of these once the size I want is in stock....wish Levis made an affordable 511 Rigid/Raw jean..I'd buy even more of those....I'm a Levis addict...thats really the cut I love...oh well...thank God I can even get these though
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great looking, horrible fit

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Smokewagon
from:Los Angeles, C
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
I bought these jeans based upon prior ownership of the same line (505). These jeans however are VERY small (waist) compared to other 505's I have owned. Great color though.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
rcastle
Posted August 18, 2014
I have been wearing Levi's for 30 years. These jeans fit well. My issue is that the front pockets have been made one inch shorter than they were for nearly 30 years. Not acceptable to change something that was the standard.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
LosVarmits
Posted June 22, 2013
Awesome jeans...love the Rigid/ Raw look....especially once the "whisking" starts.....the waist was a bit big...I've been wearing 36 for years and these fit like a 38.....I had these tailored to fit more like a 511 slim fit....most cost effective way to get rigid Levis w/ fit I prefer....I'll likely buy 3-4 more pairs of these once the size I want is in stock....wish Levis made an affordable 511 Rigid/Raw jean..I'd buy even more of those....I'm a Levis addict...thats really the cut I love...oh well...thank God I can even get these though
+14points
14of 14voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heavy denim

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
OnlyLevisForMe
from:Morristown, NJ, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
This is the heaviest denim around for the price. The jeans will shrink a bit and fade. Fit is a bit baggy. Hoping jeans will continue shrink with washing and drying.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but apparently mislabeled

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Charles57
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I went to a lot of trouble to find 505 "Regular Fit" jeans. With the straight fit I find myself walking on my pants cuff, and since I am not a teen ager I don't like that. The regular fit jeans I ordered came with an invoice stating regular fit but the jeans were labeled straight fit. I called to complain and was told they really were regular fit, just mislabeled. This turns out to be true.
I like the 505 jeans but wish there were a more varied choice of colors, like tan, brown, olive, etc.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
blackhawk67t
Posted August 19, 2013
Actually they were NOT mislabeled. Per LEVIS, these aren't really "505 regular fit jeans" they are the "505 straight fit". They just changed the name because too many people complained.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good jeans

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
eddiep
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
jeans seemed a little bigger than other pairs of levi's, but i washed them in cold water and then put them in the dryer and now they fit just about perfect. good dark color and solid material.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

runs big

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
levixiong
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
32x34s fits me perfectly, which is no problems with 501, 527,514,569. I read reviews so I ordered 30x32 this time. when I got it finally, I tired it on. Length is like 32 which is a bit short but still ok. Waist is like 31 which is a bit tight. Material is what I expected, very much tough and very much hard. This is so far the hardest jeans I have ever seen. I am going to another one 31x34, see if will fit me perfect. I really like this jean expect for the confusing sizing. I have washed it, cold water, very serious color fading, so I did not leave it long in water. Drying in air, no shrink found.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit, Great quality, Love them!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Katydid2
from:Lexington, KY
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
the rigid color is dark and just right. Fits just like they should, great price.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always Just Right

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
DennisJoe
from:Lakeland, Fl
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
As always, I'm happy with my Levi's 505's. They're always true to size and shrinkage is minimal. It's hard to ask for more then that.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SENT THE WRONG ITEM

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer avatar
varazava
from:Levittown, NY, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
The jean I received is supossed to be 34x30, but the measures doesn't match with my normal size. I will return it because I thing is a mistake from production.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 505™ Regular Fit Jeans - Rigid
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not fit

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
login17
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
User submitted photo
This jeans did not fit, because they longer than size W32xL32.
My size is W32xL32, I bought size: W32xL32. Why? I don't know...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
VMVIWI
Posted April 10, 2014
Please research STF jeans on washing/sizing you can even find it on YouTube. I believe someone on here stated to buy your normal size on the label although it will seem larger. After soaking for 20-30min. or washing/drying it should fit to your contours like no other jeans.
***Try soaking & wearing a couple times, will be kinda stiff a bit but
will mold to the contours of your body. Hope this helps anyone chiming in on break-in process with Levi's 501/505 STF jeans.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 next>>