Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw

Handcrafted by our faithful friends at the White Oak denim mill in Greensboro, NC, the 501® original jean is the jean that started it all. Tried and true and proudly made in the red-white-and-blue, the 501® jean is the ultimate icon of American culture.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (54 reviews)
5 *
42
4 *
8
3 *
3
2 *
0
1 *
1
Recommended by:53 out of 5498% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Review 1 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality pair of classic blue jeans

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
vietlegit
from:Stanton, CA, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
User submitted photo
Great pair of quality raw denim. I've been wearing them for about a month now and they're looking great and breaking in nicely. These come unsanforized so remember to size up one size to allow some room for shrinkage. Soak them before you wear them. I rock these with 4" double cuffs and engineer boots made of unicorn leather.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pair of Modern Day 501's to Buy.

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Indigo4Eternity
from:San Benito, TX, USA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans are of excellent quality. Much better construction and feel compared to regular shrink to fit. The indigo is of a much darker nicer shade. The denim is also heavier but still softer to the touch and obviously more tightly woven. I really appreciate the quality leather backpatch. These jeans are as good or better than my Nudie Red Selvedge. Overall I would definitly recommend these Made in the USA Raw jeans to any serious denim lover.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made in the USA!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
NotToday
from:Surf City
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These Levis are are worth every penny. I wish they had more available in my size. I first purchased the 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans in Rigid Selvedge and loved them. My next purchase was the Made in the USA Raw. Even better. They are shrink to fit so order accordingly.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of denim. Made in the USA

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
JRPhotog
from:Detroit, MI, USA
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought these 2 sizes up from my usual (waist is a true 30") since the 32"x34" were the closest in stock. I read that they were STF, so gave it a shot. After two hot soaks, and a trip to the dryer, they seem to fit very well - waist feels good, and inseam went down 2 inches, which is perfect to fold the cuff. 501 is a bit looser fitting than the slim-fit that I get (APC denim) but it's a classic cut & still looks good. Best of all it's Made in the USA & the quality speaks for itself!
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great American jeans!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
DenimBeard88
from:Louisiana
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These are a great pair of Levi's that are made in the USA! I've had them about two weeks now and they are breaking in very well. Since they are raw, if you wash them they will shrink! I haven't soaked or washed them yet and what Levi's recommends is to not wash them for 1 full year and then give them a cold wash in a tub (not washing machine). Let them hang dry, and if possible wear them for the last bit of drying. They should fit just right after that. If you wash them too soon (before 6 months) they WILL SHRINK. Mostly in the length Initially they sit high on ones true waist.
P.S. they are super starched! Can stand on their own.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best jeans ever!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Fonzerelli
from:Dayton, WA
Age: 20 - 24
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I never expected to see Levis Made In The USA ever again as new merchandise. However I am glad to see them. When I first saw these listed online, I thought they were a little pricey and I was a little hesitant to buy them at first, but I went ahead and decided to order one pair to see what they are like. When I first got them, I looked at the stitching on the back pockets and it wasn't quite what I had expected in the picture on Levis online store. I also didn't expect to see a real leather tag sewn on the backside of the pants on the outside of the waist(the tag is usually a paper-like material instead). I was also hoping that these jeans would have red stitching inside the inseam, the Levis name on the red tab on the back, right pocket spelled with a capital "E", and hidden rivets in the back pockets. The one thing I wish Levis would do is offer these jeans in more inseam length selections. I had a feeling that these jeans were going to be shrink-to-fit so I ordered them in 34Wx34L and when I got them, they were shrink-to-fit(I just wish they were available in 34Wx33L). Also when I got these jeans, they had a peculiar smell to them. The jeans smelled like matches. The Levis Made In The USA seem to use more stitching on the belt loops and back pockets than the imported ones.
I recommend this product!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
MikeT
Posted September 27, 2012
I read your comment and noticed that you had mentioned that these jeans are shrink to fit. I called up Levi.com and asked them about that and they said that these jeans aren't shrink to fit, so now I'm confused. I normally wear a 34x32 but if these truly are shrink to fits I should buy 36x34. Any help would be great.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
patrickb
Posted September 21, 2012
I found that they had a distinct smell as well. I originally planned to do a warm water soak only, but after the soak and drip dry, i couldnt stand the smell. It wasnt necessarily bad, but unpleasant enough that i ended up hand washing with woolite. That did the trick and they are now breaking in wonderfully. The 13 oz Cone fabric is a nice medium weight fabric and looks great after approx 6 months.
I picked them up in April this year utilizing a 30% off promo. They are a must buy on sale! I should have bought an extra pair but Levi's runs these promos often enough. I highly recommend signing up for their email promos.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the best

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
roth163
from:New Hampshire
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Just like regular shrink to fit, but the quality of construction and denim are far superior. Best pair of jeans I've owned, even better, they're made in the USA, in the town I grew up in to be precise.
Remember to buy them large, because they do shrink. Also important to consider: they wont just shrink in length and the waist, they'll be tighter in the legs and crotch, so if you like a relaxed fit, keep your water cold!
I recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

501 Original U.S.blue jeans,like it very much

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Raymon
from:Paris,France
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
.My first Levis jeans was the year 1978, since then up to now,
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back to the Future

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Jayh
from:NY, NY
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
I wear a 33 w. From speaking to a friend who works at a Levi’s Made in America retail store, ordered size 34w,which is about one and half inch to one a three quarters to big. In case they shrink a little.
These jeans are GREAT. The Raw denim is like just like the Levi’s I grew up with. There is no denim in the same league today,
The fit is superb. Not only are these jeans made here they are cut the way Levi’s 501’s were cut. The Look, the Fit, real denim, Made and produced in USA. It is not what you pay it is what you get for your dollar. The Fit is incredible. Button fly is like Button fly was and should be. The Raw Denim is
what Denim is about
Have not washed them yet. Will do so only in cold water. Wash all my jeans in cold water. If the 501’s shrink will be no problem. If they do not will continue to wear a belt.
The real blues without being blue
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best, but please Levis keep my size in stock!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
33X34
from:Western WA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great all ways around! My only complaint is availability. Every time my size is replenished it sells out in just a couple of days. PLEASE LEVIS keep 33W X 34L in stock always and forever!
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Raw Selvedge levis 501's

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
lovewearingthem
from:NNew York
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
Been wearing them for 3 weeks now, love 'em. Don't intend to wash them for a good while - they build character, fit and maybe a llitle funk,unwashed.. Beautiful denim. Still a fan of
the less expensuive raw 5l01's, but will keep a pair or two
of the Raw Selvedge on hand too. Looking forward to
checking out the period 501's, when prices come down a
bit.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a very nice piece of selvedge!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
obi1cleanselvedge1
from:Portland, OR
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I purchased a pair cause I absolutely love selvedge goods. They r a lot darker than shown on the model, but nevertheless a very nice piece of denim. Timeless and classic.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

made in USA 501 blues

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
marcus125
from:macon, georiga
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
i purchased 2 pair of button-fly original jeans, i love the fact they are made in the good ole U.S.A. they are exceptional quality and fit perfectly. i haven't washed them yet and probably won't for a long time. if i do it will be a cold wash with no dryer. makes me remember when i wore levis 501's back in the 60's, loved them then, love them now. so iconic and cool!!!!!!!!!!!!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Legendary

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
stereoair
from:Atlanta, Georgia
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Received these jeans as a gift from my father. Being a die-hard STF 501 fan, these jeans were my utopia. They are rock solid all around. I did an initial shrink, wore all day while slightly damp, and now these beauty's are pefection. No need to buy another pair of jeans for 10-20 years. Size up 1 inch in the waist and 3 in the length and you'll be good to go.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes Indeed

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
dryand
from:NY
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought these when I went back for another pair of the 511's; figured what the heck, with no ETA for restock on those.
Anyway, glad I did. I got 33x34 in both. Waist is about true-to-size, consistent between 511 & 501 (511 a bit skinnier but not much).
Lengthwise, these are better. At 6' 2", 185ish, I'm wondering if the 511's will be too short once washed. I'll let you know sometime next year when that happens. No such with these -- room for double cuff, and no worries when I eventually wash them, if I live that long.
Either way, they're the real deal. Levi's, I am back, and this is how you keep me.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

everything I expected

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Datura75
from:Claremore, OK
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans are absolutely wonderful...I chose not to go for the broke in look...though there was absolutely no doubt these jeans will break in nicely and easily...I normally wear a 32-34 in normal STF's....but also buy down to a 30 waist if the surplus stores have the older styles.....I washed these babies inside out and dried in a dryer three times to set the color.....minimal shrinkage.....the overall fit is different in the rise and inseam and also a slimmer fit.....I will be buying another pair or two.....they are worth the price...
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer avatar
NumberL
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These jeans are very high quality with the fit and finish being top-notch. I know they are more than triple the cost of standard STF, but they are 10 times the quality. The cut seems more modern with a shorter inseam and slightly slimmer - great stuff. I do wish that Levi's would see fit to add a Cone Mills emblem on the inside of the jeans. Many manufacturers are doing such things as this and it just adds to the American made and manufactured appeal. There is as much difference between the standard STF’s and these as there is between cardboard and cotton.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jeans

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from:Santa Cruz, CA
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The title says it all. What more could you ask for?Perfect, vintage look and fit and made in the USA. Would like to have lots more of these!
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES!!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Yicek
from:New York, NY
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Yes, 501, made in us of a....heaven
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 501® Original Fit Made in the USA Jeans - Raw
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great old timey 501's

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
DoctorSavage
from:Seattle in the Great Northwest
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat small
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat small
These are a bit spendy but the fit and finish is just like I recall from 501's in the 1970's: stiff and really dark. My plan is to avoid washing them (other than the initial soak in cold water and vinegar) for six months to set the wear patterns. I like the French inseam like the 501 STF 25 years ago. Keep up the good work. I have dozens of 501's; which ones to wear today?
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>