Printer
 
Shop Now At Levi's
Shop Jeans or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Levi's.

501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans

The ultimate icon of American culture, the one that started it all—the original 501® jean. They're tried and true, pure and simple, the one and only.
Overall rating:
3.95 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (20 reviews)
5 *
10
4 *
4
3 *
3
2 *
1
1 *
2
Recommended by:16 out of 2080% of reviewers
Customer reviews for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Review 1 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i really do love my jeans, but then I always have

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
jalle27
from:Oakland, CA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
i must have pulled on my first pair of 501's in about 1951. I have worn them ever since then. This pair i just bought is like that first pair. Oh I know they are not exactly the same really, but near enuf for everyday wear. For special occasions I rock the 1947 replicas. In an ever changing world Lev's gives me stability. I love you for that!!
I recommend this product!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely the Worst Experience EVER!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Duspin
from:Boston, MA
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very big
Runs Very Big
Runs very big
Do NOT go anywhere near the STF 501s in selvedge denim. The 36/34 size is enormous in the seat and thighs and DOES NOT SHRINK TO FIT no matter what you do to them (soaking, drying, wearing damp, etc.). Might be the cheapest selvedge jeans out there but since they didn't shrink to fit even after dealing with the second pair they sent me (first pair was "defective" but the second pair was identical), and in view of another customer's comments that allude to the sizing being too small FOR THE SAME SIZE I NEED, there seems to be a production problem that proves once again short money just doesn't equate to value & quality. The second pair will undoubtedly go back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 501's

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
NotToday
from:Surf City
Age: 45 - 49
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Everything about this pair of jeans is great. Quality, material, color.Before wearing I did an initial soak in the bath tub, Hot water laid flat for 45 minutes. Carefully suspended the jeans by the clamps of a pant hanger, right side up, and air dried till damp not wet. While still damp I put the jeans on, sat down in a sitting position with the knees slightly bent. Being careful not to overstretch the seat of the pants or knees I sat in this position reading a book for about an hour. After an hour I carefully removed the still slightly damp jeans and rehung them on the pant hanger to finish drying. Perfection.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Original Fit Rigid Selvedge = SHRINK TO FIT

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
BigV
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs small
Runs Very Big
Runs small
ordered my usual Original Fit size and when they arrived found label on jeans says SHRINK TO FIT....i love shrink to fit Levi's but because the site doesnt list it as such and ordered Original fit sizing i had to return because they don't make selvedge longer than 34L (i am a 36L for STF) in shrink to fit style. these are great jeans and sadly only standard sized men can enjoy them. customer service was phenomenal and apologetic which helps.
I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent value and good craftsmanship

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
jdKing
from:Waxahachie, TX
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Pros:
The jeans are shrink-to-fit rigid selvedge.
I love the deep indigo color, the zinc buttons, and the careful stitching around the belt-loops and inside the jeans. There is much more attention to detail in these jeans than in the standard stf 501s.
Cons:
My pair arrived with a pick in the material. I decided to keep the pair because I didn't want to deal with the return/exchange process.
I would like to see this style come in multiple inseam lengths. I have very short legs and the 34" inseam is waaay too long for me.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

all washed up!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
dmh4108
from:Ohio
Age: 50 - 54
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I don't really know how they fit. They only had the one pair in my size that I recieved. And the one I pair I did recieve were already washed, so I had to return them!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money...

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
soreal
from:Brooklyn, NY
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs very small
Runs Very Big
Runs very small
Bought a 36x34, couldn't even button it and my actual waist is a 34. This jean fits like a 32x30... Color is alright, fabric thin, doesnt look as rigid as it is on the picture...Maybe I got another jean anyway overall this jean is not worth the money at all... Very very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shrink great, wear great

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
middleclasstool
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
This was my first pair of selvedge jeans, and I'm very happy with them. They shrunk perfectly and wear great. I could tell the quality of the denim was better when I first soaked them in the tub to shrink them -- far less dye leached out into the water than with regular 501 denim. Only gripe is I wish there were more inseam length options for those of us who'd rather not flip the cuffs, but ah well. I get compliments on them all the time.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I wanted

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
NYAce
from:New York
Age: 25 - 29
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Great value for the $. Fits well and is breaking in well. Definitely quality denim.
I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Blind
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
For those looking for a good pair of selvedge raw denim and new to the game, pick up a pair of these. They're a beautifully dark indigo, and look great cuffed.
Make sure to buy true to size for a good fit. Size down for a slimmer fit. I bought a size 31x34, and am normally a levi 30x32. I wish I had instead just gone with 30x34, as the jeans WILL stretch out. If you dig a loose, relaxed fit, you can size up one, but I highly recommend buying true to size or one down.
Make sure to soak in the tub for an hour with lukewarm water, and hang dry (watch out for indigo bleeding stains when wet!). Machine washing may cause unwanted creases/fades. Put them on whilst somewhat moist to allow them to mold to your body a bit.
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

get what you want

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Customer avatar
zerohistory
from:Sub-tropics
Age: Prefer not to answer
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
OK, these are expensive, but if what you want is a jean that is as original and traditional as possible, you have to have these.
Of course, the service from levi.com is the best.
These jeans, however, will take you right back to the era of Rockabilly, hot-rod, juke box, youth-in-revolt, bobby sox revelry.
Kick start that BSA Lightning, kick off your shoes and dance - these are the jeans to wear.
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

follow sizing instructions for desired fit

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer avatar
TheSerkis
from:Phoenix, AZ
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
As always with the normal Shrink to fit jeans I got the fit and sizing i was looking for (unlike my LVC's that are extremely oversized then dont shrink like they are supposed to). I bought the 33x 34 and actual measurments were 34 x 34 (12 in rise, 12.5 thigh at the crotch, 15.5 back rise and 8.5 leg opening. After a 1 hot soak (105 deggree) in the tub they measured 31x 32. (11.5 in rise, 12 in thigh, 14.5 back rise and 8 in leg opening). Thank you for being consistant and just what i was looking for.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pair of "Shrink to Fit" Jeans!

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Leviguy2
from:Chicago area
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Great cut, high-quality denim. Be sure to "size up" to allow for shrinkage as these are indeed "shrink-to-fit." Glad to have "Selvedge" again!
I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kill the white stitching and it's perfect

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
modboy
from:Brooklyn, NY
Age: 40 - 44
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
The tag-line says it all. Great product, perfect jeans. The white stitching looks ridiculous, however. Almost too embarrasing to wear. I hope you switch back to all gold thread.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THESE ARE "SHRINK-TO-FIT"!!!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer avatar
LeviGuy1
from:Chicago area
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I, too, ordered a pair of these in my normal size only to find that they are shrink-to-fit. I had to return them -- what an annoyance!! I hope Levi.com will refund the shipping charges since this is their error.
I'll order another pair -- but in a larger size to allow for shrinkage.
All that aside, this is a great product.
I recommend this product!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shrink

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
climbtosafety
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs somewhat big
Runs Very Big
Runs somewhat big
Upon purchasing these jeans, I found that they are Shrink To Fit, which isn't listed in the product description. Not having previous experince with the shrink, decided to return, but the jeans were awesome. I wear a 35x34 normally, any suggestions from those who have purchased as to what size to get? I hear many of the Shrink To Fit styles "shrink factor" vary by jean.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please keep making these!

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
da5id
from:VA
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
I bought two pairs of the rigid selvedge 501s last summer, and they quickly became my favorites. I'm glad they are available again.
When they were first listed summer of 2010, there was no mention that they were shrink-to-fit. I sent an email to Levi's notifying them of this, and the description was eventually changed. It looks like they have done the same thing again. People should note that these *are* shrink-to-fit.
I also noted the white stitching, which I did not think was that great, but I still ordered them based on my satisfaction with the previous 501s. While the stitching is noticeably lighter in some places, it is not as white as the pictures here indicate. I should also note that both the summer 2010 rigid selvedge and some older resin rinse 501s also have the contrast stitching, but it is not as pronounced as this current version. Perhaps it won't be as noticeable after soaking?
The other difference between the current and the mid 2010 501s that I can tell is that the newer ones have a real leather patch. This is a welcome change, in my opinion.
I hope that these will always be available.
I recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
MasterD
from:Ohio
Age: 30 - 34
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
These quickly became one of my favorite pairs of jeans, behind my LVC 1947 501's of course. They are thick, dark and rigid. Levi, dont be too persuaded by the people who freak out about white stitching. Some may not realize that the stitching wasn't always gold either. If you want a replica of yesteryear simply go out buy that pair of LVC. There are several variations to the 501 fit and construction, and each is awesome for its own reasons.
I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

selvedge 501's

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
tn501s
from:Detroit, MI
Age: 55 - 59
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
Glad to see the selvedge button fly back, i started wearing them in 70's till they became threadbare and was sorry the production was stopped. Wish they were still the heavyweight fabric that would stand on it's own after washing & drying! But now WHITE top thread?? Please change back to the classic gold thread, I will be buying a pair and hopefully you accept this suggestion.
I recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 501® Original Shrink-to-Fit™ Jeans
Overall rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Surely not?!??

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer avatar
gfb000
from:Dallas
Age: 35 - 39
Gender: Male
Fit:
Runs Very Small
Runs true to size
Runs Very Big
Runs true to size
So I've had several pairs of the 501XX rigid selvedge, and liked them a lot.
I was elated to see them back in stock, until I noticed the odd white stitching. Seriously?
Honestly, Levis. You had a great thing going on. Upgrading the denim/indigo quality for the 501 was an outstanding idea, but if you want to do trendy gimmicky girl-jean stuff, don't do it on 501's!
So I would recommend the rigid selvedge 501's to a friend as soon as they make them right again. Hopefully it was just a screwup with this batch.
I recommend this product!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.