Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Bottoms or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ are the real deal. Pre 1960's, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Breaking them in by wearing and not washing them is all part of the process. They truly improve with age, becoming a second skin, perfectly fitted to your body and how you move. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
3.867 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (30 reviews)
5 *
15
4 *
5
3 *
5
2 *
1
1 *
4
Recommended by:22 out of 3073% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Review 1 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Yo...

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Boston, MA, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Ive had these jeans in NUMEROUS colors throughout the years...they're dope af when you FIRST get them (even though the waist seems to have no elasticity) but after you wash them they shrink TREMENDOUSLY! So basically they're a 2-4x wear and then that's it! If you get them big, get them like 3x regular size (but don't wear them that big cause you'll like insane) and then wash before wear. Good luck, Yo!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I returned them, but not Levis fault

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
IndianaDogWalker
from:Indiana, USA
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Getting the size right in the shrink to fit was too time consuming. At the time I received them, I was working long days. The pair I ordered was way too small b4 washing. I'll probably have another go at it when I have more time to test and return til I hit the right size. I'd like to be able to figure it out, as in my opinion, they're the heaviest and most like the originals from the 50s-60s
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love my 501 Shrink to Fits

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
HarleyRidingMama
from:North Country Arizona
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Wasn't sure what the color Postal would be like, but figured "Black Fill" meant black dyed so that can't be bad, and they where priced pretty decent at the time, so I figured go for it, need new Levis anyway and it fit my budget. The color turned out ok, and most important of all I got the same great fit as always so I'm happy.
I've been wearing men's 501 Rigid Shrink to Fits for about 50 years and love the fit, quality, durability. Best jeans ever!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They Run Big

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
RHSP
from:Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
Fabric was very thick, almost like canvas. Fit was good but did not shrink line the blue regular denim, so they are a bit baggy in the crouch and thighs. They look nice and unique.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but kinda expensive

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Pear235
from:Florida, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Jeans are somewhat rigid and have a thick material. The button-fly has 4 buttons and it's difficult to fit the buttons through the hole. Color is really solid and dark though. Don't wear these jeans when it rains or it will get wrinkled.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing Guide Fallacy

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
BobDobalina
from:Earth
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Do not follow the size guides Levi has posted for these jeans. Buy your actual waist size and 2 sizes larger in the inseam. THEN actually measure the item to make sure that the jeans are what they say they are. The sizing is inconsistant, I ordered two different sizes and neither of them matched what was listed on the sizing tags. So if you want to accurately determine how much shrinking you will need to do you have to make sure you know what you are working with to start.
Wear the jeans right out of the box (no washing or soaking). This will allow the pants to stretch a bit in the waist. Cuff the jeans during this break in period as the inseam will be too long. After you have stretched the waist out by wearing them THEN do your shrinking via soaking or washing. I listened to Levis advice about sizing up and had to return 3 pairs before figuring this out. If you can buy retail to save yourself from Levis overpriced super slow delivery service. I live in a metropolitan area in the midwest and it took way too long to get this item.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Levis Quality has gone way down hill

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
DAW76
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
These jeans are nothing like they used to be! Levis need to get back to there roots and put out quality jeans!! Not these cheap junk knock offs!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He LOVES them!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
HippyToad
from:Tampa Florida
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
We were driving to the outlets to get these jeans. Not only did I find other colors that he'd never seen before but they are just as cheap on here as going to the outlet and we never had to leave our house!
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

loose in crotch and butt

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
justhere
from:San Marcos, TX, USA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs big
Runs Very Big
Runs big
I have had mine for about 2 weeks and done the hot bath and wear dry once. The waist is fine and the length is still long,but what bothers me is they are really loose in my crotch and butt. Can someone please how to fix them?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Spunky25
Posted July 9, 2013
try wearing them still damp from dryer...they conform better
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
tubintom
Posted July 2, 2013
ok
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

beware

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
sivel22
from:los angeles
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
these run very big a 35 waist measured just under 37 inches and after a hot soak 36.5
the quality is poor and not worth the price even with a 40% black Friday discount
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but not the same denim/fit

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
kiddredd
from:Nashville, TN, USA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
The colored 501's (I have 4 diff colors) do not shrink-to-fit the same way as the regular denim ones. I like the pants a lot. Just wish they'd shrink the same.
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Monoblock
from:Houston, TX, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Love the 501 shrink to Fit style. I saw more colors in Macy's over the weekend that aren't on the site. I'd love to buy them online if they were available.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Different jeans

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
DickieW
from:North Carolina
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Postal jeans are significantly different than regular 501's. Their dark blue color is a little dressier. Washing in cold water 2X has not caused any fading. With the dark color I wouldn't wait six months to wash. If you want something different but really like 501's, then Postal would be a good choice.
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dont forget...

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
As always, Levis puts out a great product.But always remember to add 1" to the waist and 2" to the length when ordering Shrink to Fit.Now i have a pair that are a bit too tight but may fit in mt skinnier days to come?
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
shaun
from:Indianapolis, IN
Age: 14 - 17
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
these postal 501s are great. i had mine for a while and there still looking brand new... I take all mey levis to the dry cleaners so first time owners dont wash them or they will mess up dry clean them
I recommend this product!
 
My Product Recommendations
501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
4.2 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best stf's yet

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
STFRAW
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
This is my 3rd pair of 501 STF's. Die hard STF wearers will tell you never to wash them- put them in the freezer to disinfect and just keep wearing them. This actually works well to keep them from smelling but if they have stains you are advised to spot clean them and since they are unwashed this can cause patches of faded color. Using the "never wash" method you should order these jeans true to size and they will fit well, but the first time they get soaked they will shrink 2" in the inseam. That's what happened to my first two pairs and now they are kinda high waters.
The method that works best for me is to order my jeans true to size in the waist and 2" longer in the inseam. When I get them home I go through a ritual that yields the perfect jean. First, soak them in the washing machine and run through the spin cycle to get excess water out. Then roll them up in a towel and stomp on them to ring 'em out. Here comes the fun part-- put the wet jeans on. I'm sure this isn't absolutely necessary, but in the true spirit of Shrink-to-fit I think of this part as putting in the work for the perfect fit. Plus the expression on my fiancé's face is priceless. The theory is that the heat transfer from your body accelerates the drying time and cinches the denim in at all the right places-- to that end, go commando or bust. By the time they have dried you will have a custom fit pair of 501's that retain the rigid character that is lost during the factory washing process. Having been soaked already you can wash them if they are gross without ruining the fit, but never put them in the dryer. Oh, and wash or soak them inside out to reduce fading.
Finally, the postal color is awesome- sort of a dickies blue that makes them the perfect work jean or casual alternative to indigo.
I recommend this product!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Spunky25
Posted July 9, 2013
Ive found that wearing ANY jeans damp results in a better fit
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super-Dark Jeans

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
cjonesplay
from:San Fran
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I have a pair of the rigid shrink-to-fits, which are pretty much the classic color. These are a different type of dye. First of all, they don't bleed hardly at all when soaking. Second, I don't feel like they shrank quite as much, and I had to soak 3x before they started to fit better. Don't expect these to fade anytime soon, either. I washed/line-dried them already and they are still as dark as when I bought them. They are getting soft and don't seem to be quite as heavy/rough as traditional STF's, which I guess makes them a bit more dressy. Not sure what these are going to look like a year from now, but the quality is great and some of my favorite jeans started out a little sterile and dark, but ended up just right after about 2-3 years of wear.
I recommend this product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Mann
from:Michigan
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I Have loved this brand of clothing since a friend told me of Levis. These are the best pants i have found, to wear they are perfect. I would like to 1 day have all colors.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Levi's STF Postal

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Wichita
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are tough-as-nails jeans with a stylish deep dark wash. I got the best of both worlds with these jeans. Enough said.
Note: You should soak these in a tub with boiling hot water to get the best fit. You can repeat this as much as you want to get your desired fit.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 501® Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - Postal w/ Black Fill
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Levi's

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
MaxPowers
from:Katy, Texas
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
These are good jeans but would be even better if they made it big and tall or tall and slim cause im 6'9 and can barely fit these and they get dirty real easy i have all these white stain on them that seem to never go away sooo idk this is a good nice color but i wouldn't recommend these for people to get just because they get dirty easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>