Printer
 

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ

Raw, rough, and as pure as jeans can be, Shrink-to-Fit™ is the real deal. Before 1984, this was the only way you could get your jeans. Not washing them for 6 months and dragging them behind cars was all part of the breaking-in process. These are for all you denim purists who want to leave a mark—every crease, tiny hole, paint splatter, and fray will be your very own.
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (22 reviews)
5 *
15
4 *
3
3 *
0
2 *
2
1 *
2
Recommended by:19 out of 2286% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lack of availability--

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Seattle WA
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
The 34" waist in these were too small for my husband. 36" waist wasn't available after Christmas. Will keep checking back, but that's annoying, honestly. Otherwise they were great.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jeans!!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
jle3
from:Boulder, CO, USA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are the best jeans ever, I got the bbk along with the postal, both of them are great. The size instructions are just right, I followed them and did´n have any problem. The fit is perfect and levis is the best.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit, great color

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
DPChicago
from:Chicago, IL
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These were my first attempt at shrink-to-fits...worked out great! Ended up throwing them in a hot water bath twice to get a little closer of a fit. Inseam did not shrink as much as the site advertises (I'd say to only overshoot by 1 - 2" from your normal inseam), but they look fine cuffed. And though I'm used to wearing slimmer Levi's fits (514s, 599s - I think they're called 513s now - etc.), these really will conform to your body pretty well. In a word, thrilled!
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good jeans

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Winky
from:L.A.
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
You definitely want to go up one waist size on these jeans as the site recommends. The length will shrink considerably with the first wash. You are supposed to wear these for a long time before washing them to let the "shrink-to-fit" work. I have not washed these yet, but have another pair in green. ****IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO TURN THESE INSIDE OUT WHEN WASHING AND DRYING***** I skipped that move on my other pair and they developed some serious creases/wrinkles that take a long time to fade out.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loyal Levi Lover.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
CaptYack
from:San Francisco CA. Levi's Home town.
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
For over 50+ years all I have ever worn are Srink to Fit Butten Fly 501 Levi's. Nothing else.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

misleading color

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
siemon
from:South JerZ
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Despite the printed caveats,
the color in the photograph is clearly brown aka barbecue, the color of the pants which arrived have a very strong purple overtone.
they are en route back to you.
Outside of the color mismatch to what is photographically illustrated, the quality and construction is ever dependable Levis.
thanks and good day,
siemon
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply perfect Jeans!

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Spamela
from:Riverside, CA
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
What a nice fit and wonderful new color!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of jeans

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
shaun
from:Indianapolis, IN
Age: 14 - 17
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
i bought these when they first came out and they were kinda pricy but they were worth every cent i recommend anyone these pants!!!!!
P.S. these pants look way better in person than they do online
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Darn Good.

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
m1m1m1
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I got these jeans for my boyfriend and he is pretty pleased so far. The color is spot on and its a nice thick denim. I was disappointed that the sizing didn't allow for shrinking for my boyfriend. He wears a 36 inseam and these jeans don't come in a 39 inch inseam (it says to order 3 inches longer if you are planning to wash and dry these jeans). He doesn't care and plans to let them drip dry.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love Levi's!

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Swaggaliciuos
from:Bedrock, MI
Age: 18 - 19
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
These seem to have been a little smaller than my many other pairs of levi's so I had to return them and go a size up. Customer service was very helpful, I was able to exchange them for the same sale price I originally paid, and the new order arrived in a couple days! I was totally satisfied! Thanks Levi, I shall return!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wash resulted in permanent wrinkles

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
deedledortch
from:Providence, RI
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I received these jeans and washed them immediately to shrink to fit. After washing them, the pants had permanent wrinkles due to fading. These pants were not what I expected.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
501s
Posted November 18, 2012
you are not suppose to wash them right away your suppose to wear them a few times first thats probably why that happen the more you wear them the better they fit
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kerouac inspired me

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
DoctorTEXAS
from:Phoenix, AZ
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
First off Levi's, thanks for the discount on Black Friday.
Second here is an American Haiku inspired by the man who created the American Haiku, Jack Kerouac.
From the Arizona mountaintop
To the Trunk Space BBQ jeans
Are what's happening
I'm going to wear these red jeans with a "one year" trucker jacket and make like I'm the Arizona Bret Easton Ellis and go to a show at the Cresent Ballroom.
If you like shrink-to-fit BBQ 501's don't disappoint.
Thanks.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these look amazing on my boyfriend

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
fishh00k
from:CA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
the man had one pair of pants. the day winter finally hit our desert, we got on levis.com and picked out 2 pair of sweet new 501s. we agreed that "bbq" and "clean shaven" were the coolest colors in his size (38x34). he looked for the ups guy every day waiting for his "bbqs" and they were worth the wait. i came home from work one day to find him looking super hot in these pants and i still can't help but check him out when he's got these on.
the "clean shaven" pair are original and the "bbq" pair is shrink-to-fit and they both fit perfectly. we wash them in cold water and line dry them so they don't shrink much and they always look good.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Levi's 501 Original Shrink-To-Fit Jeans

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
WildNupe
from:Chicago, Illinois
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
If you want a pair of jeans that you could wear to work or out for fun Levi's are the jeans you must buy!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love These Jeans!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Fashionmama
from:New Orleans, LA
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I purchased the 501 Shrink To Fit jeans for my son. I have to say that these jeans are even better lookn in person! The fit was perfect for him at an unbeatable price. I purchased four pair in four different colors...grey, brown, 3D Onyx & BBQ. I really love these jeans. Thanx Levi's!:-)
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Bigdonut
from:Norman, OK
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I wear a 30/30 in pretty much every brand and I ordered a 31/32. After soaking and drying, these fit awesome.
I know a lot of people suggest wearing these after soaking so it'll "form" to their body shape, but I suggest against that. Wearing the jeans wet will probably cause unsightly knee bulges to form (happened to my indigo stf).
Overall I couldn't be happier. I highly suggest this color.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 Original Shrink-To-Fit Jeans BBQ

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
RobDogg
from:Portland, OR
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I'm getting lot's of compliments on my BBQ 501 Original Shrink-To-Fit Jeans. Make more colors please.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Color

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Hubbyshopper
from:Manhattan
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Female
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
This is the same excellent product with new color choice for the autumn season. I buy STF 501's for my brother since he lives where they're not readily available and he doesn't have access to online shopping. He'd never seen this style in black or barbeque colors and he's thrilled to add to his collection.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans - BBQ
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Fit:
Runs Very Small
4 / 7
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size